Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Older games New
Old
  (#1)
yelsewshane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire VaporX 290
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z79
Memory: Corsair 16gb ddr3
Soundcard: Yamaha Receiver 4/8 1/12
PSU: corsair 850
Default Older games New - 07-06-2014, 20:41 | posts: 1,574

Does ne1 else as me crave they make a complete remake of this older games with newer graphics and sound ?

1. Diablo 2
2. Descent 1/2
3. Doom 1/2
4. Duke Nukem 3d
5. D&D series gold edtion all 4
6. Ultima 1-2-3
7. MEGARACE !!

and etc can go on and on just remake them as original but updated graphics and sound.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM 850
Default 07-06-2014, 20:50 | posts: 962 | Location: London

I would love the see the D&D games remade along with the Ultima series
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 07-06-2014, 21:16 | posts: 10,161 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

I wouldn't mind a majora's mask that ran at 30fps, or hey, even 60fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 07-07-2014, 00:55 | posts: 10,544 | Location: United kingdom

Anything from Microprose especially M1 Tank Platoon or Gunship.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 07-07-2014, 01:04 | posts: 2,405 | Location: Ohio

I'll throw out a title that I'm curious if anyone else has played...

Jurrassic War
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-07-2014, 01:38 | posts: 2,167 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Duke Nukem can be updated with eDuke32, here are some mods for it
http://wiki.eduke32.com/wiki/EDuke32_Modifications
I recommend the Duke Plus mod.

Also if you emulate majora's mask, Project64 2.1 and 1964 1.2 can give you 60 fps without speeding up the game, PJ64 2.1 will do this automatically, and 1964 1.2 will do that if you OC the virtual processor to 200%. Also if you use a GFX plugin like the new Glide64 that comes with PJ64 or the older Rice Video plugins, you can use some pretty nice texture packs like this one...
http://www.emutalk.net/threads/53556...11-and-MM-2001
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
brunopita
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI R9 270X 2GB
Processor: Intel i5 4570
Mainboard: Gigabyte H87M-HD3
Memory: GSkill 2x4GB 1333Mhz@1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 07-07-2014, 01:45 | posts: 151 | Location: Brazil

ToeJam & Earl
All LucasArts adventures
Road Rash
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 07-07-2014, 02:28 | posts: 10,161 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post

Also if you emulate majora's mask, Project64 2.1 and 1964 1.2 can give you 60 fps without speeding up the game, PJ64 2.1 will do this automatically, and 1964 1.2 will do that if you OC the virtual processor to 200%.
I'm aware of texture packs, but last I saw the emulators are just as such, emulators, those games were designed to run at 17/20fps, the animations even as much, which is why greezo had such a hard time putting ocarina onto 3 ds.

I just tested, sure, it runs at 60 vertical interrupts a second, but that still translates into 20 actual gameplay fps. Admittedly this is with pj64 2.1 and not 1964.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-07-2014, 05:17 | posts: 2,167 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

PJ64 2.1 is able to translate that to 60 fps actually, it's because of that the emulator is banned from using it for official speedruns of games. Gameplay feels fine, but it also speeds up loading times, like when you pause in LoZ. Odd you can't see/feel the difference compared to PJ64 1.6.

What I would really like is to some how get true widescreen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 07-07-2014, 05:33 | posts: 23,431 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

how can gameplay feel fine when it speeds up things ?

im still getting 20fps btw with pj64 (during gameplay)

 Click to show spoiler



is there some catch to this ?

Last edited by WhiteLightning; 07-07-2014 at 06:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
cerebus23
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: evga 8800gts
Processor: core 2 duo e6600@3.0ghz
Mainboard: evga 680i
Memory: 4 corsair xms2 pro 512mb
Soundcard: realtek onboard
PSU: rosewill 550w
Default 07-07-2014, 05:45 | posts: 1,965

Theme hospital.

The OG black & white. with a few improvements.

deus ex

bridge commander.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
])rStrangelove
Ancient Guru
 
])rStrangelove's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX 3GB
Processor: Intel i7-2600k@4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: AsusXonar D2X
PSU: BeQuiet! DarkPowerPro750W
Default 07-07-2014, 06:11 | posts: 3,747 | Location: Northcoast of Germany

Would love to get another NFS SE I where you really need to steer & brake correctly to get top times. Also, another X-Wing or XvsTIE is def needed!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-07-2014, 09:17 | posts: 4,027 | Location: Australia

Mafia 1, it was a great game when it came out. You can even run it on Windows 8.1 if you enable the legacy directplay. I think it's a game they could rerelease on PC and the new consoles using an updated Mafia 2 engine. They could also rerelease Mafia 2 at the same time, and share game resources. Won't happen though. I doubt whether most other games are rereleased. If they are it would be like shadow warrior rerelease was.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
antonyfrn
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 760 SC ACX 4Gb
Processor: AMD FX 8350 + H100i
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooh 990FX R2.0
Memory: 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X & Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM 850
Default 07-07-2014, 12:08 | posts: 962 | Location: London

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Anything from Microprose especially M1 Tank Platoon or Gunship.
You just reminded me one something that was a brilliant game Airborne ranger
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
scrapser
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 590 3072
Processor: Intel i7 3930K SB-E
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X79
Memory: Samsung PC1600 16 gigs
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1200
Default 07-07-2014, 12:55 | posts: 401 | Location: Binghamton, NY USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Anything from Microprose especially M1 Tank Platoon or Gunship.
Don't forget Silent Service! SSI did a pretty good DOS game but it was still 2D. Silent Hunter 4 was a good 3D attempt but needs mods to fix a lot of the bugs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Darren Hodgson
Ancient Guru
 
Darren Hodgson's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 980 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe v2103
Memory: 16GB Corsair Veng 1600MHz
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: XFX PRO Black Ed. 850W
Default 07-07-2014, 13:20 | posts: 12,127 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatman839 View Post
I wouldn't mind a majora's mask that ran at 30fps, or hey, even 60fps.
You can play the Zelda: Collector's Edition, which contains Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask, on the Dolphin Emulator and not only have a solid 30 FPS but also improved anti-aliasing and texture filtering as well as higher resolution rendering.

I downloaded a number of GameCube ROMs over the weekend, including Zelda: The Wind Waker, F-Zero GX, Super Mario Sunsine, Star Fox Adventures and Zelda: Twilight Princess, and they all work pretty great on Dolphin. I still own my (black) GameCube and around 30 games, including those I mentioned, so I don't see a problem with using an emulator to play them on my PC as I do own the original disc games (yes, even the Zelda: Collector's Edition, which I've been told is very rare and, thus, collectible in boxed form...I remember it was the manager as my old GAME who gave me it for nothing!).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 07-07-2014, 13:35 | posts: 23,431 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
You can play the Zelda: Collector's Edition, which contains Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask, on the Dolphin Emulator and not only have a solid 30 FPS but also improved anti-aliasing and texture filtering as well as higher resolution rendering.
Its not 30fps. all zelda oot versions are up to 20fps exept the 3ds version which is 60.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 07-07-2014, 13:40 | posts: 10,161 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Hodgson View Post
(yes, even the Zelda: Collector's Edition, which I've been told is very rare and, thus, collectible in boxed form...I remember it was the manager as my old GAME who gave me it for nothing!).
About 35+ from what i'm seeing, condition depending.

Going to test the collectors edition, I don't think I ever really used my copy other than to own it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 07-07-2014, 13:51 | posts: 10,544 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by ])rStrangelove View Post
. Also, another X-Wing or XvsTIE is def needed!
+100!

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonyfrn View Post
You just reminded me one something that was a brilliant game Airborne ranger
Now that is a blast from the past, one of the very first stealth games.
I remember buying this from WHsmith back in the late 1980s, i remember rushing home on the Bus reading the instructions that came with the game and couldnt wait to play it. When i loaded it up on the C64 i was dissapointed, i didnt like it and i got my grandmother to return the game for me saying that "she had bought the wrong game for her Grandson", my Nan was great and it always worked. Good old days indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrapser View Post
Don't forget Silent Service! SSI did a pretty good DOS game but it was still 2D. Silent Hunter 4 was a good 3D attempt but needs mods to fix a lot of the bugs.
I didnt forget it mate, but i didnt mention it because i thought SH series has done a good job to a level were SS would probably be proud of especially if you use Trigger Maru Overhaul Mod which overhauls graphics and gameplay but there has not been a proper update of the Apache Gunship or M1 Abrams Main Battle tank since the early to mid 90s.

Id be quite happy to play M1 Tank platoon 2 but dont work on Windows 8.1.
Its still a good game and doesnt **** around when it comes to realism.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90iCt_0JdSI
Much better than that stupid World of tanks crap.

Last edited by Veteran; 07-07-2014 at 13:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 07-07-2014, 14:24 | posts: 10,161 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
Its not 30fps. all zelda oot versions are up to 20fps exept the 3ds version which is 60.
Yeah, I just checked the collectors edition, majora is 20fps as well.

Btw, 3ds version is 30, I think I read they had troubles getting it to 60, likely due to budgeting for 3D, but at least 2D has AA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 07-07-2014, 15:16 | posts: 5,588 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Anything from Microprose especially M1 Tank Platoon or Gunship.
Do you really need a refont of gunship, when we have DCS Blackshark 2..
Ok we could argue that the DCS simulator need maybe a refont of the environnement ( specially add new environnement too )..

Anyway i know what you mean, Gunship was just incredible in his time. I could add too "Fly of the Intruder".

and +1 for all LucasArt games of this period.

There's so much AtariST / Amiga &C64 games who could be just redone with actual graphism, but well..

Last edited by Lane; 07-07-2014 at 15:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
remicius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Titan Black 6GB SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 990X 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme III
Memory: 12gb Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: AX1200i Corsair
Default 07-07-2014, 15:32 | posts: 186

wish i could play the following games with proper resolution with the same textures,sound and so on

-Alien Trilogy
-Dark Earth
-Resident Evil 1
-Independence Day
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 07-07-2014, 15:54 | posts: 4,887 | Location: Washington DC

ugh I hated Independence Day

I would love for a remake of Day of the Tentacle and Toonstruck. Supposedly the original creator of Toonstruck is getting ready to announce a re-release sometime this month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 07-07-2014, 17:58 | posts: 2,167 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
how can gameplay feel fine when it speeds up things ?

im still getting 20fps btw with pj64 (during gameplay)

 Click to show spoiler



is there some catch to this ?
Yes, there is a catch. They have, for a while now, figured out a way to increase the fps you see while not increasing the speed of the game. As far back I can find it is in 2011,
http://www.retrocopy.com/forumthread...-emulator.aspx
Note the screenshots. Regular 1964 2.1 includes this feature. It's also built into PJ64 2.1 (was also in 2.0). Only 1964 is able to tell you the Real FPS, while PJ64 doesn't.
Zilmar has been pretty quiet about how he did his features, but you can see a comparison here (and why it's banned from speedruns).
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PN1F6T98l58

Last edited by Cyberdyne; 07-07-2014 at 18:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
biggyca
Member Guru
 
biggyca's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6750 870/1300
Processor: AMD Athlon 640 3.6Ghz OC
Mainboard: ASRock N68
Memory: 6gb 1333mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: 550W
Default 07-07-2014, 18:11 | posts: 131

what is the best emulator for super mario bros.? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcmKPmj9yeE
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.