Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PC sometimes does not shut down fully
Old
  (#1)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default PC sometimes does not shut down fully - 08-04-2014, 14:17 | posts: 12,126 | Location: England

My previous Cooler Master PSU died about a month ago and I replaced it with an 850 W XFX Pro Black Edition one as show in my specs.

I have had no problems using my PC but sometimes when I shut my PC down the blue Power light does not go out on the front of my tower case and my monitor screen is obviously still receiving a signal as it does not auto-power off as it does normally. I then have to press the Power button on my case to turn off the PC.

This does not happen all the time, perhaps once out of six to ten shutdowns but I'm puzzled as to why it is happening at all. It never happened at all with my previous PSU and despite shutting down manually when it happens my PC boots into Windows as normal, without any indication that it has been improperly shut down.

Should I be concerned?

Does anyone know why this happens? I am using the latest v2004 BIOS for my motherboard and as far I can tell it looks like it is the very last stage of the shut down that is not happening, i.e. the point where the Power LED on the case turns off followed by my monitor when it doesn't receive a signal for 10 seconds.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-04-2014, 14:50 | posts: 1,516 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Which OS? Are there events about failed power off?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Nono06
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 680 GTX SLI (1215/6884)
Processor: Core i7 950@4.3GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5 v2.0
Memory: 6GB (8-9-8-24-1T)@1870
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: BeQuiet 1000W
Default 08-04-2014, 16:49 | posts: 752 | Location: France

I have the same problem as you but for me even the monitor signal is not present. Only lights and fans are on. (it also happen less often )

This might be due to the OC but honestly I do not think it is a problem since the OS is shutdown correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 08-04-2014, 23:30 | posts: 12,126 | Location: England

My CPU is not over clocked though. Seems like some sort of compatibility issue with my new PSU as I never had it before in the four years I owned the CM PSU. It has happened twice today too.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 08-04-2014, 23:32 | posts: 12,126 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbk1969 View Post
Which OS? Are there events about failed power off?
Windows 8.1 Update 1 and, no, there are Event logs for improper shutdown.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 08-04-2014, 23:43 | posts: 4,539 | Location: Israel

might be some power issue on side of windows, try balanced vs high performance.

What i think it is, is some sort of issue with PSU, either directly or compatibility , try to talk with Asus or check XFX site for known issues.

Make sure no power saving stuff is enabled in the bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-04-2014, 23:51 | posts: 1,516 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
Windows 8.1 Update 1 and, no, there are Event logs for improper shutdown.
Have you tried to switch off Fast boot setting? Removing Hiberfil.sys?

Edit: I don`t know why are you talking about power supply incompatibility. To me it looks like some component of OS (system service or something) prevents the full shutdown and when you turn off power in such state it is treated as improper shutdown.

There are two values at
"HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentV ersion\Reliability":
DirtyShutdown and DirtyShutdownTime - they are a part of improper shutdown tracking.
Quote:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...(v=ws.10).aspx

Shutdown Event Tracker Registry Entries
Shutdown Event Tracker interacts with the registry in the following ways:
The expected shutdown dialog reads custom shutdown reasons from the registry.

Remote Shutdown (Shutdown.exe) reads custom shutdown reasons from the registry. It also writes bulk annotations to the registry and deletes keys from the registry.

Custom Reason Editor (CustReasonEdit.exe) writes custom shutdown reasons to the registry.

The unexpected shutdown dialog reads from the registry to determine if the previous shutdown was unexpected.

The Event Log service writes the Shutdown Event Tracker heartbeat to the registry and then deletes it just before a normal shutdown occurs. On restart it verifies whether the heartbeat is present and, if so, writes the DirtyShutdown key to the registry.
So your OS is prevented from reaching that stage of shutdown process.

See also http://www.group-policy.com/ref/poli...ent_Time_Stamp

Edit 2: Btw, is there difference in switching off from OS or by button?

Last edited by mbk1969; 08-05-2014 at 13:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 08-05-2014, 17:45 | posts: 12,126 | Location: England

@ mbk1969 - As I explained in my post, this issue only started occurring since I installed a new PSU so my issue seems to stem directly from that as I have not changing any other Windows or BIOS settings, etc. I simply swapped out the old faulty PSU for the new one and since then this issue has been intermittently occurring.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-05-2014, 20:30 | posts: 1,636 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
@ mbk1969 - As I explained in my post, this issue only started occurring since I installed a new PSU so my issue seems to stem directly from that as I have not changing any other Windows or BIOS settings, etc. I simply swapped out the old faulty PSU for the new one and since then this issue has been intermittently occurring.
Hmm I had a similar issue but mine was not caused by swapping out a PSU. Mine would just sit at the welcome screen saying shutting down and nothing would happen. To me this was caused by a faulty driver install of my Xbox 360 controller and certain Steam games.


In your case it seems like to me that Windows is computer is activating the wrong command such as Sleep or hibernate instead of shut-down.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 08-05-2014, 22:00 | posts: 1,516 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
@ mbk1969 - As I explained in my post, this issue only started occurring since I installed a new PSU so my issue seems to stem directly from that as I have not changing any other Windows or BIOS settings, etc. I simply swapped out the old faulty PSU for the new one and since then this issue has been intermittently occurring.
I was telling all that stuff about shutdown namely because you have events about improper shutdown. Which means Windows fails to reach stage where it clears shutdown registry values. I fail to see how PSU can cause such behavior.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
spider
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX760 OC 4GB
Processor: Intel Xeon E3 1230v3 @3.7
Mainboard: ASRock B85M pro4
Memory: DDR3/16GB
Soundcard: XFi HD;Beyerdynamic DT990
PSU: BeQuite L8 530W CM
Default 08-05-2014, 22:43 | posts: 251 | Location: Germany

I am having the same problem.
What happens if you turn off the power switch of your PSU until the power led goes off and than imediatly turn the power switch to on?
Does your system boots too?

Maybe its a relay in the PSU but I am absolutely not sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 08-06-2014, 11:42 | posts: 2,375 | Location: canada

I'd try two things first:

Clear CMOS, but ensure power states are enabled and

in Windows, restore the Balanced Power plan defaults.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 08-07-2014, 14:27 | posts: 12,126 | Location: England

I think the problem may have been caused by me unchecking the option for the PC to enable it to turn off power to one of my LAN ports. I unchecked it when I was trying to isolate why my PC would go into Sleep mode but not wake up from it.

I have not seen this issue in two days since I re-enabled it so, fingers crossed, it stays that way.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.