Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unknown USB Device Error code 43
Old
  (#1)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default Unknown USB Device Error code 43 - 08-24-2014, 00:49 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Hello! I'm having quite some difficulty figuring out what's causing this, I hope someone can help me sort this out. So out of nowhere, one day I started my PC in the morning and got a pop up window saying that a USB device was unable to install. I head to Control Panel and find it listed under "Unspecified" and it's named "Unknown device". I click it and go to the "Hardware" tab and see it says "Universal Serial Bus Controller". It says this beside Location: "Port_#0001.Hub_#0003" and this for Device Status: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)" and lastly, the producer is Microsoft apparently and this is the Driver Date: 21/06/2006.

One very strange thing, however, is that my PC waits at the manufacturer boot screen way longer than usual. I look through my PC and while I'm in the manufacturer logo screen my Motherboard has a digital number showing "98". After I pass the manufacturer logo screen however, I boot normally fast. (I'm guessing it's not the SSD since the code 98 means it's searching for something? Normally it would be A1 or A2 or something I don't remember). I had recently (Not even a week ago) installed an SSD and my boot speeds were amazing and they still are, it's just this manufacturer logo screen that takes a long time.

Motherboard:

AsRock Fatal1ty Z68 Professional Gen3

Things I've tried:

Checked driver updates for it in control panel
Installed drivers from my motherboard CD
Checked windows update (nothing)
Plugged and unplugged all USB devices (Issue still persisted)

USB Devices plugged in currently:

Logitech Mouse
Razer Keyboard
Logitech Webcam
HP D110 Printer

Last edited by Vegetables102; 08-24-2014 at 00:52.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX970/GTX460
Processor: 3770K Delid@ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb GSkill 1600->1866
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/PC350
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 950w
Default 08-24-2014, 01:20 | posts: 345 | Location: Albany, NY

Do you have anything plug into the USB3 on board header? I was having this same issue on the board in my sig at left. Like you, slow loading screen times.

After trial and error I found that the issue was the header/driver. I disconnected the usb3 device (which was a card reader, usb3 slot combo from Rosewill), and issue went away.

If not, disconnect one USB device at a time, until issue is found. GL

Last edited by mezball; 08-24-2014 at 01:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 08-24-2014, 01:28 | posts: 8,337 | Location: Urban`Jungle

For which device, I get this now with my Sony mp3 player guess its internal rom got fuxed up or something and now its dead so to speak..
I can still recharge it though, at least something.


This code usually means "dead" HW.

Last edited by -Tj-; 08-24-2014 at 01:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 02:14 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
Do you have anything plug into the USB3 on board header? I was having this same issue on the board in my sig at left. Like you, slow loading screen times.

After trial and error I found that the issue was the header/driver. I disconnected the usb3 device (which was a card reader, usb3 slot combo from Rosewill), and issue went away.

If not, disconnect one USB device at a time, until issue is found. GL
Yeah but I did unplug each but the problem did not go away. I unplugged EVERYTHING, restarted and still had slow load time. The device was still in the control panel aswell. This is just a really frustrating issue
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 08-24-2014, 02:26 | posts: 8,337 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Try this and remove all ghost devices, at least those you know
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 05:20 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Try this and remove all ghost devices, at least those you know
Wow. That software really revealed alot about this damned device. So apparantly it's my WLAN Adapter and I went to its website, tried installing the driver but it keeps telling me it could not be installed (Positive it's the right driver and version). My PC tries to do that everytime I start it and fails aswell (Updating the device). I'm really starting to think it's actually faulty and that it needs replacing. What do you think? I would upload pics but this place says I need 10 posts for it apparantly. Sigh. Do you think I should replace it?

This is what USBDeview shows:

Device Name: Port_#0001.Hub_#0003

Description: Realtek RTL8188CU Wireless LAN 802.11n USB 2.0 Network Adapter

Instance ID: USB\VID_0BDA&PID_8176\00e04c000001
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX970/GTX460
Processor: 3770K Delid@ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb GSkill 1600->1866
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/PC350
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 950w
Default 08-24-2014, 06:27 | posts: 345 | Location: Albany, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Try this and remove all ghost devices, at least those you know
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
Thanks for this, didn't know about this software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetables102 View Post
I'm really starting to think it's actually faulty and that it needs replacing. What do you think? I would upload pics but this place says I need 10 posts for it apparantly. Sigh. Do you think I should replace it?
It sounds like the culprit and wouldn't hurt to try. I would think by just removing from PC it would not try to search for drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 16:29 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
Thanks for this, didn't know about this software.



It sounds like the culprit and wouldn't hurt to try. I would think by just removing from PC it would not try to search for drivers.
I can absolutely do that, but on USBDeview under the "Safe to unplug" column it says "No". Is there a safer procedure to unplug it? I mean I'm not even using wireless. I'm using Wired internet connection. Do I even need this adapter in the first place? (Sorry if dumb question but I'm a nooblet with pcs).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 08-24-2014, 17:07 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

If you don't use it, get rid of it... same goes for anything else in the bios that can be disabled if not used.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 17:11 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by clawhamer View Post
If you don't use it, get rid of it... same goes for anything else in the bios that can be disabled if not used.
Yeah, I'll try but can you please tell me if there is a safe procedure to removing it or do I just shut down pc, open case, and take it out?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 08-24-2014, 17:31 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetables102 View Post
Yeah, I'll try but can you please tell me if there is a safe procedure to removing it or do I just shut down pc, open case, and take it out?

That's all there is to it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 18:17 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by clawhamer View Post
That's all there is to it.
I just removed the culprit. PC now boots up fine and all problems have magically disappeared. Thanks alot! Btw, I can purchase another one of those adapters off of NewEgg for relatively cheap, should I do that? I mean, I don't even understand this thing fully. Do I only need it for when I want to use my PC wireless or does it serve some other purpose?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1306MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 08-24-2014, 18:40 | posts: 2,415 | Location: canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetables102 View Post
I just removed the culprit. PC now boots up fine and all problems have magically disappeared. Thanks alot! Btw, I can purchase another one of those adapters off of NewEgg for relatively cheap, should I do that? I mean, I don't even understand this thing fully. Do I only need it for when I want to use my PC wireless or does it serve some other purpose?

It's only needed if you wanted to connect to network via wireless, it servers no other purpose than that.

If you do for some reason in the future require a wireless connection, I'd suggest a proper wireless pci-e card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 18:51 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by clawhamer View Post
It's only needed if you wanted to connect to network via wireless, it servers no other purpose than that.

If you do for some reason in the future require a wireless connection, I'd suggest a proper wireless pci-e card.
Hmm. The little USB device I just pulled out was hooked onto something like that (Searched for pics of wireless pci-e card) but not sure. I'm bad at this stuff, not even sure how I could install that wireless pci-e card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
mezball
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX970/GTX460
Processor: 3770K Delid@ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: AsRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: 16Gb GSkill 1600->1866
Soundcard: SBz/Klipsch 5.1/PC350
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 950w
Default 08-24-2014, 21:26 | posts: 345 | Location: Albany, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetables102 View Post
Hmm. The little USB device I just pulled out was hooked onto something like that (Searched for pics of wireless pci-e card) but not sure. I'm bad at this stuff, not even sure how I could install that wireless pci-e card.
Curious, how did you obtain PC? Was it purchased retail, used, or custom built? It sounds like that USB adaptor was connected to some sort of an expansion card that uses a PCI/PCI-e slot.

Last edited by mezball; 08-24-2014 at 21:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Vegetables102
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia GTX 780Ti SC
Processor: Inter Core i7 2600K
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Azza 1000
Default 08-24-2014, 22:11 | posts: 8 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezball View Post
Curious, how did you obtain PC? Was it purchased retail, used, or custom built? It sounds like that USB adaptor was connected to some sort of an expansion card that uses a PCI/PCI-e slot.
I got my PC from a website like CyberPower. It was custom built and delivered to my mouse. On the card that I just plugged my WLAN adapter out from also had another usb adapter plugged in beside it. Think it's bluetooth maybe. I want to post pic but site doesn't let me still
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
AsiJu
Master Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87-A
Memory: G.Skill DDR3-1600 8 GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 08-28-2014, 13:31 | posts: 657 | Location: Finland

Just an idea, but did you also install USB 3.0 driver from your mobo CD?
It's separate from chipset drivers usually.

The reference was to "Universal Serial Bus Controller" so it may be the USB itself rather than a USB device.

Chances are the device (wireless adapter) just makes the error manifest itself.

Your other USB peripherals are probably connected to USB 2.0 ports.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 08-28-2014, 21:11 | posts: 8,337 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetables102 View Post
I just removed the culprit. PC now boots up fine and all problems have magically disappeared. Thanks alot! Btw, I can purchase another one of those adapters off of NewEgg for relatively cheap, should I do that? I mean, I don't even understand this thing fully. Do I only need it for when I want to use my PC wireless or does it serve some other purpose?
Cool, nah if you dont use it at all dont bother with new one
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.