Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Consoles & console games
Consoles & console games This section is for all hardcore console gamers out there .. XBOX 360, PlayStation 3, Wii Threads with posts in January 2007 can be found in General Hardware


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PAL vs NTSC Gamecube ( or Wii ) purchase inquiry
Old
  (#1)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default PAL vs NTSC Gamecube ( or Wii ) purchase inquiry - 08-07-2014, 08:11 | posts: 5,154 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Hey all,

Im wanting to purchase a gamecube or wii with gamecube compatibility, but i would like to get an NTSC version of the gamecube as to avoid the PAL issue of being locked at 25fps/50hz vs the NTSC's 30/60fps (which is important for Star Wars Rogue Squadron/MGS TS (imo).

Two questions:

  1. Do you think its worth it or do you think im just having a moment of materialism?
  2. Is the PAL Wii with GC compatibility affected by the 25/50Hz issue?
  3. Is it worth the effort of locating NTSC games, or would i have to look at modding the console.

I can emulate pretty much all the games i like from the GC on my PC ( except Star Wars Rogue Squadron ), but i agree with OP and the other posters in keasy's thread about how its nice having the OG kit on hand.

Cheers.

Edit: Ive just found this site in regards to imported games and playing them.
  1. http://uk.codejunkies.com/
  2. http://uk.codejunkies.com/Products/G..._EF000311.aspx

Last edited by (.)(.); 08-07-2014 at 08:24.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 08-07-2014, 09:00 | posts: 10,559 | Location: United kingdom

I wouldnt bother, id just emulate, there is only a handful of games that dont work. If your still after a GC well ive got one in the attic. I doubt ill ever use it again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 08-07-2014, 13:10 | posts: 10,184 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

The PAL wii has the option between 480i, 480p and 576i, so it's up to you if you want it in PAL or NTSC mode.

Unsure how that translates into gamecube games though, forcing progressive scan would put it into NTSC though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 08-10-2014, 01:09 | posts: 5,154 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Hey thanks for the offer Veteran, but i think your right, i'll just stick to emulating.

Thanks for that info scatman839.

Also, for anyone else who's had the issue with Resident Evil 0 not going above 25 frames or frequent drops from 30, the latest master build has the game running a constant 30 (game itself is hardcoded to 30).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.