Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Damaged CPU or Mobo?
Old
  (#1)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default Damaged CPU or Mobo? - 08-31-2014, 01:43 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

So I was overclocking the hell out of my 1075t. Manage to get it to 4.05ghz with 1.525v. Worked fine for about a week and out of the blue I started getting overvolting errors. CPU started to draw in over 1.6v even though I had it to 1.525. It would freeze right after loading into Windows. My SLi was also putting a lot of pressure on the CPU and Mobo. So... Now it freezes every time I load into Windows. Normally about 15-20 seconds to the dot. I can open up a folder or 2 and then nothing. I reset the bios via F5, everything set to default, still freezing. I took out one 770, same issue. Switched PCIX Slot, sometimes it post other times it does not (leads me to believe its a mobo).

Keep in mind I was already having issues with the board. Raid does not work, crashes soon as it loads into Windows. Sleep/Hibernate does not work for whatever reason. It will not wake up the computer must be restarted several times. I do have another Asus 990fx board that I've taken my C drive to and it works flawlessly, hibernate even works, just not on my board. I was having these issues way before I started overclocking.

I'm thinking my chipset is probably half way dead.

Thoughts?

Asus Sabertooth 990fx
AMD 1075t
DDR3 1600 GSkill
Evo Samsung 1tb
Corsair 850tx
Megahalem Heatsink w/ DUAL fan
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-31-2014, 01:46 | posts: 7,977 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Have you gone back into the BIOS and set everything manually to their correct stock clocks, timings and voltages ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 08-31-2014, 03:20 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Have you gone back into the BIOS and set everything manually to their correct stock clocks, timings and voltages ?
Yes, everything set back to stock
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-31-2014, 11:20 | posts: 7,977 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by F9zSlavik View Post
Yes, everything set back to stock
Stock Auto or stock Manual ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Valken
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS 6950 2GB CFX unlocked
Processor: Intel i7-4970k
Mainboard: Asrock Z97 OC Formula
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 08-31-2014, 11:36 | posts: 760

Your MB or PSU may be fried. My old system did that a little bit then the PSU burnt out the power socket to the MB. PSU side of the cable had two pins melted.

Reset your bios, unplug the PSU to the MB and check the power connectors on both.

But all my other components were good. Go RMA both your MB and PSU if you can right away.

CPU nearly never burns out alone unless it was unseated properly. The PSU would burn out the MB before it hits the CPU. Usually.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 08-31-2014, 20:09 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Stock Auto or stock Manual ?
Took the CMOS battery out, everything set to stock which is auto. I don't think its PSU but then again I did hear a loud low pitch, nauseating pitch. Couldn;t quite pinpoint the source, normally when a PSU does it, you can easily track it down. Could of been the motherboard blowing out a IC chip or a capacitor somewhere.

Took out all GTX770's, took out all HDD's, only ting that's left is 1 ssd and a cdrom.I'll probably be switching over to intel. I'll try and reinstall Windows again, see what happens.

Can't RMA Mobo, it was a salvage from a burning house. I took I got my worth out of it considering i got it for free. I think the CPU is fine, I don't think I've ever seen a CPU half dead. It's either fully dead or working. That's been my experience.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-31-2014, 20:14 | posts: 7,977 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I meant set everything to stock manually, do NOT use Auto

It could be that Auto is setting something incorrectly - check all the clock speeds, timings and voltages of RAM, CPU etc, and set them all manually in the BIOS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 08-31-2014, 20:25 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

OK I'll do that and report back.Fact that the system is turning on posting fine is a good thing. Seems to only freeze when loading into windows (without vga drivers for some reason) and during initial install of the OS. But I'll try that and see what happens.

Somethign I just notice as I am manually enetering values, theCPU is drawing in 1.452v in auto mode, ? In auto mode its suppose to be supplying 1.35 or something to that line. Stock speed is only 3.0ghz. I'll leave it at 1.4v and see what happens. Maybe I blew a IC voltage regulator.

Last edited by F9zSlavik; 08-31-2014 at 20:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 08-31-2014, 20:59 | posts: 9,434 | Location: Toledo

1.525 was way too high. I'd say you did break something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 08-31-2014, 22:18 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

I personally don't get it. I installed Windows on a seprate HDD, worked fine. I tried to load my Windows from my SSD, freezes. Ran CHKDSK /f, repaired a few things, the system started up with no 770's. Went ahead and installed 1 770 and it worked. Installed 2nd 770, worked fine. Overclocked to my original settings, 250fsbx15 = 3.7ghz ram @ 1666 1.65v. Just finish running a couple of 3d marks, so far so good.

Could it been a fluke? With a already unstable mobo, maybe it could not handle the aggressive overclock, screwed things up a bit including my operating system?

I am still going to switch to Intel but now I can wait patiently for my RmA board to get back.

Will continue testing
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 09-01-2014, 00:02 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

Yeah seems to be working fine now how weird...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
F9zSlavik
Member Guru
 
F9zSlavik's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xGTX770 2gb SLi
Processor: i7-3770k @ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus 990fx Sabertooth v1
Memory: 2x4gb 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair tx850
Default 09-04-2014, 03:21 | posts: 46 | Location: San Diego California

Guys hey I know I said I would get either a i5-3570k or an 75-2550k but I found a guy on who is selling a bran new i7-3770k for 300 bucks. I know I'm on a budget but I figure, 3570k will cost me 230, after taxes roughly 255, extra 45 bucks I'll get a better CPU and from what I see from the reviews, overclocks very good.
Still waiting on Asus, they had some stupid complication on verifying the warranty so I should have a board hopefully by early next week.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Jodeth
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 660 Ti 2GB
Processor: Phenom II X4 940 @ 3.5GHz
Mainboard: Asrock A790GXH/128M
Memory: DDR2-1066
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec 520W
Default 10-05-2014, 05:26 | posts: 6 | Location: Mississippi (US)

Check the mobo for any bulging or leaking capacitors. Some time ago, mine would also freeze a few seconds after loading Windows, not all the time though, but usually between 20 sec to 5 hours it'd freeze the screen and I'd have to hold the power switch for it to turn off. Over time it got worse and worse to where it wouldn't stay stable for 10 minutes! Got a PC repair service to replace the bad capacitors (that were next to the CPU). Idk the real cause, but it's probably because of over-voltage. So grab a flashlight and check your capacitors.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.