idtech 5 is an abomination (RAGE, wolfenstein tno, the evil within)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by ELCID777, Oct 15, 2014.

1. ELCID777

ELCID777 Guest

GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's
    just a random rant. i feel the need to vent my frustration.

-------------------

sweet mother of god is this engine bad. :puke2:

why is this engine still in circulation? and why on earth are developers still using it for their games?

mega texture "technology" is an utter failure. the games that use this garbage have textures that resemble games from the Nintendo 64 era.

RAGE and wolfenstein tno have HORRID looking textures. sure, there is no tiling and every texture is unique, but what's the point of having unique textures when each one of them looks like a printscreen of a badly compressed youtube video? what a joke.

i just started playing the evil within, and while i am enjoying the game, the overall experience has been soured by the fact that it runs on this abomination of an engine. the clipping, the flickering, the slow loading, muddy looking textures. the abysmal performance....it's all just so bad.

UE4, unity, cryengine 3, hell, even UE3 can look amazing (vanishing of ethan carter), all of these modern engines to pick from and they went with sh1tty idtech 5.

anyone else agree with me?

someone please sh1tcan this awful, awful engine already. PLEASE.

Last edited: Oct 15, 2014
  2. F1refly

F1refly Ancient Guru

GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    They invested money in it and they probably respect Carmack...that's why. Not that I don't agree with you, the idea of unique textures sounded great on paper but in practice I noticed tons of repeated textures in Rage. Nothing at all looked very unique to me. The rocks, the grass, the skulls, the soda machines...looked like they came out of a cookie cutter while it was too hot.