Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The Guru's Pub
The Guru's Pub Hang out with Guru3D's staff and other visitors, have a nice civilized chat, nothing hardware related though !


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Forum prompting for password change...?
Old
  (#1)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default Forum prompting for password change...? - 07-14-2014, 00:32 | posts: 4,961 | Location: London

Forum just prompted me for a password change "because my old one was 365 days old".

Should I be worried?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 07-14-2014, 00:42 | posts: 18,953 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Dunno I would wait for hilbert or a mod to chime in beforehand.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 07-14-2014, 00:43 | posts: 4,961 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Dunno I would wait for hilbert or a mod to chime in beforehand.
True, couldn't access anything without changing it, though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
elkosith
Maha Guru
 
elkosith's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9600 GT :(
Processor: Intel E7300 @ 3 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P7N SLI Platinum
Memory: DDR2 800 2 x 1GB
Soundcard: Topping D2 + Blow4
PSU: 420 Watts
Default 07-14-2014, 04:23 | posts: 1,217 | Location: Indonesia

I changed mine. The old one was old indeed.
Same thing with my yahoo mail. Have been using the same 5 characters password for more than 10 years, then last month every time I singed in, yahoo kept asking for a new password.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX970 GAMING
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 07-14-2014, 08:38 | posts: 4,547 | Location: Romania

I had this as well, had to change or else I couldn't acces the forum, I hope it's allright.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 07-14-2014, 08:43 | posts: 21,567 | Location: Guru3D testlab

No worries guys this is correct, you are required to change passwords once every year.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Follow Guru3D on facebook.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 07-14-2014, 10:41 | posts: 4,961 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
No worries guys this is correct, you are required to change passwords once every year.
Cool, thanks boss.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Braadkip
Member Guru
 
Braadkip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 WF2
Processor: AMD FX-8150 @ 4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Formula V
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: ModXStream Pro 700
Default 07-14-2014, 10:57 | posts: 52 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Forum just prompted me for a password change "because my old one was 365 days old".

Should I be worried?
Dunno, i never log out
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 FTW ACX2 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM 850
Default 07-14-2014, 11:29 | posts: 987 | Location: London

had this pop up some time ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX970 GAMING
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 07-14-2014, 12:00 | posts: 4,547 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braadkip View Post
Dunno, i never log out
You don't have to... neither do I and I still got this. Glad it's intended.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 07-14-2014, 12:46 | posts: 4,961 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
You don't have to... neither do I and I still got this. Glad it's intended.
This as my thought exactly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 07-14-2014, 13:06 | posts: 7,597 | Location: 127.0.0.1

But what if you change your password to something the hacker then guesses?

And your old one was secure?

lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.