Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
BF4 GPU Usage drops SLI
Old
  (#1)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default BF4 GPU Usage drops SLI - 08-03-2014, 10:36 | posts: 28

hi,

i got a strange Problem with Battlefield 4.

All run's perfect and then bammm, Usage Drop on both Cards from 95% to 19% and back!

Memory Usage is 1826MB Ultra Settings. I'am running 337,88 Driver! I don't know what to do. I change some Settings with Nvidia Inspector but didn't changed much.

What can i do? Someone else got this Issue?

System:
i7 3770k (4,3ghz)
8 GB RAM
2x GTX 670
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BUFDUP
Master Guru
 
BUFDUP's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 770L SLI H2O 1440p
Processor: 3930k @ 4.6Ghz H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Corsair Ven 32GB 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZX
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-03-2014, 11:08 | posts: 211 | Location: Sydney, Australia

are u really using 550 watt psu to power and i7 and 2 670's?

minimum for 1 x 670 is 500watt.

Maybe thats causing ur problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 11:09 | posts: 28

That PSU handled 2x HD4890 without any Problems

Under full Load, the System needs 440Watts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 08-03-2014, 11:11 | posts: 1,492

But, PSU will be aging and reducing the power output and stability too.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
BUFDUP
Master Guru
 
BUFDUP's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 770L SLI H2O 1440p
Processor: 3930k @ 4.6Ghz H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Corsair Ven 32GB 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZX
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-03-2014, 11:13 | posts: 211 | Location: Sydney, Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenYeeHua View Post
But, PSU will be aging and reducing the power output and stability too.
especially when ur prolly maxing it out with that setup
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 11:50 | posts: 28

It isn't the PSU Core Voltage usw... all are stable.. Power Supply can handle it. Allreaddy tested it out it must be other Thing that does stutters
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
EdKiefer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 660ti PE
Processor: 3570k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-03-2014, 12:36 | posts: 481

When usage goes down does fps lower or it able to keep up ?

If yes, try giving BF4 higher settings , and 4x FSAA and in Nvidia control panel give BF4 max performance .
See if any of those changes anything .

Your PSU is small for 2 670 , I assume nothing is OC in system ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 12:46 | posts: 28

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
When usage goes down does fps lower or it able to keep up ?

If yes, try giving BF4 higher settings , and 4x FSAA and in Nvidia control panel give BF4 max performance .
See if any of those changes anything .

Your PSU is small for 2 670 , I assume nothing is OC in system ?

Usage down = lower FPS

Only i7 3770k Turbo is set to 4,3ghz. Other Hardware is stock Clocked
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil 16GB 1866mhz
Soundcard: Essence STX II/G4ME One
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-03-2014, 13:36 | posts: 1,339 | Location: Australia, QLD

The turbo setting is an overclock... also quality of the PSU comes into play here, not just wattage. Things have probably degraded over time pushing it, if its old. I reckon she'd blow a gasket if you loaded up Crysis 3 at max settings and ran that for an hour.

Last edited by drac; 08-03-2014 at 13:39.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
EdKiefer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 660ti PE
Processor: 3570k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-03-2014, 13:40 | posts: 481

try setting in BF4 game profile power management to max performance .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 13:50 | posts: 28

many other Players say, after the new DLC "Dragon Teeth" it's stuttering.

Seem's so i'am not the only one. And once again PSU handle it easy. Enough Power on 12V Rail.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-03-2014, 15:48 | posts: 18,269 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I think it's your psu too.
408 watts on the 12v rail.
Released in 2009. How old is your unit?
http://www.anandtech.com/show/2724/2
Effectively its a 408 watt unit.

Last edited by ---TK---; 08-03-2014 at 15:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 08-03-2014, 16:51 | posts: 5,632 | Location: PA, USA

Definitely the PSU 2x HD 4890 and 2x HD GTX 670's is a bit different.

OC'd cpu, all the components.

The power will spike past your max. You need Headroom and a healthy current. Get a Gold rated 750watt (or similar wattage) from a reputable brand.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 17:04 | posts: 28

I've never noticed some PSU related Issue's. And if the PSU can't handle the Graphiccards, the PC would go out.... and dont throttle anything

Can a small PSU throttle a Graphiccard. It's only 1 Sec if it stutters.

But you can show me a good PSU^^

Last edited by kl0br1ll3; 08-03-2014 at 17:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-03-2014, 17:25 | posts: 18,269 | Location: New Jersey, USA

http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?itemnumber=17-151-087
It a mobile link not sure if it will work for pc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-03-2014, 17:34 | posts: 28

Quote:
Running with an inadequate PSU can cause all kinds of problems, including overheating and power supply failure. But except in extremely rare cases, it will never cause performance problems. If the power supply cannot supply as much power as the computer draws, the power supply will simply fail and the computer will shut off or crash.

There is no mechanism to detect that the power supply is having trouble other than it failing. So the computer will keep running at full speed, having no idea the power supply is stretched to the breaking point. The power supply will then either fail or it won't.
read
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
heymian
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 FTW
Processor: Intel i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.Skill 2133 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar ST
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 08-03-2014, 19:28 | posts: 513 | Location: U.S.

It's your PSU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
EdKiefer
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 660ti PE
Processor: 3570k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 08-03-2014, 21:08 | posts: 481

While that quote is generally right, it is not absolute .
When did this problem pop up and is it only one game ?

Nvidia recommends 550w for single card like yours .

What happens if you disable SLI, run one enabled card , did you try other drivers .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
mr1hm
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 670 2GB SLI
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.6
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Extreme
Memory: Samsung 8GB @ 2400 CL10
Soundcard: Focusrite Forte
PSU: CM V700 80+ Gold
Default 08-03-2014, 22:46 | posts: 42

hmm, i'm on a similar setup except for PSU i'm using a CM V700.

i do have some stuttering here and there and it seems to be isolated to the Pearl Market map. no GPU usage drops here though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Prophet
Master Guru
 
Prophet's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
Processor: Intel Sb@4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68V Progen3
Memory: 12 Gb Kingston
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX|Akg k701
PSU: Corsair 1200w
Default 08-03-2014, 23:08 | posts: 563 | Location: Heaven

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&s...e+Search&gbv=1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BUFDUP
Master Guru
 
BUFDUP's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 770L SLI H2O 1440p
Processor: 3930k @ 4.6Ghz H2O
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Corsair Ven 32GB 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZX
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 08-04-2014, 01:06 | posts: 211 | Location: Sydney, Australia

we all think its ur PSU. have u got a friend who has 700w + u can borrow and use to see if the problems still occur?

Last edited by BUFDUP; 08-04-2014 at 01:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
kl0br1ll3
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Windforce 670
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65 Gaming
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Artic Cooling 550R
Default 08-04-2014, 05:22 | posts: 28

Now, i bought a new One. 750 Watts Gold.

If the Problem stay's i send it back ... or not
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
fantaskarsef
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 580LightningXE@stock
Processor: i7-950@3,2
Mainboard: MSI X58Pro-E
Memory: KingstonValue3x2GB@1.1GHz
Soundcard: onboard...
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum 660
Default 08-04-2014, 06:01 | posts: 529 | Location: Austria

Probably your psu. If not, it may be driver related.
As for BF4, haven't noticed a real change since Dragon's Teeth, except so many more unbalanced weapons
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
hnizdo
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x GB GTX670 WF SLI
Processor: i7-3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 2x8GB Cor.Veng. CL10 1600
Soundcard: ALC898, DTS-C. Log. Z5500
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 860W
Default 08-04-2014, 14:21 | posts: 42

Guys, I am electro design engineer.

Switching power supply has undervoltage and overload protection, natural or additional. I case of both limits it will shut down or break.

PSU or its limiters can be faulty, so it can provide voltage outside specified norm, or ripple outside of specified norm, long term or short term (miliseconds).
In both cases computer become unstable or it will most likely shut down (motherboards have voltage controllers too).

In no case, IN NO CASE, can insufficient voltage or high ripple cause lower computing power of any of pc components. Its s myth and technical nonsense. Its digital equipment, not tube audio amplifier.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
fantaskarsef
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 580LightningXE@stock
Processor: i7-950@3,2
Mainboard: MSI X58Pro-E
Memory: KingstonValue3x2GB@1.1GHz
Soundcard: onboard...
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum 660
Default 08-04-2014, 15:01 | posts: 529 | Location: Austria

Quote:
Originally Posted by hnizdo View Post
Guys, I am electro design engineer.

Switching power supply has undervoltage and overload protection, natural or additional. I case of both limits it will shut down or break.

PSU or its limiters can be faulty, so it can provide voltage outside specified norm, or ripple outside of specified norm, long term or short term (miliseconds).
In both cases computer become unstable or it will most likely shut down (motherboards have voltage controllers too).

In no case, IN NO CASE, can insufficient voltage or high ripple cause lower computing power of any of pc components. Its s myth and technical nonsense. Its digital equipment, not tube audio amplifier.
I'd laugh it still would work with the new psu... regardless of that, what do you think it is? Any additions on the topic?

Also I'm wondering, what are the op's temps? Maybe thermal throttling due to 95% gpu usage? Or a broken sli profile (which would mean driver)?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.