Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Played Crysis again ...
Old
  (#1)
XenthorX
Maha Guru
 
XenthorX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
Processor: i7-5820k@4.55ghz, H100i
Mainboard: Asrock x99 Extreme 4
Memory: Gskill4x4Gb 2400Mhz cas15
Soundcard:
PSU: CORSAIR HX1000i
Default Played Crysis again ... - 03-18-2016, 03:12 | posts: 1,744 | Location: France

Damn, i can't believe this came out almost 10 years ago. textures aside, add some Depth of field and Chromatic aberration and you get a 2015 game ^^.

If anyone wanna try it, i had to use a bin64 folder that you can download here.


Took a 1440p footage of the early game, with a couple of in-game cinematics:






Last edited by XenthorX; 03-18-2016 at 03:24.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 03-18-2016, 03:30 | posts: 2,692

Was thinking about this game the other day might have to locate it again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
slick3
Maha Guru
 
slick3's Avatar
 
Videocard: ROG STRIX GTX 1070
Processor: AMD FX 8320 @4.6 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS 970 Gaming AURA
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar U3 + HD One headset
PSU: EVGA 750w
Default 03-18-2016, 03:31 | posts: 1,437 | Location: >.>

Sighhh....

Time to install Crysis again! Nice video too btw!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
XenthorX
Maha Guru
 
XenthorX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
Processor: i7-5820k@4.55ghz, H100i
Mainboard: Asrock x99 Extreme 4
Memory: Gskill4x4Gb 2400Mhz cas15
Soundcard:
PSU: CORSAIR HX1000i
Default 03-18-2016, 03:32 | posts: 1,744 | Location: France

Funny thing is that, i feel i like crysis 1 more than any sequels. I didn't like the FPS feeling of crysis 2 and 3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slick3 View Post
Sighhh....

Time to install Crysis again! Nice video too btw!
Thank you ! It's pretty worth the 6Go of download. I had a good time, had to use the 64bits folder i linked in original post and play in borderless still.

Last edited by XenthorX; 03-18-2016 at 03:43.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 03-18-2016, 03:35 | posts: 2,692

Crysis 1 was sandbox for 3/4 of the game the ai was decent, cept the annoying omniscient helicopters, so yea you could replay a good chunk of the game doing things many different ways.

C2 and 3 were linear games not bad but not crysis good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
XenthorX
Maha Guru
 
XenthorX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
Processor: i7-5820k@4.55ghz, H100i
Mainboard: Asrock x99 Extreme 4
Memory: Gskill4x4Gb 2400Mhz cas15
Soundcard:
PSU: CORSAIR HX1000i
Default 03-18-2016, 03:45 | posts: 1,744 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by cerebus23 View Post
Crysis 1 was sandbox for 3/4 of the game the ai was decent, cept the annoying omniscient helicopters, so yea you could replay a good chunk of the game doing things many different ways.

C2 and 3 were linear games not bad but not crysis good.

It's quite impressive how this first bay sequence is opened to countless scenarios in Crysis 1.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PNeV
Maha Guru
 
PNeV's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
Processor: 3570K @ 4.4GHZ
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Z77
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX Fury
Soundcard: Onboard & M-Audio AV40
PSU: Antec HCG M 620W
Default 03-18-2016, 08:03 | posts: 2,072 | Location: Northampton, United Kingdom

A game truly ahead of its time, I got the steelcase edition when it first came out and boy did it give my PC a good kicking at the time (had an 8800 Ultra too!)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
ramthegamer
Maha Guru
 
ramthegamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 4GB
Processor: Intel i7 6700k @ 4.0 GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Z170-K
Memory: 16GB CRUCIAL BALISTX DDR4
Soundcard: REALTEK HIGH DEFINITION
PSU: CORSAIR CS 550w
Default 03-18-2016, 08:30 | posts: 2,668 | Location: Dubai

In terms of sandbox gameplay truly a game ahead of its time, i have it installed and everynow and then i hope in to play the first part. If only it was optimized, frames drop out of nowhere in this game, if anyone can advise me a good cfg for stable fps i would appreciate it. for me only advancement in the last 9 years in fps graphics is the weapon models and maybe shooting mechanics (wolfenstein tno and tob).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
token2k8
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980 SLI
Processor: I7 3820
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 CORSAIR
Default 03-18-2016, 08:41 | posts: 2

This game aged pretty darn well. I played it recently myself and this along with Warhead are my favorite of the series.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 03-18-2016, 09:28 | posts: 1,683 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

I dont mean to crap on your parade-But I hated Crysis 1 lol.To me the best one is Part 2~.I tried so many times to get into part 1 but no-can-do.It does look really nice tough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
ramthegamer
Maha Guru
 
ramthegamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 4GB
Processor: Intel i7 6700k @ 4.0 GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Z170-K
Memory: 16GB CRUCIAL BALISTX DDR4
Soundcard: REALTEK HIGH DEFINITION
PSU: CORSAIR CS 550w
Default 03-18-2016, 09:58 | posts: 2,668 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by nz3777 View Post
I dont mean to crap on your parade-But I hated Crysis 1 lol.To me the best one is Part 2~.I tried so many times to get into part 1 but no-can-do.It does look really nice tough.
U reminded me of a quote in Aliens when hudson says to the others:
"I dont want to crap on your parade, but we just got our asses kicked pal". Xd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX 16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 03-18-2016, 10:32 | posts: 9,667 | Location: Serbia, NS

Crysis sometimes looks better than even some latest games. I'll be damned to know how poor gtx8800 was running this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 03-18-2016, 12:22 | posts: 13,116 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Man, Crysis with some good mods holds up pretty well today still.

The AI is not the best at times, but the visuals are awesome still.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 16GB Kingston DDR3-1866
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 03-18-2016, 13:40 | posts: 7,658 | Location: The Netherlands

Still a beautiful game huh.. I was a big fan of Crysis, even before it was released. Followed all the news and watched all videos (tech demo's, interviews, etc..) and even played the BETA when it came out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 16GB Kingston DDR3-1866
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 03-18-2016, 13:40 | posts: 7,658 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
Crysis sometimes looks better than even some latest games. I'll be damned to know how poor gtx8800 was running this.
I had a GTX8800, and it was running pretty fine actually at max settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
nanogenesis
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
Processor: Intel i7-4930k @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD7
Memory: 32Gb 2418Mhz CR+KS
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default 03-18-2016, 14:36 | posts: 1,288 | Location: China

^ At 640x360?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramthegamer View Post
In terms of sandbox gameplay truly a game ahead of its time, i have it installed and everynow and then i hope in to play the first part. If only it was optimized, frames drop out of nowhere in this game, if anyone can advise me a good cfg for stable fps i would appreciate it. for me only advancement in the last 9 years in fps graphics is the weapon models and maybe shooting mechanics (wolfenstein tno and tob).
Looking at your hardware config, you should be fine for 60fps @ v.high preset. If you can get a slight oc on the cpu core (around 4ghz) you'd be hitting 60fps everywhere easily. Game is still greatly singlethreaded, needs more single core performance.

I would lower object quality to high/medium if you have trouble. and shader quality to high (v.high though should work on 750ti just fine).

Last edited by nanogenesis; 03-18-2016 at 14:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Vinnie
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x AMD R9 290X
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3
Memory: 16GB Kingston DDR3-1866
Soundcard: X-fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1020W
Default 03-18-2016, 14:44 | posts: 7,658 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by nanogenesis View Post
^ At 640x360?



Looking at your hardware config, you should be fine for 60fps @ v.high preset. If you can get a slight oc on the cpu core (around 4ghz) you'd be hitting 60fps everywhere easily. Game is still greatly singlethreaded, needs more single core performance.

I would lower object quality to high/medium if you have trouble. and shader quality to high (v.high though should work on 750ti just fine).
No at 1280 x 1024 if I remember correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 03-18-2016, 14:52 | posts: 2,692

I played at 800x600 i think on my pc back in the day. 20 some fps on high settings, no clue what gfx card was then 6800gt or 7800gt most likely though.

went 6 7 and then 8 think i got the 7 for doom 3 when it came out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
SeRiToNiN
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX 1070 6GB
Processor: Intel i5 6600k
Mainboard: Socket 1151
Memory: G.Skill 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Soundcard: SB X-FI MB3
PSU: 850W Thermaltake
Default 03-18-2016, 14:56 | posts: 47 | Location: Chicago

Back when PC gaming had Triple A exclusives that took advantagem of PC hardware and left consoles in the dust.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 03-18-2016, 15:04 | posts: 7,370 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by XenthorX View Post
Damn, i can't believe this came out almost 10 years ago. textures aside, add some Depth of field and Chromatic aberration and you get a 2015 game ^^.

If anyone wanna try it, i had to use a bin64 folder that you can download here.
What fps are you getting in the open areas a little later in the game?

I have fps sinking to around 50fps in places.

Even with AA turned OFF and zero mods!

This is at 1080p very high settings. Up until this point I was getting around 90-180fps.

Strange....

Also how do you launch the -64bit exe then? I though the game was only 32bit???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 03-18-2016, 15:21 | posts: 509 | Location: Somewhere Else

Game is best played in delta difficulty and stalking the KPA like the Predator is exhilarating.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
nanogenesis
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 390X 1178|6350
Processor: Intel i7-4930k @ 4.8Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD7
Memory: 32Gb 2418Mhz CR+KS
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850V2
Default 03-18-2016, 15:51 | posts: 1,288 | Location: China

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
I have fps sinking to around 50fps in places.

Even with AA turned OFF and zero mods!

This is at 1080p very high settings. Up until this point I was getting around 90-180fps.

Strange....

Also how do you launch the -64bit exe then? I though the game was only 32bit???
I'm cranked up very high (a teeny bit lower than xigmatek xtreme config), and back with my 970 I got 22fps, getting 19fps with current rig. These low fps areas are particularly huge hubs, like the second level tank encounter area, the harbor area, etc.

Its a real shame because the true ultra settings define the game (instance, if you max out draw distance to insane values you can see circling birds in the first area through a large distance). I am just amazed when I think how much more details like these exist.

You have to download the 64bit binaries separately for steam version and rename the folder to bin32 so that steam launches 64bit exe each time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
XenthorX
Maha Guru
 
XenthorX's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
Processor: i7-5820k@4.55ghz, H100i
Mainboard: Asrock x99 Extreme 4
Memory: Gskill4x4Gb 2400Mhz cas15
Soundcard:
PSU: CORSAIR HX1000i
Default 03-18-2016, 15:54 | posts: 1,744 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
What fps are you getting in the open areas a little later in the game?

I have fps sinking to around 50fps in places.

Even with AA turned OFF and zero mods!

This is at 1080p very high settings. Up until this point I was getting around 90-180fps.

Strange....

Also how do you launch the -64bit exe then? I though the game was only 32bit???
I used the crysis exe in the bin64 folder i've linked. Added sweetfx so i've to close EVGA PrecisionX (and force close its monitoring "precisionX server" in task manager). My FPS at maxed out, max AA at 1440p is between 55 and 75 i would say. Going up to 100+ in some empty place at the start too.

Last edited by XenthorX; 03-18-2016 at 15:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 03-18-2016, 16:20 | posts: 9,610 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post

Also how do you launch the -64bit exe then? I though the game was only 32bit???
just run the crysis.exe in bin64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
slick3
Maha Guru
 
slick3's Avatar
 
Videocard: ROG STRIX GTX 1070
Processor: AMD FX 8320 @4.6 ghz
Mainboard: ASUS 970 Gaming AURA
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar U3 + HD One headset
PSU: EVGA 750w
Default 03-18-2016, 16:59 | posts: 1,437 | Location: >.>

What mods are you guys using with it?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.