Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 10 Build 10041 Live
Old
  (#1)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default Windows 10 Build 10041 Live - 03-18-2015, 19:19 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

@GabeAul And yes, we just pressed it to publish 10041 for PC to the Fast Ring. Have fun #WindowsInsiders!

https://twitter.com/GabeAul/status/578270140149583872

--
OFFICIAL ISOs
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...so-update-1503

Need to change update advanced settings to FAST ring to get this


Last edited by Extraordinary; 03-25-2015 at 13:02.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980TI Gaming
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 2501
Memory: 16GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 03-18-2015, 19:33 | posts: 5,914 | Location: Israel

finally, no iso yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-18-2015, 19:43 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

ISOs are only released now when the update hits SLOW ring - currently only available to FAST ring
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-18-2015, 21:28 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Captured the ESD and created an ISO for people who want a fresh install

Windows 10 Pro TP - Build 10041 X64 ISO

Download (Import into your own MEGA account before downloading if you have one)
Code:
https://mega.co.nz/#!1tYmRQjS!DYWCwrsBC_4zeyubwfearxBUE8jAuMTUgE4iXg9yDhA
Key
Code:
NKJFK-GPHP7-G8C3J-P6JXR-HQRJR
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Cockbender
Maha Guru
 
Cockbender's Avatar
 
Videocard: dunno
Processor: dunno
Mainboard: dunno
Memory: dunno
Soundcard: dunno
PSU: dunno
Default 03-18-2015, 22:45 | posts: 881 | Location: Arkansas

you're insane (and thanks )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-18-2015, 22:51 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

lol, actually probably the best build to date that Ive tested, and Ive tested them all

Still don't like the way they are going, but it's definitely an improvement over any previous release or leak
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
FookDat
Master Guru
 
FookDat's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480->580 MOD 1366/2025
Processor: i7-6700@4.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel Skylake Z170
Memory: 2x8GB DDR4 2133
Soundcard: Creative X-FI/X-540@5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 03-18-2015, 23:20 | posts: 353 | Location: United States

Installing now, hopefully they fixed the explorer.exe error on restart with build 10036. Did not have any issues with 9926, lets see what is better or worse in 10041. Glad to hear that some people are experiencing better results with this build.

Be interesting to see if Window 10 Windows Updates are better compatible this time around.

If you are having Video drivers issues just use the Windows 8.1 as AMD stated all drivers from 13.9 and above are compatible with Windows 10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
primetime^
Master Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX280DD flashed to Black
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 03-18-2015, 23:22 | posts: 783 | Location: SC

is there much difference between this and 10036? Guess i might do the upgrade aproch this time around even though im almost anal about only doing clean installs...is it possible the clean install days are not necessary anymore? either way id rather do an upgrade with your iso than thru windows update (should be faster anyway)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-18-2015, 23:25 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Like night and day bug/performance wise IMO vs 10036, this is way better

Not sure how they managed it, 9926 was cr4p, 110 builds later 10036 was worse, now just 5 builds after that, they managed to do this
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
FookDat
Master Guru
 
FookDat's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480->580 MOD 1366/2025
Processor: i7-6700@4.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel Skylake Z170
Memory: 2x8GB DDR4 2133
Soundcard: Creative X-FI/X-540@5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 03-19-2015, 00:09 | posts: 353 | Location: United States

10041 is way better than 10036.

I have not encountered one bug or error in rebooting or installing software at this moment! I used to get errors on every single reboot or shutdown now it is all working correctly.

time for more testing but games are working with the drivers that install from windows update. did not have to manually install a single driver... so that is nice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
AndreHahne
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet E 10 CM 500 Watt
Default 03-19-2015, 00:18 | posts: 3

@Extraordinary
Would you please shortly explain how you converted the esd file to an iso?
Esd decrypter by Chris123NT doesn´t seem to work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
FookDat
Master Guru
 
FookDat's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480->580 MOD 1366/2025
Processor: i7-6700@4.0GHz
Mainboard: Intel Skylake Z170
Memory: 2x8GB DDR4 2133
Soundcard: Creative X-FI/X-540@5.1
PSU: Corsair AX860 Platinum
Default 03-19-2015, 00:23 | posts: 353 | Location: United States

After using Windows Updates, my video drivers worked well but I lost all sound. Installing audio manually did not fix the issue. 5.1 does not work at all, but using 7.1 or stereo does...

It also defaults to making my headset the default speakers even though I have only keyboard and mouse plugged in with no head sets or microphones....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-19-2015, 00:25 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreHahne View Post
@Extraordinary
Would you please shortly explain how you converted the esd file to an iso?
Esd decrypter by Chris123NT doesn´t seem to work.
I used this version
http://www57.zippyshare.com/v/hUZaknLx/file.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
AndreHahne
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet E 10 CM 500 Watt
Default 03-19-2015, 00:30 | posts: 3

@Extraordinary

Thanks. Now it works. I tried the version from the website of Chris and it didn´t work. Your link is great. Thanks.

Last edited by AndreHahne; 03-19-2015 at 00:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-19-2015, 00:31 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I was using an older version of the decrypter which told me the ESD was bad, but the same ESD with this version worked fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
AndreHahne
Newbie
 
Videocard: ASUS Maximus VIII Gene
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Be Quiet E 10 CM 500 Watt
Default 03-19-2015, 00:37 | posts: 3

@Extraordinary
You are my hero of the day. You saved my time and now I am able to convert German ISOs. Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-19-2015, 00:46 | posts: 17,217 | Location: 127.0.0.1

ESD Hero lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
zeljkoni
Banned
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660 twin frozr OC
Processor: 2500K @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek 889a
PSU: LC Hyperion 700W
Default 03-19-2015, 03:25 | posts: 70

First time testing windows 10.. 10041 have few critical problems for me
1. ati 290 driver from windows update crash after monitor sleep + big cursor bug
2. After few restarts it would not shut down ... ddi server stoped responding.. or something like that and that`s it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
dsbig's Avatar
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 32gb 1866mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 03-19-2015, 04:12 | posts: 3,813 | Location: florida

while using uplay, I keep geting error saying a debugger is running.

Last edited by dsbig; 03-19-2015 at 04:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DeathAngel74
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX1070 SC2 iCX 2075/9008
Processor: 6700k 4.7GHz 1.409v DELID
Mainboard: ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
Memory: 32GB Corsair VengLPX 3200
Soundcard: Samsung k360 soundbar+sub
PSU: eVGA SuperNOVA G2 1.3kW
Default 03-19-2015, 09:24 | posts: 479 | Location: Monterey, CA

I downloaded the esd also, decrypted it but its 3.30gb, not 3.33gb like the one you posted.

Last edited by DeathAngel74; 03-19-2015 at 09:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
jesteves
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming X @ 2100
Processor: i7-5930K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: MSI X99S GAMING 7
Memory: Gskill DDR4 16GB 2666-C15
Soundcard: SOUND BLASTERX G5
PSU: Corsair AX-1200i
Default 03-19-2015, 10:24 | posts: 178 | Location: Land Of The Mighty DRAGONS !

My laptop just did the automatic update from 9926 to 10041

No new browser Spartan yet ?
Kill IE now !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-19-2015, 12:07 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

Upgrade via WU has been troublesome ... I'm getting bugs such as network connections not being configurable "unexpected error occurred". Oh well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 03-19-2015, 12:17 | posts: 12,825 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Got a notification about build 10041. Downloading now!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
kraken
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8GB
Processor: I7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 90W
Default 03-19-2015, 12:39 | posts: 1

Anybody using HDMI output on laptop? I can't get Win10 to detect external monitor (working fine on 8.1).

I7 + GTX 770M
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asrock X370 Gaming K4
Memory: DDR3-3733@3200 C14 16 GB
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-19-2015, 13:56 | posts: 6,289 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Upgrade via WU has been troublesome ... I'm getting bugs such as network connections not being configurable "unexpected error occurred". Oh well.
Network connection stuff doesn't work properly for me either. Report it through the feedback tool. Issues will only be resolved if they know about it! Regardless if someone has already reported it, add to the feedback of that item. It will raise the issue on the prioritisation list.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.