Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SAMSUNG UE48H6400 60hz in Windows?
Old
  (#1)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Powercolor 5850 PCS+ 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default SAMSUNG UE48H6400 60hz in Windows? - 08-07-2014, 22:38 | posts: 3,729 | Location: Manchester, UK

Hi all,

I've recently purchased a SAMSUNG UE48H6400 Smart 3D 48" LED TV for my living room, however since I now live in a 1 bedroom flat I have also connected my PC to the TV. The TV claims to be 400hz, but for some reason I can only select 60hz in Windows... am I missing something?

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
drandiiski
Master Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 768M @800/2000
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Jetway I35P-SG
Memory: 2x2Gb DDR2 Kingston
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: CM 500W eXtreme Power
Default 08-08-2014, 08:08 | posts: 389 | Location: Bulgaria

It is 60Hz. That 400Hz you see on the box is post-processing also called image interpolation, that is there to make the picture smoother during fast camera movement. In other words it is mostly a marketing trick to be presented as Hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Powercolor 5850 PCS+ 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default 08-08-2014, 08:09 | posts: 3,729 | Location: Manchester, UK

Really? I must say I didn't expect the TV to actually be 400hz, I was thinking that it might be 100hz though.

=/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
drandiiski
Master Guru
 
drandiiski's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460 768M @800/2000
Processor: Intel C2Q Q6600 @3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Jetway I35P-SG
Memory: 2x2Gb DDR2 Kingston
Soundcard: Creative Audigy
PSU: CM 500W eXtreme Power
Default 08-08-2014, 08:16 | posts: 389 | Location: Bulgaria

Well you are not the first to fall for that trick. There are some models that support 120Hz, but most TVs out there are marketed as 100-600Hz, but input on 60Hz. Sorry for your disappointment, but donít let that ruin your fun :-)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
micketh
Ancient Guru
 
micketh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Powercolor 5850 PCS+ 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 4440
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87-DS3H
Memory: 8GB Crucial 1600MHz CL8
Soundcard: Realtek ALC887
PSU: Be Quiet! Pure Power 530w
Default 08-08-2014, 10:41 | posts: 3,729 | Location: Manchester, UK

Thanks drandiiski, oh well, CS on a 48" TV at 60hz is still great fun... I'm sure I'll get over it!

Welcome to the forum btw!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 @ 1150/1600
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 08-08-2014, 15:45 | posts: 490 | Location: Somewhere Else

Since your TV is a 3DTV maybe you can be one of those that is capable of running it at 120hz. Check out the linkage for instructions
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.