Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage units like SSDs, M.2., HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
[Solved]Samsung 840 on GA-970A-DS3 SATA3 problem
Old
  (#1)
codadi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980
Processor: Inter Core i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: Corsair DDR3/8GB
Soundcard: Audigy2/Logitech Z5300
PSU: Thermaltake 730W
Default [Solved]Samsung 840 on GA-970A-DS3 SATA3 problem - 08-08-2014, 10:38 | posts: 10 | Location: Romania

UPDATE
I just checked with HWINFO to see what SATA interface it's using, if you look at the last screnshot, it says SATA 6Gb/s @ 3Gb/s.
What could be the problem?



I recently bought a Samsung EVO 840 250Gb SSD. After installing Windows 8.1 64bit on the system in Samsung Magician i noticed that it says my ssd is not working on full performance since it's not connected to a SATA3 port.

My system is:
Motherboard: GigaByte GA-970A-DS3(rev 1.0) F6 BIOS
CPU: AMD FX-4100
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair DDR3
GPU: AMD 7870.

I tried replacing the sata cable, sata port but still same issue. The SB950 chipset clearly supports SATA3, but i dont know why my SSD wont work as it should. I also checked in BIOS the settings, SATA3 is enabled.

The performance is clearly low...~270MB/s read/write speeds.

Anyone have any ideea what should i do, I tried almost anything i could think of...

Thank you!







Last edited by codadi; 08-09-2014 at 09:57. Reason: solved
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
kaingr
Member Guru
 
Videocard: asus780 dcuii@ 1306/6700
Processor: i7 2600k @5 ghz ht on air
Mainboard: asus p8z68v-pro
Memory: ddr3 /2133 /8gb
Soundcard: nvidias sound driver
PSU: corsair hx850w
Default 08-08-2014, 10:51 | posts: 132 | Location: greece

check for firmware update to your ssd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
codadi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980
Processor: Inter Core i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: Corsair DDR3/8GB
Soundcard: Audigy2/Logitech Z5300
PSU: Thermaltake 730W
Default 08-08-2014, 10:55 | posts: 10 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaingr View Post
check for firmware update to your ssd
it says that there are no firmware updates.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: Strix 980 SLI stock
Processor: 5930K 4.5GHz
Mainboard: R5E USB3.1
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB 3.2GHz CL14
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 08-08-2014, 10:59 | posts: 5,700 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

AHCI as sata mode enabled?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
codadi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980
Processor: Inter Core i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: Corsair DDR3/8GB
Soundcard: Audigy2/Logitech Z5300
PSU: Thermaltake 730W
Default 08-08-2014, 11:07 | posts: 10 | Location: Romania

yep, it's AHCI
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: Strix 980 SLI stock
Processor: 5930K 4.5GHz
Mainboard: R5E USB3.1
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB 3.2GHz CL14
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 08-08-2014, 11:16 | posts: 5,700 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

Quote:
Originally Posted by codadi View Post
yep, it's AHCI
Just asked because I didn't do so with my very first SSD back then
Well if you've chosen all the right stuff from the BIOS settings it should work. I'm afraid I can't help you further...

I know I get the right performance out of my 840 evo 128GB because I know it's bottlenecked by my sata2 3gb/s sata
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
Processor: Core i7 5820K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: Kingston HypX 16GB 3Ghz
Soundcard: Essence STXII Senn. HD650
PSU: Super Flower 1200W
Default 08-08-2014, 23:02 | posts: 6,118 | Location: Belgium

Hmmz

BIOS update on GIGABYTE site lists this:
  • Update AHCI ROM version
  • Beta BIOS

Version F7a.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 970 G1
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus VII Hero
Memory: 16GB Vengeance Pro 2400
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 08-08-2014, 23:32 | posts: 10,513 | Location: Toledo

First of all, the SATA 3 controllers on AMD systems are worse than their Intel counterparts. So you're never going to get full speeds. Moving past that, make sure your BIOS is fully updated, and that the AMD AHCI driver is installed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
codadi
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 980
Processor: Inter Core i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII HERO
Memory: Corsair DDR3/8GB
Soundcard: Audigy2/Logitech Z5300
PSU: Thermaltake 730W
Default 08-09-2014, 09:56 | posts: 10 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
First of all, the SATA 3 controllers on AMD systems are worse than their Intel counterparts. So you're never going to get full speeds. Moving past that, make sure your BIOS is fully updated, and that the AMD AHCI driver is installed.
This was the problem, the AMD AHCI driver. After installing fresh windows 8.1 i downloaded the AMD chipset drivers, but i dont know why it did not install the drivers. So i had to manually install them and now it works.

Thank you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ulquiora4
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 270X
Processor: AMD FX 6100
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sirtec 500w
Default 09-27-2015, 10:45 | posts: 3

Sorry to resurrect this old thread, but i am in the same boat as you and cannot solve my issue as you said you did.

My board is a ga-970a-ds3 with latest bios, fresh install, everything up to date, ahci activated from bios
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
CalculuS
Maha Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970 1505/+60
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.5Ghz/1.21V
Mainboard: ASRock P67 PRO3 SE
Memory: 8GB Corsair CL8/1600mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DG (Twiddles)
PSU: CM Thunder 700W
Default 09-27-2015, 11:04 | posts: 2,560 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulquiora4 View Post
Sorry to resurrect this old thread, but i am in the same boat as you and cannot solve my issue as you said you did.

My board is a ga-970a-ds3 with latest bios, fresh install, everything up to date, ahci activated from bios
Did you download the chipset drivers like OP did?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ulquiora4
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 270X
Processor: AMD FX 6100
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sirtec 500w
Default 09-27-2015, 11:09 | posts: 3

My ssd is 850 EVO 120GB
Installed from 14-4-win7-win8-win8.1-32-64-sb (latest from AMD)

It sees in device manager:
AMD SATA CONTROLLER
Driver Date 11/6/2013
Driver Version 1.2.1.359

Running Windows 7 Ultimate and still sees that i'm having the ssd connected to Sata 2 instead of 3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CalculuS
Maha Guru
 
CalculuS's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970 1505/+60
Processor: i5 3570k @ 4.5Ghz/1.21V
Mainboard: ASRock P67 PRO3 SE
Memory: 8GB Corsair CL8/1600mhz
Soundcard: Xonar DG (Twiddles)
PSU: CM Thunder 700W
Default 09-27-2015, 11:27 | posts: 2,560 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by ulquiora4 View Post
My ssd is 850 EVO 120GB
Installed from 14-4-win7-win8-win8.1-32-64-sb (latest from AMD)

It sees in device manager:
AMD SATA CONTROLLER
Driver Date 11/6/2013
Driver Version 1.2.1.359

Running Windows 7 Ultimate and still sees that i'm having the ssd connected to Sata 2 instead of 3
That board does not have Sata2 ports.

Did you try these drivers? http://support.amd.com/en-us/downloa...Windows+7+-+64
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ulquiora4
Newbie
 
Videocard: R9 270X
Processor: AMD FX 6100
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sirtec 500w
Default 09-27-2015, 12:28 | posts: 3

Yeah, i know it doesn't have sata 2, i have a R9 270x so yea, i have the 15.7.1 graphics drivers installed (it said no updates or something similar over the achi driver)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.