Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Is vram requirements going up?
Old
  (#1)
Mathiassen
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 2GB @1175/7124
Processor: Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.3
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G43
Memory: BallistiX 1600MHz 8GB
Soundcard: Line 6 UX1
PSU: 750W Bronze
Default Is vram requirements going up? - 08-06-2014, 17:40 | posts: 10 | Location: Norway

Since the next-gen consoles have 8 GB of vram. Can we presume that multi-platform games in the future are going to have textures and other dilldall to fill up those 8 GB?

Im asking this because the rumors for the next GTX 880 is 4 GB, which i think is extremely low considering the games that are going to come out. I think 6 GB should be the lowest on the new cards, at least top tier cards.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 08-06-2014, 17:48 | posts: 4,411 | Location: Serbia, NS

Damn, another Vram thread. This should be fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-06-2014, 17:56 | posts: 1,777 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathiassen View Post
Since the next-gen consoles have 8 GB of vram. Can we presume that multi-platform games in the future are going to have textures and other dilldall to fill up those 8 GB?

Im asking this because the rumors for the next GTX 880 is 4 GB, which i think is extremely low considering the games that are going to come out. I think 6 GB should be the lowest on the new cards, at least top tier cards.
There is going to be a 8gb version of the 880. So 4gb is not the only version. It depends on how high you have your graphics settings and what extra stuff you enable. Also the PS4 and Xbox one do not have dedicated Vram like PCs do.

Last edited by Fender178; 08-06-2014 at 17:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
harkinsteven
Maha Guru
 
harkinsteven's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SLI
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 32gb Kingston Beast 2400
Soundcard: SoundBlasterZxR/EdifierC6
PSU: XFX PRO 850W
Default 08-06-2014, 17:56 | posts: 2,353 | Location: Ireland

The consoles have shared resources, i.e system and ram video ram and shared in the one single pool. PC's have system ram and vram as separate resources.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Mathiassen
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 2GB @1175/7124
Processor: Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.3
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G43
Memory: BallistiX 1600MHz 8GB
Soundcard: Line 6 UX1
PSU: 750W Bronze
Default 08-06-2014, 18:08 | posts: 10 | Location: Norway

Ah ok, but how high do you think we will go with the new games coming out? Since Watch Dogs was at 3,5 GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 G1 SLI
Processor: 3770K@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 08-06-2014, 21:14 | posts: 153 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by harkinsteven View Post
The consoles have shared resources, i.e system and ram video ram and shared in the one single pool. PC's have system ram and vram as separate resources.
Yes but PS4 unified RAM architecture is made from GDDR5 memory, which is faster than PC DD3 memory
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
xFiniti64
Newbie
 
Videocard: Matrix GTX780 Ti x2 sli
Processor: Intel Core i7 4770k@5Ghz
Mainboard: maximus vi extreme
Memory:
Soundcard: asus xonar pheobus
PSU: CM v1000
Default 08-07-2014, 11:49 | posts: 2

Guys think. xbox 360 has 512mb how mach ram and vram you need play xbox 360 ports? Like Watch Dogs, is last generation port on next gen and pc. How about only next gen games...... Look what can do ps3 wth 256mb ram and 256mb vram DDDDD like the last of us.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 08-07-2014, 12:30 | posts: 3,061 | Location: UK

Nope VRAM requirements are the same as they were in 1996.

4MB should be fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-07-2014, 12:45 | posts: 1,777 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by xFiniti64 View Post
Guys think. xbox 360 has 512mb how mach ram and vram you need play xbox 360 ports? Like Watch Dogs, is last generation port on next gen and pc. How about only next gen games...... Look what can do ps3 wth 256mb ram and 256mb vram DDDDD like the last of us.
Um I think you have it backwards. Watch Dogs is current generation they just dumbed down the graphics for the last gen consoles. Also Watch Dogs is more than 720p on PS4 @ 900p and just barely on Xbox one @792p. Also on PC it is a poor port of the current gen console version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 08-07-2014, 12:52 | posts: 26,885 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Yes, the vram requirements are going up. They have been ever since I remember.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-07-2014, 13:47 | posts: 3,076 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
Yes, the vram requirements are going up. They have been ever since I remember.
Yeah it's safe to assume they will always increase not decrease


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
keasy
Master Guru
 
keasy's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Strix DCU II 970 OC
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45
Memory: 8GB Kingston Beast @ 2400
Soundcard: Xonar DG - Panny HT600's
PSU: OCZ ZT 750W
Default 08-07-2014, 14:13 | posts: 408 | Location: Scotland

We will need more without a doubt.

As the console led video games market increasingly and lazily ignores optimising games on the PC platform with half hearted ports, we will have to rely on sheer grunt, and that means the more of anything the merrier.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 08-07-2014, 14:21 | posts: 2,164

It's going up, just not as rapid as some would have you believe. For example comments like 8GB as a minimum is laughable imo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Mathiassen
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 2GB @1175/7124
Processor: Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.3
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G43
Memory: BallistiX 1600MHz 8GB
Soundcard: Line 6 UX1
PSU: 750W Bronze
Default 08-07-2014, 15:14 | posts: 10 | Location: Norway

Of course its always increasing, but im thinking about the rate of it. Im asking because of the new consoles. Weve had the same old 360 and ps3 for many years. And the second we get the new consoles games like Watch Dogs take up 3 GB. No games ive played before have had that type of requirement. Vram has until now just been a second thought and was just something you needed much if you were going for higher resolutions.

Last edited by Mathiassen; 08-07-2014 at 15:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 08-07-2014, 15:32 | posts: 1,674 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesGaizu View Post
Nope VRAM requirements are the same as they were in 1996.

4MB should be fine.
Don't underestimate 4MB of vram. It allowed me to have 1600x1200@24bpp frame buffer back then.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-07-2014, 15:35 | posts: 1,777 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathiassen View Post
Of course its always increasing, but im thinking about the rate of it. Im asking because of the new consoles. Weve had the same old 360 and ps3 for many years. And the second we get the new consoles games like Watch Dogs take up 3 GB. No games ive played before have had that type of requirement. Vram has until now just been a second thought and was just something you needed much if you were going for higher resolutions.
Well look at it this way if you are a PC gaming enthusiast and need to game at max settings at resolutions beyond 1080p for every new game that comes out then yes Vram is going to be increasing at pretty good rate compared to someone who wants to game at 1080p at max settings for every new game that comes out. Mind you that the new consoles are very limited because the 8GB is combined between Vram and standard RAM in a pool like another poster had said.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 08-07-2014, 15:37 | posts: 2,164

Some games will take advantage of more resources but doesn't translate to needing more. Honestly Watch Dogs has come up in every single VRAM debate and the game is broken when it comes to texture management/streaming. Even titans reproduced the same issues as "VRAM limited" cards.
We'll know more when Witcher 3 comes out imo, I wouldn't worry too much as DirectX is moving towards unified memory anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.