Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAMSUNG UE48H6400 60hz in Windows?
Old
  (#1)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default SAMSUNG UE48H6400 60hz in Windows? - 08-07-2014, 21:38 | posts: 3,730 | Location: Manchester, UK

Hi all,

I've recently purchased a SAMSUNG UE48H6400 Smart 3D 48" LED TV for my living room, however since I now live in a 1 bedroom flat I have also connected my PC to the TV. The TV claims to be 400hz, but for some reason I can only select 60hz in Windows... am I missing something?

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
drandiiski
Maha Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 750Ti StormX 2G
Processor: Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4-M
Memory: 2x4Gb DDR3 @1646Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: CoolerMaster 500W eXtreme
Default 08-08-2014, 07:08 | posts: 968 | Location: Bulgaria

It is 60Hz. That 400Hz you see on the box is post-processing also called image interpolation, that is there to make the picture smoother during fast camera movement. In other words it is mostly a marketing trick to be presented as Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default 08-08-2014, 07:09 | posts: 3,730 | Location: Manchester, UK

Really? I must say I didn't expect the TV to actually be 400hz, I was thinking that it might be 100hz though.

=/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
drandiiski
Maha Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 750Ti StormX 2G
Processor: Intel i5 3470 @ 4.0Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme4-M
Memory: 2x4Gb DDR3 @1646Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898
PSU: CoolerMaster 500W eXtreme
Default 08-08-2014, 07:16 | posts: 968 | Location: Bulgaria

Well you are not the first to fall for that trick. There are some models that support 120Hz, but most TVs out there are marketed as 100-600Hz, but input on 60Hz. Sorry for your disappointment, but donít let that ruin your fun :-)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default 08-08-2014, 09:41 | posts: 3,730 | Location: Manchester, UK

Thanks drandiiski, oh well, CS on a 48" TV at 60hz is still great fun... I'm sure I'll get over it!

Welcome to the forum btw!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 08-08-2014, 14:45 | posts: 502 | Location: Somewhere Else

Since your TV is a 3DTV maybe you can be one of those that is capable of running it at 120hz. Check out the linkage for instructions
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kegastaMmer
Member Guru
 
kegastaMmer's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI n570gtx TF II
Processor: AMD Phenom IIx6 1055T 4.2
Mainboard: MSI 890 GXM-GD65
Memory: 12 GB 1333 MHz Corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: OcZ 750w
Default 09-19-2015, 07:56 | posts: 136 | Location: Kathmandu, Nepal

i apologize for reviving an old thread, but at my place, this same 48" samsung has a discounted price at $ 930, incl. of all taxes. Can OP or any other suggest if I should get it? Btw I am in Nepal, and the import tax + VAT is around 46%. thank you for the kind help in advance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980 Ti AMP! Omega
Processor: i7 3770@4,2GHz+CNPS12X
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LE
Memory: Gskill 8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: JBL SCS 200.5 | 5.1 DDL
PSU: OCZ 600W ModXstream Pro
Default 09-28-2015, 23:39 | posts: 7,470 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by kegastaMmer View Post
i apologize for reviving an old thread, but at my place, this same 48" samsung has a discounted price at $ 930, incl. of all taxes. Can OP or any other suggest if I should get it? Btw I am in Nepal, and the import tax + VAT is around 46%. thank you for the kind help in advance.
Can't you get a 4K TV for that kind of money?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kegastaMmer
Member Guru
 
kegastaMmer's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI n570gtx TF II
Processor: AMD Phenom IIx6 1055T 4.2
Mainboard: MSI 890 GXM-GD65
Memory: 12 GB 1333 MHz Corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: OcZ 750w
Default 09-30-2015, 06:05 | posts: 136 | Location: Kathmandu, Nepal

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
Can't you get a 4K TV for that kind of money?
Sry , mate The Tax is so high, a decent 4k is about $1500 at least.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
nullack
Newbie
 
Videocard: Titan
Processor: Skylake
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1KW
Default 10-02-2015, 01:42 | posts: 20

Theres been a rocky road with running UHD 60hz on Windows 10 with nvidia drivers and WDDM 2.0. I dont think all the dust has settled yet, I still get a bsod in some cases of 3d mode playback. With many samsung displays your forced into HDMI 2 over displayport as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac 980 Ti AMP! Omega
Processor: i7 3770@4,2GHz+CNPS12X
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LE
Memory: Gskill 8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: JBL SCS 200.5 | 5.1 DDL
PSU: OCZ 600W ModXstream Pro
Default 10-02-2015, 08:24 | posts: 7,470 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by kegastaMmer View Post
Sry , mate The Tax is so high, a decent 4k is about $1500 at least.
Yeah that's very high indeed, a 43/40inch UHD costs about 600 euro in Holland wich is why i said it.
The one i wanted aren't being made anymore wich sucks, that one costed around 500-550 and had all the bells and whistles.

I didn't know prices are so much different elsewhere.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
kegastaMmer
Member Guru
 
kegastaMmer's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI n570gtx TF II
Processor: AMD Phenom IIx6 1055T 4.2
Mainboard: MSI 890 GXM-GD65
Memory: 12 GB 1333 MHz Corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: OcZ 750w
Default 10-03-2015, 08:31 | posts: 136 | Location: Kathmandu, Nepal

What's the make/model that you had wanted? Maybe i can find it here..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.