Watercooling...help?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by sykozis, Oct 25, 2014.

1. sykozis

sykozis Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Asus RX6700XT
    Ok, so, I got the one of the watercooling kits chispy was selling. Not really sure how to install everything quite yet, but I lack coolant anyway. So, what exactly will work as coolant for this thing? All I can get locally is automotive coolants. Do I have to buy the coolants sold by the watercooling companies or will automotive coolant work? If these seem like stupid questions, forgive me, as this is my first time doing a "custom" loop. Usually I stick to AIO units.

Also, the XSPC pump/res looks like the inlet and outlet are reversed. Or am I reading them wrong? lol It's this reservoir from what I can tell.... http://www.xs-pc.com/reservoirs/d5-dual-bay-reservoir

2. PhazeDelta1

PhazeDelta1 Guest

GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    distilled water is all you need. You can get that from just about anywhere. You can also drop one of those silver killcoils in the res or a couple drops of that PT Nuke stuff too. Just not both, otherwise your asking for trouble. As for the res, the bottom is the inlet and the top is the outlet.

Here's some instructions on that res.

http://static.squarespace.com/stati...ee4b03d75a85b497e/1370241854800/d5bayres2.pdf

Last edited: Oct 25, 2014
  3. sykozis

sykozis Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Asus RX6700XT
    I found those instructions after I posted. Working out how to run the coolant hoses now since the 360 rad will have to be top mounted externally. I'm actually having some fun with this so far.

Next stupid question: Where should the waterblock inlet be? I'm assuming it should be oriented at the bottom to bleed the system but where should it be when the block is mounted?

4. Agent-A01

Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4090 FE H20