Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
First build, looking for some guidance :)
Old
  (#1)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default First build, looking for some guidance :) - 08-07-2014, 07:54 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

Built my first gaming PC on a real tight budget today -

Fractal Core 1000
EVGA 430w PSU
Pentium G3258
Asus H81M-E
1 tb Seagate HDD
8gb Gskill Trident
GTX 650 ti boost
Windows 8.1 Pro

Seems to be running fine but just wanted to query a few things with you Gurus.

Firstly the memory is hard locked at 1333Mhz. (Board Restricted) XMP Profile sticks it at 10 12 12..... What timings and voltage can I change it to that will be ultra stable and reduce latency?

Also, do you guys just stick power settings to performance or leave it on balanced? Same question regarding my Nvidia GPU. Adaptive or Maximum Performance?

As, I'm on one system disk. Should I do anything with the page file at all?

I've only tried Wow so far but seems very smooth @1080p

Thanks for your help and looking forward to making some new friends on the site.

Last edited by PapaJohn; 08-07-2014 at 07:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 08-07-2014, 08:00 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

windows settings: max power, NVidia settings: max performance (at least for your games).
basically you want to tweak as little as possible. the easier the installation the better.
in the future some 2133 speed ram would be something to look at.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 08:03 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

Thanks SLI, the ram is actually the 2400mhz variant but the board hard locks it at 1333mhz because of the Pentium. Just looking to alter timings on them to get better latency but unsure of correct timings?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 08-07-2014, 08:09 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaJohn View Post
Thanks SLI, the ram is actually the 2400mhz variant but the board hard locks it at 1333mhz because of the Pentium. Just looking to alter timings on them to get better latency but unsure of correct timings?
ah very nice, then yes I imagine you'll be able to tighten em down good.
what exactly is xmp profile timings, 10 12 12 ..and?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-07-2014, 08:21 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaJohn View Post
Built my first gaming PC on a real tight budget today -

Fractal Core 1000
EVGA 430w PSU
Pentium G3258
Asus H81M-E
1 tb Seagate HDD
8gb Gskill Trident
GTX 650 ti boost
Windows 8.1 Pro

Seems to be running fine but just wanted to query a few things with you Gurus.

Firstly the memory is hard locked at 1333Mhz. (Board Restricted) XMP Profile sticks it at 10 12 12..... What timings and voltage can I change it to that will be ultra stable and reduce latency?

Also, do you guys just stick power settings to performance or leave it on balanced? Same question regarding my Nvidia GPU. Adaptive or Maximum Performance?

As, I'm on one system disk. Should I do anything with the page file at all?

I've only tried Wow so far but seems very smooth @1080p

Thanks for your help and looking forward to making some new friends on the site.
Going 2nd hand is a good way to get a decent system on a tight budget...

But to answer your questions, timings should be stable at 8-8-8-24. If not then use 9-9-9-27.

Pagefile can be disabled.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 08-07-2014 at 08:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 08:26 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

The graphics card was the only 2nd hand item. $80 CAD. The rest was new $450 including windows (work deal)

Thanks for those timings Pill Monster, do I have to worry about secondary timings and what voltage should I use.? Actually I may just leave page file alone being a novice but will see if it causes me any issues down the line.

@SLI - I believe it's 10 12 12 34

Last edited by PapaJohn; 08-07-2014 at 08:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-07-2014, 08:27 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Nah just leave the other timings on auto.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 08:29 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

OK and what voltage? This ram should be fine @1.5v right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 08-07-2014, 08:34 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

ram will be fine at that voltage.
even try 9 11 11 31
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-07-2014, 08:37 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaJohn View Post
OK and what voltage? This ram should be fine @1.5v right?
Yeah 1.5v is plenty for 1333mhz.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 08:37 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

Excellent guys I'll try a few more games tonight and report back. Gonna be a long night Coming from an Xbox 360, even Wow looks like a frigging masterpiece.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 08-07-2014, 08:47 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

nice one, some games have benchmarks, minimum frames per sec is the important number to judge gains by.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 19:46 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

OK so last night I overclocked, only up to 4.2ghz as I'm on stock cooler. Used AIDA, IBT, cinebench, prime and all ran fine without a hitch.

I changed the memory timings to 8 8 8 24 @1.5v and that has been running fine showing good improvement in AIDA memory bench.

I tried a few different games after all of this -

BF3
WoW
Mafia 2
Trine Enchanted & original
Oblivion

Interestingly Mafia 2 is acting a bit weird. Max settings and GPU usage is all over the place (may have to start a thread about it)

And Original trine is only using 90% GPU with frames predominantly below 60. Trine Enchanted Edition is running flawlessly .

Is this a physx issue with those games? I'm running the latest driver.

All the other games run fine, aside from Oblivion hitching a bit as it loads new areas. Benchmarks all seem to be showing improvement with the overclock and they are all smooth.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
biggerx
Ancient Guru
 
biggerx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 FTW 4GB
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6GHz/1.185v
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6/TB
Memory: 16GB Vengeance @ 1866MHz
Soundcard: Digidesign M-Box Pro/BX5s
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750w
Default 08-07-2014, 20:08 | posts: 3,506 | Location: Los Angeles

Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaJohn View Post
OK so last night I overclocked, only up to 4.2ghz as I'm on stock cooler. Used AIDA, IBT, cinebench, prime and all ran fine without a hitch.

I changed the memory timings to 8 8 8 24 @1.5v and that has been running fine showing good improvement in AIDA memory bench.

I tried a few different games after all of this -

BF3
WoW
Mafia 2
Trine Enchanted & original
Oblivion

Interestingly Mafia 2 is acting a bit weird. Max settings and GPU usage is all over the place (may have to start a thread about it)

And Original trine is only using 90% GPU with frames predominantly below 60. Trine Enchanted Edition is running flawlessly .

Is this a physx issue with those games? I'm running the latest driver.

All the other games run fine, aside from Oblivion hitching a bit as it loads new areas. Benchmarks all seem to be showing improvement with the overclock and they are all smooth.
When you get a chance grab a 128GB SSD for Windows and run all your games off the 1 TB. You can find them for as low as 60 dollars now. It will help a bit with some of that load stuttering.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 08-07-2014, 20:21 | posts: 8,047 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Go to uefi and enable XMP, I sure its supported even by Pentium Haswell variants.

Edit: yep



Click on XMP and Select profile1 like on the upper right picture if in EZ mode.

In main advanced AI Tweaker it should look like so - by AI overclock tuner select XMP and set back main adv timings to XMP default also its voltage to 1.65v if not already changed @ auto XMP.

Last edited by -Tj-; 08-07-2014 at 20:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PapaJohn
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2GB GTX 650 TI Boost
Processor: i3 4340
Mainboard: Asus H81M-E
Memory: 8gb G skill Trident
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 08-07-2014, 21:26 | posts: 23 | Location: Canada

XMP profiles only gives 1333Mhz, its a combination of the chip with cheap board unfortunately. However I will be using it for my GF's build as I slowly upgrade my one. I'm not too fussed, it appears to be smooth and will be fully utilized when I get a decent Z97 board.

Thanks for taking the time to post that though TJ

@BiggerX - An SSD is first on my list of things to add but will wait until I can afford a nice one

All things considered for a cheap as chips rig its running very well.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.