Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
R9 290 Dual screen problem
Old
  (#1)
darkshadow5k5
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 TRI-X
Processor: i5 4670k @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: MSI z87-g43
Memory: 8gb ddr3 1600 pc12800
Soundcard: Creative audigy2zs, z5500
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w
Default R9 290 Dual screen problem - 07-27-2014, 23:22 | posts: 178 | Location: amsterdam

I have 2 screens hooked up to this system, 1 is a tv by hdmi and the other is a monitor by dvi.

Now with my previous card (6950) if I turned off my screens and turned them on again there would be no changes in windows, but since I've installed the 290, everytime I turn off/on my tv, windows treats it like connecting a new device, briefly disables my monitor and then brings them both back.

The problem here is that every window that was on my monitor is now moved to my tv and I have to move them back every time, does anyone know what's going on here and how to fix it?

Also why does windows show 6 audio devices for the card?

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Muchope
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus R9 290 DirectCU
Processor: Intel i5 2500K (4.6Ghz)
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme 4
Memory: Mushkin 2X4GB (1866Mhz)
Soundcard: Logitech Z906
PSU: 600W Gold
Default 07-28-2014, 16:14 | posts: 3 | Location: Cyber

Regarding the display issue, its not the R9 290 at fault but the new drivers starting from 14.0. From drivers 14.0 and upwards, when U power off a display and power it back on, it is treated as it the display was physically disconnected. Try driver 13.12 and you'll find the behavior gone.

I have a triple display setup, 2 monitors and an HDTV, and my 3 cards from the latest 3 AMD generations(6950, 7950 and R9 290) exhibit the same behavior. Its so frustrating since I occasionally turn off other displays when focusing on the primary monitor or HDTV only to experience the same issue as you when I turn them back on.

Sticking to 13.12 is no longer an option considering a lot of the new games benefit from the new drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
darkshadow5k5
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 TRI-X
Processor: i5 4670k @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: MSI z87-g43
Memory: 8gb ddr3 1600 pc12800
Soundcard: Creative audigy2zs, z5500
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w
Default 07-28-2014, 20:03 | posts: 178 | Location: amsterdam

Thanks for the explanation, that makes sense I guess since my 6950 was trucking along on 13.4 and I'm on 14.4 now.

Oh well, I guess all we can hope for is amd fixing this some day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
zeljkoni
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX660 twin frozr OC
Processor: 2500K @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek 889a
PSU: LC Hyperion 700W
Default 08-03-2014, 03:58 | posts: 65

Same here one monitor is @ ATI 290 and other on Intel iGPU... I hate it!

ATI driver support is a JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.