Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Starcraft 2 best cpu?
Old
  (#1)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default Starcraft 2 best cpu? - 08-04-2014, 01:18 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

Hey all, I am currently in the process of changing out my dated x6 1055t AMD and thinking of moving to the i7 4790k.
I know this is a big step because I will need to change the mobo too.
I have a Gigabyte 270x Factory OC and I have noticed my CPU tends to be the one bringing my framerates down.
After researching and noticing that AMD CPU's dont do as great as Intel I decided to change.
My biggest question is mainly for Starcraft. I play it not so much but watch alot of replays. The game is CPU dependent but only at most dualcore.
On the AMD X6 1055t OC'd to 3.5 I am hitting super lows during big battles and its quite annoying. Like going from 80fps to 20 sometimes lower. And it stays there till most of the units disappear.
Will the i7 4790k do the job? Does anyone know which systems ESL or Intel Extreme Masters use?
I see streams too and they dont seem to hit the lows I get.
Also do you think that getting a z97 board will be good for future use as in maybe getting an i5 now and then a 5th Gen i7 later?

Thanks and also I wish this site would post per cpu when reviewing a GPU.
plus SC2 sometimes! haha!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-04-2014, 01:43 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Get a 4690K. If it only relies on 2 cores, the 4790K will have no benefit over the 4690K speed wise. I know getting a Z97 board guarantees you the ability to upgrade to broadwell cpus. I'm not sure if the Z87's will.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-04-2014, 03:45 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

Well I am definitely not going to pass up paying only 100 more for an i7, maybe if anything go for the i7 4770k but still those are only a few dollars difference at newegg.
Only thing I know for sure is that AMD has to step up its game. I had the fx 60 chip back in the day and it was awesome. Since then they havent done anything that takes on Intel as a whole. Maybe if they did then we would have better prices.
Oh well, cant wait to get the CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-04-2014, 04:56 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Nah, if you're gonna go i7, get the 4790K. Especially if you're going to overclock. If you aren't 4770K is fine.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 08-04-2014, 09:59 | posts: 4,543 | Location: Israel

4690 should be more than enough. amd cpu perform very bad at sc2, but then again as someone who plays good amount of hots, when u play team games and everyone reach cap game will be slow, no matter what you have. the engine is poorly optimized ever since.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Sir Galahad
Master Guru
 
Sir Galahad's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: i5 4690K 4.4GHz 1.2v H110
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1+t40 series2
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-04-2014, 15:06 | posts: 323 | Location: England

Frankly if all you're going to be doing is play SC2 then save yourself a small fortune and buy a Pentium g3258 and overclock the hell out of it!

If you're going to be playing other games as well get a i5 4690K.

There are cheaper ways of getting high frame rates in SC2.

If you already have a decent 775 motherboard getting an old E8500 or E8600 and getting it above 4.0GHz is probably the cheapest.

As good 775 motherboards are so expensive if you don't already have one, then a dual core Westmere like the i3 550 will be just the thing. Even on budget and midrange boards you can get 4.2Ghz out of them.

Last edited by Sir Galahad; 08-04-2014 at 17:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
saberwolf
Member Guru
 
saberwolf's Avatar
 
Videocard: TRI-X R9 290x
Processor: Intel(R)Core(TM) I7-4777K
Mainboard: SABERTOOTH Z87
Memory: COSAIR DOM/16 GB @1866
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 watt
Default 08-05-2014, 13:13 | posts: 122 | Location: N.Y.C.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Galahad View Post
Frankly if all you're going to be doing is play SC2 then save yourself a small fortune and buy a Pentium g3258 and overclock the hell out of it!
I agree!

Really!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-07-2014, 07:00 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

Thanks all! I ordered the i5 4690k. I play a lot of sc2 but I also play others like titanfall and bf4.
My AmD CPU now just can't work with modern games and older single threaded. I did some research and they all suggest that the i7 4790 won't be that much benefit over the i5.
But still thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 08-07-2014, 08:08 | posts: 24,250 | Location: NZ

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/CPU/129
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-07-2014, 18:03 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

I still have the hyper 212 plus. Will it work on LGA 1150? Or do I need the evo version?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-08-2014, 02:31 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbruceli View Post
I still have the hyper 212 plus. Will it work on LGA 1150? Or do I need the evo version?
On the newegg listing it says 1156 and 1155 so, it'll fit the 1150 if this is the correct listing. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835103065
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-08-2014, 03:18 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

Yes thats it, how is your i7 4790? what did you come from and was it a decent difference in performance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-08-2014, 04:54 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetbruceli View Post
Yes thats it, how is your i7 4790? what did you come from and was it a decent difference in performance
I came from a Q6600 @3Ghz. I haven't had time to play with the clocks/memory timings on my rig yet but it's like a rocket compared to the old rig. I'm sure the SSD makes that even more apparent. Last thing on my to do list is an 870 or I might go red if they don't impress.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-09-2014, 01:35 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

I have a 270x gigabyte OC version and its amazing coming from a gtx 470. Its the reason I am upgrading the cpu too. I find the cpu holding back the GPU which I never thought could be possible with a 6 core.
I have been reading and reading. The Interl chips straight dominate AMD in everything. Buck for buck too.
I was looking at the FX 9590 for 300 and its performing in 98% of test at the level of the i5 4670k.
OH well, have fun and enjoy!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
MOAB
Newbie
 
MOAB's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 7950
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper M3
Memory: Avexir Blitz 1.1 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM Silent Pro M2 850W
Default 08-09-2014, 01:39 | posts: 33 | Location: Manila

wow you just got an overkill system for that game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Sir Galahad
Master Guru
 
Sir Galahad's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: i5 4690K 4.4GHz 1.2v H110
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1+t40 series2
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-09-2014, 20:01 | posts: 323 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoter man1 View Post
it's like a rocket compared to the old rig. I'm sure the SSD makes that even more apparent.
When it comes to loading programmes, I really haven't noticed any change in speed from my old rig, which was a Q9650 @ 4.0GHz with an SSD on sata 2.

I'm sure even if you paired a Pentium 4 with an SSD you'd still have pretty snappy desktop performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-10-2014, 02:40 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Galahad View Post
When it comes to loading programmes, I really haven't noticed any change in speed from my old rig, which was a Q9650 @ 4.0GHz with an SSD on sata 2.

I'm sure even if you paired a Pentium 4 with an SSD you'd still have pretty snappy desktop performance.
Might be true, but it was struggling even having a 1080p youtube video up. I have no idea why, but it was actually topping out. Still, it's faster in many ways than my old rig. There's no denying it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Sir Galahad
Master Guru
 
Sir Galahad's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 SC ACX
Processor: i5 4690K 4.4GHz 1.2v H110
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VII Ranger
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengence Pro
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1+t40 series2
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 08-11-2014, 00:08 | posts: 323 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoter man1 View Post
Might be true, but it was struggling even having a 1080p youtube video up. I have no idea why, but it was actually topping out. Still, it's faster in many ways than my old rig. There's no denying it.


Up until 2 years ago I was using a Pentium 4 661 in my 3rd PC, and that ran everyday things just as fast as my I5 does now.

Games are another matter entirely but web browsers and word documents just don't need that much CPU power. If your old PC was running youtube slowly then the fault was somewhere else in your hardware or software.

Anyway, if you're pleased with your new build that's all that matters.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
scoter man1
Ancient Guru
 
scoter man1's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570/Korean 1440p
Processor: Intel Core i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark1
Memory: GSkill Trident X 2x4GB
Soundcard: Onboard/Superlux HD660
PSU: XIGMATEK 750w
Default 08-11-2014, 02:57 | posts: 4,281 | Location: MI, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Galahad View Post
Up until 2 years ago I was using a Pentium 4 661 in my 3rd PC, and that ran everyday things just as fast as my I5 does now.

Games are another matter entirely but web browsers and word documents just don't need that much CPU power. If your old PC was running youtube slowly then the fault was somewhere else in your hardware or software.

Anyway, if you're pleased with your new build that's all that matters.
The rig turned out really nice, I was gonna post pictures but my previous hard drive died when I was changing out rigs so I never got around to doing before and after (lazy as hell this summer )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
jetbruceli
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphire 280X Dual X 3GB
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
Memory: DDR3 8GB GSkillz
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 08-25-2014, 22:58 | posts: 20 | Location: Germany

Hey all,
Finally got it and man, this i7 is awesome. I might be overreacting getting an i7 over the previous x6 but damn, this thing just rockets when it needs to!
In SC2 it wont go below 44 FPS. Like wow! Coming from going down to 15 FPS.
Second, in Cinebench 15, the x6 1055t OC'd to 3.5 would get at most 610 and this i7 4790k at stock gets 790.
So all this for SC2? Yeah maybe at the heart but atleast I know that I wont have anymore issues.
The AMD would always have these wierd frame drops and so far the intel doesnt!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
moab600
Ancient Guru
 
moab600's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 AMP 1267/7300MHZ
Processor: Core I7 4790K 4.6GHZ DC
Mainboard: Asus Z97 PRO 1204
Memory: 8GB DDRIII 1866MHZ
Soundcard: Asus Xonar STX II Z906
PSU: SeaSonic M12II 650W 85+Br
Default 08-25-2014, 23:34 | posts: 4,543 | Location: Israel

AMD cpu perform far worse when u need real cpu power, i had Phenom II 955 back in 2009 till 2012, and the performance were kinda mediocre. while the FX8350 are ok they still lag in single and mixed threaded apps.

Intel core series are the best ever since they been launched, so yeah u got awesome cpu.
As for SC2, the more the game goes the LESS resources it uses, stupid 12 years old engine that can't utilize two threades
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, cpu, starcraft 2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.