Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
WD 6TB Red WD60EFRX, anyone have them?
Old
  (#1)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default WD 6TB Red WD60EFRX, anyone have them? - 07-28-2014, 18:18 | posts: 846

Looking to replace both my 2GB Seagate non NAS ST2000DM001 drives in my 2 bay Synology DS212+ as they are just RAID 0 @ 4GB and want to use Raid 1 for data protection. Want to permanently archive stuff off my system and free up some storage.

Can only use RAID 1 (only 2 bays) so would like a pair of 6TB NAS drives and wondered if the 6TB Reds are recommended! Obviously one drive is for mirroring and the other for data, so need drives suited to NAS use. Seagate have their 6TB Enterprise drives but cost twice as much as the Reds (400) so obviously the Reds are the preferred option for home use.

Anadtech has a review but seem they had one fail, which looks to be the same problem the 4TB Reds suffered from, oh dear, that's muddied the water!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 07-28-2014, 20:05 | posts: 5,510 | Location: Belgium

Still haven't found one either for sale around here (6TB drives, except that insanely expensive helium one).

My Seagate 4TB is still doing fine though (Always test your HDD's, even if new, before putting anything on it tbh).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-28-2014, 20:16 | posts: 3,069 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corrupt^ View Post
Still haven't found one either for sale around here (6TB drives, except that insanely expensive helium one).

My Seagate 4TB is still doing fine though (Always test your HDD's, even if new, before putting anything on it tbh).
Yes lot of drives die, because they was mishandled at either the retailer or by the courier.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 07-28-2014, 20:41 | posts: 13,795 | Location: USA

What Issues are they suffering from? This is news to me. I've been using the 4TB Red drives in a raid 10 array for almost a year without any issues and I plan to upgrade to the 6TB versions once they come out.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mjw
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX660Ti 2GB SC
Processor: Intel Core i5 4690K
Mainboard: ASUS Max_Gene VII [Z97]
Memory: Corsair V LP 16GB 2133MHz
Soundcard: nV HDMI Sony STR-DN1030
PSU: be quiet! DP 550W 80+Gold
Default 07-28-2014, 20:54 | posts: 163

Waiting on the 6tb greens to come into stock. Was waiting for the Seagate 5tb's but still no stock in the UK. Seagate can now suck my balls
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-28-2014, 21:06 | posts: 3,069 | Location: Sheffield UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
What Issues are they suffering from? This is news to me. I've been using the 4TB Red drives in a raid 10 array for almost a year without any issues and I plan to upgrade to the 6TB versions once they come out.
They was a spout of DOA red drives, caused by newegg workers mishandling them during packing process etc


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
nizzen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 780ti classy SLI
Processor: 4960x@ ~4800
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Black x79
Memory: G.Skill 2666cl10
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP1300 + C-1200i
Default 07-28-2014, 21:32 | posts: 215

Many in stock in Norway @ komplett.no

https://www.komplett.no/wd-red-6tb-nas-drive/820568

Asus ROG swift is also in stock in Norway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 07-28-2014, 21:34 | posts: 13,795 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
They was a spout of DOA red drives, caused by newegg workers mishandling them during packing process etc
Oh ok. Well thankfully I didn't order mine from there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 07-28-2014, 22:48 | posts: 846

Reviews on SCAN show some 4TB Reds with failures and they also have the 6TB Reds in stock for 209

It's like a Bet Fair AD, Do you? Don't you?

Crazy price for the Seagate 6TB though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 07-29-2014, 19:36 | posts: 846

Caved in and bought 2 x 6TB Reds, not from Scan though, from a company I thought sold digital radios 408 delivered!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BarryB
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Palit Super Jetstream 780
Processor: i7 4770K + Kraken X60
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH-Z87 1405
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Corsair AX1200 1200w
Default 08-02-2014, 16:26 | posts: 846

Well mine turned up today, found the postman had dumped them on the kitchen floor as the back door was open so he kindly left them for me!!

I'm backing up data off the NAS to some 500GB USB drives (they are USB 2.0 but plugged into a USB 3.0 port on my Win 8.1 box) and after every file copy operation the transfer 'pauses' but the activity light on the USB is still flashing suggesting windows is 'guessing' the transfer time and falls short every time! Also, i'm getting about 90MB/s to the USB from the NAS but then about halfway through the whole transfer (could be 1 file or more) it drops to about 40MB/s until it completes and does the 'pause' thing again? Same happens if I use USB 2.0 ports? Caching is set to Direct but seems windows IS caching something!

Eventually i'll get the damn drives in sometime today and setup for RAID1, but at this rate it might be tonight!!

*UPDATE*

Well due to the stupidity of my USB drives the backup of 1.6TB took most of the day, plus smaller files choke throughput down 2-3MB/s and even into KB/s, ridiculous. Seems you have to store ISO's and large video files to get anywhere near gig speeds, so if you have gigs of MP3s or photos to backup to an external USB drive then it might take a day or two!!

So about 10:30pm I stripped the Synology down as it's an utter dust trap!! Had to take the case off to clean the insides of dust, it was thick and full of dust bunnies, the fan was choked with dust too! So about 11pm got the drives installed and DSM updated to the latest version and left it checking the RAID1 Volume just in case there are bad sectors that need mapping out!

Just checked it now at 11:30am UK time, so about 12hrs later, and it's done 63% of it's verification/data scrubbing cycle so looks like it will be close to this evening when it's done that and can restore my config and files! It's nice having about 5.5TB but the time it takes to check it is a complete farce!

It's also time the industry was stopped from using 1,000,000 bytes as a megabyte and 1,000,000,000 as a gigabyte and quoting 'unformatted' capacities which mean nothing!! They were made to state the viewable diagonal area on monitors so you got a 17" or 22" monitor yet they are still allowed to lie/mis-represent the capacity of hard drives?

Last edited by BarryB; 08-03-2014 at 12:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.