Push vs Pull vs Push/Pull - H55 Corsair

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 0blivious, Apr 29, 2016.

1. 0blivious

0blivious Ancient Guru

GPU:
    7800 XT / 5700 XT
    Water cooling noob here. :nerd:

I have a new board (Asrock Fatal1ty Z97 Killer), new SSD (500GB 850 Evo) and new cooler coming (Corsair H55). It's my 1st time using a radiator style cooler. I'll be using this in a Corsair 760T (pretty spacious) to cool my 4790K (currently stock, 4.0ghz).

I plan to remove the rear 140MM case fan and install the radiator back there. I don't plan to reinstall that case fan anywhere. The front of the case has two 140MM intake fans running pretty slow and my rear radiator (and 1 or 2 120MM fans) controlled by CPU. Any problems running that configuration?

I already ordered a different 120MM (PWM), high CFM fan to match my red build. That means I'll have the 120MM that comes with the Corsair H55 cooler and the new, red one.

I presume a push/pull config is the most efficient at cooling. The board has a second CPU fan input and I think I have another set of long fan screws floating around to install both fans.

Has anyone played around with pull vs push vs push/pull to see the cooling results? Appreciate any input or advice.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
  2. nhlkoho

nhlkoho Guest

GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    With a smaller radiator like that you'd get better performance with a push/pull config although not by much unless you overclock it. I had an H50 years ago and I got maybe 5-6C lower with the push/pull rather than just one fan.

I would recommend not using the stock corsair fan though as they are quite loud.

3. nz3777

nz3777 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Gtx 980 Radeon 5500
    I run a push/pull on my set-up with is similar in size ie demensions as the h-55, My findings are during gaming I will ramp-up fans to 80% fixed temps will rarely pass 60c and thats running at 4.6 ghz 1.36 v-core.