Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD 14.4 issues
Old
  (#1)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Unhappy AMD 14.4 issues - 08-03-2014, 18:11 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

I have a serious problem. A few weeks ago, a program I was using recommended me to install the latest AMD display drivers. Realizing mine were indeed outdated, I obeyed. I installed 14.4.

Since then, I experienced regular blue screens of death. Every few hours or so, entirely randomly (on Facebook, and Youtube expecially). Naturally, I blamed the driver. This suspicion was comfirmed after my lastest BSOD earlier today. I had just rebooted, and got the message that my AMD driver was malfunctioning. So I tried installing 14.4 again.

No effect. Worse actually, because now my computer claimed no drivers were installed at all (or they were functioning badly, again)! I installed driver sweeper, and nuked the living bejeezus out of everything AMD-related. Then I did a clean install of 14.4. Again, no dice. The installer said everything was fine and dandy, but at the same time my computer claims no drivers are installed.

I'm at a dead end here, guys. Help?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
weah
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
Processor: Intel I7 860 @2.8GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Coolmaster M700
Default 08-03-2014, 18:35 | posts: 116

Driver Sweeper is really obsolete and for this reason it's dangerous with latest AMD drivers. You need to try Display Driver Uninstaller. It is regularly maintained.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-03-2014, 18:58 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by weah View Post
Driver Sweeper is really obsolete and for this reason it's dangerous with latest AMD drivers. You need to try Display Driver Uninstaller. It is regularly maintained.
Oh, yes, that's what I meant. I was under the impression DDU is simply the modern version of driver sweeper.

But anyway, I doubt DDU was the problem here...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-03-2014, 19:11 | posts: 7,170 | Location: 127.0.0.1

DDU is not driver sweeper, and is the recommended driver removal app
http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

BSODs could be through hardware acceleration of flash player, right click a flash video and goto settings > disable HWA



Last edited by Extraordinary; 08-03-2014 at 19:26.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-03-2014, 19:26 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
DDU is not driver sweeper, and is the recommended driver removal app.

BSODs could be through hardware acceleration of flash player, right click a flash video and goto settings > disable HWA
I used DDU.

And as stated in the OP, the blue screening is no longer the problem (not to mention it happened in non-flash applications like Facebook and while browsing through folders... All "coincidentally" right after installing 1.14).

The problem atm is that I can't install the display drivers, while the installer of said driver keeps saying it installed fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-03-2014, 19:32 | posts: 7,170 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Have you bothered trying different drivers other than 14.4 ?

Generally when drivers cause problems, people roll back to the ones that were working, or try a different version
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-03-2014, 23:17 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Have you bothered trying different drivers other than 14.4 ?

Generally when drivers cause problems, people roll back to the ones that were working, or try a different version
I don't know where to find older drivers. The official site only offers the lastest/betas from future drivers.

Tried the beta from the next version, by the way. Didn't work either.

I did see something interesting last time I tried installing 14.4 though... I got this message before installing:

I wish I could post the screenshot, but the forum won't let me. Would make things too easy I suppose. The message said "current version not installed. AMD CIM installation package."

Last edited by MentalParadox; 08-03-2014 at 23:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MerolaC
Maha Guru
 
MerolaC's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7970 OC 3Gb
Processor: i5 3770k@H60
Mainboard: AsRock Z77 Pro3
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 1866 8GB
Soundcard: C-SB-Titanium HD PCI-E
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty G.G. - 750w
Default 08-03-2014, 23:21 | posts: 2,325 | Location: Argentina

Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalParadox View Post
I don't know where to find older drivers. The official site only offers the lastest/betas from future drivers.

Tried the beta from the next version, by the way. Didn't work either.

I did see something interesting last time I tried installing 14.4 though... I got this message before installing:

I wish I could post the screenshot, but the forum won't let me. Would make things too easy I suppose. The message said "current version not installed. AMD CIM installation package."
Current and older drivers.
http://www.guru3d.com/files-categori...sta-win-7.html

13.12
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-03-2014, 23:39 | posts: 4,061 | Location: Australia

Try 14.7 RC1 (9 July).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-03-2014, 23:46 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Oh my, I didn't know you could download drivers on this site! Sorry, I'm new =)

Okay, nuking my driver again and installing the older ones. I'll report results soon ;-)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-03-2014, 23:51 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Try 14.7 RC1 (9 July).
Tried it already, didn't work sadly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Elite3540
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4690K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: HyperX Predator 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Logitech Speakers Z313
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 08-04-2014, 08:59 | posts: 580 | Location: Belgium

Try:

13.12
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/...-download.html

It has been said this is the most 'stable' driver up-to-date.

(Thanks MerolaC for the links, I didn't know this too! )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Baldassano
Member Guru
 
Baldassano's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 680 CLASSIFIED
Processor: Intel Cote i7-3770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68x-ud7-b3
Memory: 32 GSkill RipJaws-X
Soundcard: X-Fi Falil1ty Gamer
PSU: PC P&C TurboCool 1200 ESA
Default 08-04-2014, 16:13 | posts: 133 | Location: Lindenhurst, NY

I have had HORRIBLE issues with the AMD 14.X series on my Radeon 7880 here at work. Issues from not waking up from sleep (this morning), which if i leave it will wind up BSOD'ing on that ATIMAGblah blah.sys file, or Random BSOD's out of no where. I have a tri-monitor setup, using active MDP to DVI dongles. (Card has 6 Mini DP ports). Its VERY enfuriating. This has been the only card i have ever actually goner to the manufacturer site and reported driver issues.. TWICE. Nvidia's driver team is heads over heels better then AMD's..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
yelsewshane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire VaporX 290
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z79
Memory: Corsair 16gb ddr3
Soundcard: Yamaha Receiver 4/8 1/12
PSU: corsair 850
Default 08-04-2014, 18:14 | posts: 1,576

follow these steps.

1. download 14.4 from amd site and save to hard drive
2. open control panel go to device manager and uninstall graphics card driver.
3. restart computer into safe mode can do this pressing f8 upon computer startup
4. make sure in device manager amd display driver is gone and in the program and program files x86 folder on root of c drive delete all amd folders.
5. restart computer into normal windows
6. Install amd 14.4 drivers when it ask to install or delete all previous files choose to delete all
7. system will reboot
8. install amd 14.4 drivers again and this time choose to install drivers
9. after install of drivers restart computer and all should be good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-04-2014, 18:50 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Nope, nothing worked. Tried 13.12, failed just as miserably as the 14.7 beta or 14.4 did.

The Catalyst install manager isn't even done congratulating me yet on my 100% successful install, or windows starts crying again it has no video card drivers.

I followed all steps of above poster to the letter.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 08-04-2014, 19:24 | posts: 2,448 | Location: USA

what is your motherboard make/model?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-04-2014, 19:33 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Wish I knew. But this is the computer (OEM): HP Pavilion HPE h8-1050be.
I'd post the link, but the site won't let me.

I already tried installing the original drivers of the device from HP, but that had the same result:

Installer: "Installation success!" => Windows: "No drivers!"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 08-04-2014, 20:09 | posts: 1,513

Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalParadox View Post
Wish I knew. But this is the computer (OEM): HP Pavilion HPE h8-1050be.
I'd post the link, but the site won't let me.

I already tried installing the original drivers of the device from HP, but that had the same result:

Installer: "Installation success!" => Windows: "No drivers!"
Can you go to the device manage and check what is the error that showing on the graphic card device?
And also the Hardware ID.

BTW, you can just post 2 more posts to 10 posts total, then you can start posting link or picture.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 08-04-2014, 20:17 | posts: 2,448 | Location: USA

Its says Radeon 6800, what is the xact make/model of the GPU?

edit:nm says 6850.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-04-2014, 20:32 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenYeeHua View Post
Can you go to the device manage and check what is the error that showing on the graphic card device?
And also the Hardware ID.

BTW, you can just post 2 more posts to 10 posts total, then you can start posting link or picture.
Predictably, it has a yellow callout mark - meaning "no drivers".
The message is (translated from Dutch): "can't start device because configuration data in register is incomplete or damaged".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 08-05-2014, 01:23 | posts: 1,513

You should just tell the error code, as it always don't care about which language the windows is.
----
Back to topic.
It should be Code 19, and you make sure you are reading graphic driver, not USB or CD/DVD rom, right?

Based on the information on Internet, it is because some driver has using UpperFilters or LowerFilters to control the graphic card, normally you can just remove it to fix it.
Try this one, and remember to backup the registry before you do this.
http://www.megaleecher.net/Solution_..._Error_Code_19

And also, if this is fixed by using this ways, I will recommend that you PM the dev of the DDU, or just post to the DDU's thread, so that he can take a look on your case, and improve the cleanup too.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379505

PS:It may be some software just somehow putting the filters to the wrong device again and again.
---
And ya, yellow ! don't always means there is no driver, but there is a error with the device or driver config or driver.
Except the information of the error tell you that it is no driver like Code 28 or 31 etc. , then it is better to post about this information too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-05-2014, 14:12 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenYeeHua View Post
You should just tell the error code, as it always don't care about which language the windows is.
----
Back to topic.
It should be Code 19, and you make sure you are reading graphic driver, not USB or CD/DVD rom, right?

Based on the information on Internet, it is because some driver has using UpperFilters or LowerFilters to control the graphic card, normally you can just remove it to fix it.
Try this one, and remember to backup the registry before you do this.

And also, if this is fixed by using this ways, I will recommend that you PM the dev of the DDU, or just post to the DDU's thread, so that he can take a look on your case, and improve the cleanup too.

PS:It may be some software just somehow putting the filters to the wrong device again and again.
---
And ya, yellow ! don't always means there is no driver, but there is a error with the device or driver config or driver.
Except the information of the error tell you that it is no driver like Code 28 or 31 etc. , then it is better to post about this information too.
Yup, It's a code 19.
Also, last time I checked, the Radeon HD 6850 is a graphics card, and AMD Catalyst are drivers for those. ;-)

I'm currently working on the steps you linked to me, I'll report back when I have news!

Here's a pic that describes my problem quite well.


Last edited by MentalParadox; 08-05-2014 at 14:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-05-2014, 15:08 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

BenYeeHua, you're my hero. The steps descibed in that megaleecher thread fixed my problem!

But there's more. I'm not sure you know what the Oculus Rift is, but I recently received my DK2 prototype. When messing around in the registry, I noticed I did not have a "LowerFilter" at all, and the "UpperFilter" one had an additional line of description... it said "RiftEnabler".

RiftEnabler must refer to the Oculus Runtime, the drivers for the Rift if you will. Could those drivers have overwritten something GPU related, and accidentally temporarily bricked my GPU?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 08-05-2014, 16:52 | posts: 1,513

Quote:
Originally Posted by MentalParadox View Post
BenYeeHua, you're my hero. The steps descibed in that megaleecher thread fixed my problem!

But there's more. I'm not sure you know what the Oculus Rift is, but I recently received my DK2 prototype. When messing around in the registry, I noticed I did not have a "LowerFilter" at all, and the "UpperFilter" one had an additional line of description... it said "RiftEnabler".

RiftEnabler must refer to the Oculus Runtime, the drivers for the Rift if you will. Could those drivers have overwritten something GPU related, and accidentally temporarily bricked my GPU?
Or cause I know.

For the Filter, it is for this.
Quote:
Upper filter drivers go between the operating system and the main driver, and lower filter drivers go between the main driver and the hardware.
Quote:
Upper filters are drivers that handles/filters device access-requests from application prior passing them to the main device driver. The lower filters are drivers that handles/filters device access-requests from main device driver prior passing them to kernel driver.
And thank for the sharing, I will post about this on DDU threads and see did anything DDU can do about this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
MentalParadox
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 6800
Processor: Intel i7-2600@3.40Ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 16 GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: ?
Default 08-05-2014, 17:24 | posts: 20 | Location: Wijnegem, Belgium

Ok, bad news. Drivers appear fine, but my computer keeps blue screening every few hours. Windows simply states the graphics card and the driver "stopped working", but not why. I find this weird as I've tried a million different drivers at this point and everything looks fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.