Mantle vsync/framebuffers broken in windows 10

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by dox_aus, Aug 1, 2015.

1. dox_aus

dox_aus Master Guru

GPU:
    MSi 290 Gaming CF
    Basically if you turn 'on' vsync in mantle games now, triple buffering etc gets broken, ie 120fps will drop to 60fps if it even drops 1 fps below 120. Crossfire will drop from 120 to 80. It is occuring in all mantle games ive tested (Bf4, DA:I, sniper elite 3, thief etc).

Anyone else confirm?

edit: this is with drivers pushed by win10 update & 15.7.1 (also on an upgrade win10 install and fresh iso install.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2015
  2. janos666

janos666 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    Yeah, I started playing DAI on monday (I upgraded to Win10 10240 when it came to the fast ring) and I wasn't satisfied with the Vsync in fullscreen exclusive mode. Starting from every settings at their maximum (Ultra + extra texture cache aka "Fade Touched" setup) with the exception of PPAA and MSAA at OFF (I figured I won't be able to afford MSAA and I don't like the post-process anti-aliasing which is usually a random hit or miss on jaggies but a constant hit on excessive blurring).

I expected a somewhat smoother gameplay on my 290X (1150/1375 with Stilt gaming BIOS) with these settings when using the "mighty" Mantle. I figured the fps will move between 45 and 60 because I thought the game uses triple-buffering by default.

At any rate, I disabled Vsync and iterated the settings to gain >=60fps in most situations (after a few hours of gameplay, I could collect some experience about graphically demanding areas, so I knew where to stand and look to make the fps tank and fiddle with the settings). I would have probably done this anyway because I prefer constant 60fps unless quality suffers irrationally (but in this game, it's the contrary, it's the performance which suffers irrationally with some settings at Ultra rather than High).