Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GeForce and Quadro in the same system, can do, or asking for trouble ?
Old
  (#1)
LesserHellspawn
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte GTX660ti OC
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.3 GHz
Mainboard: GA-P67A-UD7-B3
Memory: 4x4GB GSkill DDR3 1600 lv
Soundcard: Auzen X-Fi Prelude
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1,2 KW
Default GeForce and Quadro in the same system, can do, or asking for trouble ? - 08-07-2014, 13:19 | posts: 361

I have a Quadro 600 here that is more or less collecting dust. I also have a slot free. So I'm thinking to plug it in and use it as dedicated PhysX card along with my two 660ti. Can i do that, or would it be driver chaos ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
keasy
Master Guru
 
keasy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 GE
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45
Memory: 8GB Kingston Beast @ 2400
Soundcard: Xonar DG - Panny HT600's
PSU: OCZ ZT 750W
Default 08-07-2014, 14:19 | posts: 381 | Location: Scotland

I'm no expert but I think it would be bothersome.

From what I garner Quadro cards run mainly under OpenGL and optimised for OpenGL, where as your Gefroce although runs both is primarily a DirectX device.

So the two may interfere with each other ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 08-07-2014, 14:26 | posts: 2,137

Mixing usually causes chaos with professional applications, I don't recommend using it though as it will more than likely hold back your SLI 660Ti's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-07-2014, 14:33 | posts: 1,744 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by LesserHellspawn View Post
I have a Quadro 600 here that is more or less collecting dust. I also have a slot free. So I'm thinking to plug it in and use it as dedicated PhysX card along with my two 660ti. Can i do that, or would it be driver chaos ?
Quadro Cards are for Graphically intense business applications and are not really meant for gaming. Also the Quadro card might slow down the performance of your 660TIs.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.