Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core 2 or i7 giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Should I? 3770k from 3570K
Old
  (#1)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default Should I? 3770k from 3570K - 07-14-2014, 01:47 | posts: 1,240 | Location: New Zealand

Yes I know, the differences between the two are negligible in most situations...but a friend just upgraded to devils canyon and so has asked if I am interested in the 3770k - I haven't been given a price yet but im sure it'll be a nice price and if Im going to do this, it'll have to be a good price.

Currently running my 3570K at 4.5Ghz as it isn't stable at 4.6 - his 3770k has been rock solid at 4.6 and semi stable at 4.7...bugger all difference on that front.

I do mainly use my rig for gaming, but I also like to record games with OBS or Fraps - and then I do a bit of encoding also so the added threads may help a little there.

What do you guys reckon? I don't want to do a full upgrade just yet as I don't see the point until ddr4 and X99 is out with 6 physical cores minimum - but those extra threads and possible added overclockability might just tide me over until my next overhaul.

PS : at least my benchmarks will be higher and therefore will have a larger e-peen?

Last edited by Enmity; 07-14-2014 at 01:55.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 07-14-2014, 02:09 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

It would greatly depend on the price. 100mhz isn't a very big increase and generally not cost effective.

Now, is your friend running with or without HT enabled at 4.6ghz?


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 cache 4.4
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 07-14-2014, 02:17 | posts: 7,373 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Yes go for it, lol not just for e-peen some games will run better by default.

You can sell yours later or use for another system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Enmity
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7970 Vapor-x GE 3GB
Processor: intel i5 3570k@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Frostbyte
Soundcard: Creative Z/HD485/Studios
PSU: Corsair HX850 v2
Default 07-14-2014, 02:24 | posts: 1,240 | Location: New Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
It would greatly depend on the price. 100mhz isn't a very big increase and generally not cost effective.

Now, is your friend running with or without HT enabled at 4.6ghz?
thanks for the replies guys. Yep he runs with HT enabled 24/7 - and you're right, the performance difference really is negligible for sure, but if he only wants 100 or even 200NZD for it (usually about $450- 500NZD to buy new) i'd say its worth the future proofing. Right now, yeah theres not many games that utilise even a i5 quad but what i'm thinking, or hoping..is my minimum frames might increase a tad in games like bf4 and watchdogs which are very multicore/thread aware.

Worst case scenario, I might be able to record my gaming without such a massive drop in fps with some cpu time free, and encode my videos in less time.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC887-VD
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 07-14-2014, 02:35 | posts: 16,325 | Location: US East Coast

If it can run 4.6ghz with HT enabled, go for it.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Slam
Ancient Guru
 
Slam's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 SC 1267/8002
Processor: i7 4930K 4.6ghz
Mainboard: ASRock X79 Extreme6
Memory: 16g G.SKILL TridentX 2400
Soundcard: Bose Companion 5
PSU: Hiper 880W
Default 07-14-2014, 03:31 | posts: 3,101 | Location: Dallas, TX.

Depends on the price. If it's not a super sweet deal, then not really worth it...imo.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire r9 290 tri-x 4gb
Processor: i7 4790k /w h110
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 07-14-2014, 14:20 | posts: 1,309 | Location: Pennsylvania

Since you can possibly benefit from the Hyperthreading since you record your game footage and do alot of encoding go for it if the price is right.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
GhostXL
Ancient Guru
 
GhostXL's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 SLI @ 1150
Processor: i7 4790K @ 4.8ghz on H90
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VII HERO Z97
Memory: G.Skill Trident DDR3 2667
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: CORSAIR AX1200 watt
Default 07-14-2014, 16:28 | posts: 5,583 | Location: PA, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enmity View Post
Yes I know, the differences between the two are negligible in most situations...but a friend just upgraded to devils canyon and so has asked if I am interested in the 3770k - I haven't been given a price yet but im sure it'll be a nice price and if Im going to do this, it'll have to be a good price.

Currently running my 3570K at 4.5Ghz as it isn't stable at 4.6 - his 3770k has been rock solid at 4.6 and semi stable at 4.7...bugger all difference on that front.

I do mainly use my rig for gaming, but I also like to record games with OBS or Fraps - and then I do a bit of encoding also so the added threads may help a little there.

What do you guys reckon? I don't want to do a full upgrade just yet as I don't see the point until ddr4 and X99 is out with 6 physical cores minimum - but those extra threads and possible added overclockability might just tide me over until my next overhaul.

PS : at least my benchmarks will be higher and therefore will have a larger e-peen?
If you can get it at a good price then yeah definitely go for it. If it's over 200 USD, then nah, you could save for something else like maybe X97 and Broadwel later on. Over 200 USD isn't worth it for the same chip with HT.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.