Buzzing from GPU

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by MonkSR, Aug 26, 2014.

1. MonkSR

MonkSR Guest

GPU:
    EVGA Geforce 660
    I just recently built my system and my computer runs great, however I am having a buzzing noise coming from inside the case and narrowed it down to being my 660. I did this by removing it and putting my old 260 in and with the 260 in the noise went away. The buzzing happens whenever I am using anything that uses the GPU. I am going to post a video of the noise to youtube(hopefully tonight) and would like y'all's opinion on what you think the issue could be. I talked to EVGA and they said I could RMA it but they told me it could be the power supply causing the GPU to make the noise. I am extremely new to system building and any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

Ps. I originally posted the issue to the CPU section of the forums because I thought that was where the noise was coming from.

Another note: I do believe I tested the GPU fans in precision X at 90% without having the GPU with any load on it and there wasn't a noise. I will verify this tonight also when I get home.
    Also the noise is significantly loud, with my case fans and the case closed, I can still easily hear it across the room.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
  2. mbk1969

mbk1969 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    It can be vibrations

3. Athlonite

Athlonite Maha Guru

GPU:
    Pulse RX5700 8GB
    could be coil whine

4. stat1cx

stat1cx Guest

GPU:
    MSI R9 390 GAMING 8G
    Sounds like coil whine to me, if that is the case then there is nothing to worry about.

5. Undying

Undying Ancient Guru

GPU:
    XFX RX6800XT 16GB
    Coil Whine. Nothing to worry about and nothing you can do about it.

6. MonkSR

MonkSR Guest

GPU:
    EVGA Geforce 660
    writing to be able to link to the youtube video

7. MonkSR

MonkSR Guest

GPU:
    EVGA Geforce 660
    tested the fans with Prec X at 80% and no noise

8. MonkSR

MonkSR Guest

GPU: