Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My motherboards on fire
Old
  (#1)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default My motherboards on fire - 08-01-2014, 23:02 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

RIP
2011-04-11 --- 2014-08-01





More pics here: http://imgur.com/a/YasPa

Last edited by Öhr; 08-02-2014 at 14:29.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-01-2014, 23:05 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

RIP

On the bright side, your house didn't go up with it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-01-2014, 23:10 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

sure smells like it though...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 08-01-2014, 23:12 | posts: 18,714 | Location: New Jersey, USA

My mb is over 3 years old. Hate to see it taking out my components.
RIP.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-01-2014, 23:15 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

question is, how do i test the remaining components? hdds should be safe. gpu and cpu might have been damaged as well as my PSU. sound card (the one in the pick) is probably toast...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 08-01-2014, 23:27 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Öhr View Post
question is, how do i test the remaining components?
You'd have to put them in another working machine, or get another board and rebuild

Sure there ought to be some sort of claim you could make, out of warranty is one thing, almost killing an entire family is another
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-01-2014, 23:30 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

if i hadnt had a smoke alarm (and someone with a keen nose), it might have turned out real bad. by the time i flipped the switch, the pc was actually still running - no visuals though, so probably frozen or gpu dead already...

Last edited by Öhr; 08-01-2014 at 23:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 08-01-2014, 23:58 | posts: 4,900 | Location: London

Sad times. Happened to one of my old boards, once. Gigabyte GA-7NNXP, SATA controller fried and took the CPU with it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-02-2014, 00:40 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Sad times. Happened to one of my old boards, once. Gigabyte GA-7NNXP, SATA controller fried and took the CPU with it.
just calculated the potential money that i have to put in there (not counting those with warranty), and it should come down to about 600€, though I really dont wanna replace anything yet:
my 2600K was perfectly fine and running awesomely fast and cool
my gtx480 I was gonna replace once the 800 series is out, but its not quite here yet
my RAM is plenty and fast enough for everything i throw at it
my mobo is toast. okay, that i srsly have to replace

hopefully, all my drives survived!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
maize1951
Member Guru
 
maize1951's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660 Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel i5-3570 3.4 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Creative FATAL1TY recon
PSU: CORSAIR 750 watt modular
Default 08-02-2014, 01:18 | posts: 75 | Location: Belmont, Michigan

Is that cobwebs I see on that switch? That dust MAY be the probable motherboard murder weapon. The next motherboard you buy you may want to use canned air more often.

Last edited by maize1951; 08-02-2014 at 01:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-02-2014, 01:31 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

not cobweb no, just some dust. also its mostly the lighting that makes the accumulated dust that visible. its really not much on there.

also, i use dust filters, but even they arent perfect
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
maize1951
Member Guru
 
maize1951's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660 Ti 3GB
Processor: Intel i5-3570 3.4 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Creative FATAL1TY recon
PSU: CORSAIR 750 watt modular
Default 08-02-2014, 01:56 | posts: 75 | Location: Belmont, Michigan

Kind of reminds me when I had my central air conditioner first installed, an spider soon set up house in the outdoor controls in the condenser unit and got between the contacts in the relay, sure enough the outside unit wouldn't start and when the service tech came to fix it (under warranty) he started laughing his ass of, I asked him what was so funny and that's when he showed me the dead spider between the contacts of the relay (he did replace the relay with an improved relay that was sealed).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-02-2014, 02:30 | posts: 4,032 | Location: Australia

Where exactly on the board does it appear to have originated from? Even though it's the board that copped the damaged it could have been caused by something else. For instance, a faulty PSU can do that to a motherboard, likewise a faulty GPU could, maybe, cause that. If there's a short on the PSU that causes a cross between the PCI-E power connectors and the motherboard supplied power, I don't see this out of the realms of possibility.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 08-02-2014, 02:37 | posts: 1,642 | Location: Pennsylvania

Damn man that sucks. I never seen that happen before. I hope that you get another rig back up and running.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X
Processor: i5 @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: -
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 08-02-2014, 10:01 | posts: 4,264 | Location: Serbia, NS

Happened to me to my old MSI P35 Neo3 due agressive overclock.

RIP.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Keitosha
Ancient Guru
 
Keitosha's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 270X 2GB
Processor: FX-8350 + Mugen 4 PCGH
Mainboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme3
Memory: 32GB Kingston 4x8GB
Soundcard: SB Z/SH HD477/TX-NR626
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 08-02-2014, 10:22 | posts: 4,541 | Location: Netherlands

I feel sad for that SB Z. But now you have an excuse to upgrade. Playing with new hardware is always fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 08-02-2014, 10:37 | posts: 10,547 | Location: United kingdom

Just WOW!
I never seen that before.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 980 SC & GTX 770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 08-02-2014, 10:49 | posts: 421 | Location: Belgium

Indeed same as Veteran said never seen that before,maybe you can find a cheap second hand p67 or z68 board just to test if the 2600k still works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ Stock
Processor: 980X @ 4 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1866 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 08-02-2014, 11:12 | posts: 4,900 | Location: London

There is a chance your CPU, RAM and GFX card MIGHT still be alive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7770 [1100/1300]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 08-02-2014, 12:57 | posts: 1,332 | Location: Portugal

OP, did you abuse on them volts? One time i put 2v on a ddr2 memory and right after saving settings all i hear was a few pops, burning smell and lots of smoke coming from the ventilation on the top of the case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 08-02-2014, 13:29 | posts: 4,032 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewieTech View Post
OP, did you abuse on them volts? One time i put 2v on a ddr2 memory and right after saving settings all i hear was a few pops, burning smell and lots of smoke coming from the ventilation on the top of the case.
Really? 2 Volts on DDR2 isn't excessive. In fact, many modules required 2.1 V or even higher to work at the stated speed. Even default RAM at 1.8 V should have handled that okay. No doubt the issue was that your motherboard had a faulty capacitor anyway, and the 2 V just pushed it across the line a bit sooner.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-02-2014, 14:24 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

nothing was overvolted on my system except the cpu dynamically, depending on the load (managed by the mobo itself). as for overclocking, it was again only my cpu that received a speedboost. everything else was stable and pretty well cooled.

again, the system did not change in the last four months and caught on fire while idling alone in my room. how this happened, i got no clue.

also, here is the whole collection of all the pictures I took. i also cleaned the burned plastic partially: below it are the copper circuits of the mobo that warped, broke and peeled off the board due to the heat: http://imgur.com/a/YasPa#0

high res ****fest
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD7770 [1100/1300]
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 08-02-2014, 15:11 | posts: 1,332 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Really? 2 Volts on DDR2 isn't excessive. In fact, many modules required 2.1 V or even higher to work at the stated speed. Even default RAM at 1.8 V should have handled that okay. No doubt the issue was that your motherboard had a faulty capacitor anyway, and the 2 V just pushed it across the line a bit sooner.
Dunno, i think it was 2v if i remember. What i know is that it burned the memory modules on the two sticks and the slots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
haz_mat
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x ASUS 7850 2GB - CFX
Processor: 3770K @ 4.5 + H110
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-D3H rev1.1
Memory: 2x8GB Mushkin 1866 CL9 1T
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z + ATH-M50
PSU: Seasonic 750w
Default 08-02-2014, 22:23 | posts: 56 | Location: Socal

Much of the damage there seems to be centered around the part of the pcie slot that provides power. The connector on the sound card shows this as well, as all the pins before the key notch are fried but the data pins after the notch are clean. Have you taken a closer look at the sound card under the RF shield?

Maybe its possible that something shorted on the sound card and put a very large current load on the motherboard. It could also have been a defect in the motherboard and was just a matter of time before something shorted a 12v line to a ground plane and poof. Either way, I probably wouldn't put that sound card into another system - who knows what might happen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Öhr
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel 2600k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Professional-M
Memory: 4x 4GB DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Realtek ALC899
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 08-02-2014, 22:59 | posts: 198 | Location: Germany

i did take off the red shield of the card, but the card looks like brand new. nothing burst or burned on there, which I also thought was strange. Ill send the card in to creative, still have warranty for that one at least.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.