Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Weird 5 second freeze in games(Magician 4.4)
Old
  (#1)
IceVip
Member Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X 1130/1500
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.81 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990-XA-UD3
Memory: 2x4GB TeamGroup 1712Mhz
Soundcard: Alienware Tactx Headset
PSU: 600W Corsair
Default Weird 5 second freeze in games(Magician 4.4) - 07-04-2014, 18:27 | posts: 66

I can't help but notice that after installing the new Samsung Magician 4.4
two major things have happened.
First one is this - http://i2.minus.com/ifQwxzvF4gVjY.png
Those speeds are so unrealistic but for some reason other programs
can actually confirm that the speeds are really that high.. idk what
the hell is going on with that but i don't see a big difference overall.

Second thing is that after i applied this update, for some reason my games
started acting really weird. for example dota 2, it freezes for 5 seconds
and then it continues, that has happened twice now, Chivalry did the same
thing today, but battlefield 4 freezes and then just "stopped working"
that usually happens after 20 minutes of gameplay, now i should mention
that all of the games are on my HDD, i have only my windows on the SSD
and this can kinda break the logic to why i think the ssd's software is faulty
but i haven't installed anything else except the magician 4.4 since this
started happening, no drivers or anything... So that kinda makes no
sense right now.

Last edited by IceVip; 07-04-2014 at 18:32.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4200mhz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-04-2014, 22:15 | posts: 126 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post
I can't help but notice that after installing the new Samsung Magician 4.4
two major things have happened.
First one is this - http://i2.minus.com/ifQwxzvF4gVjY.png
Those speeds are so unrealistic but for some reason other programs
can actually confirm that the speeds are really that high.. idk what
the hell is going on with that but i don't see a big difference overall.

Second thing is that after i applied this update, for some reason my games
started acting really weird. for example dota 2, it freezes for 5 seconds
and then it continues, that has happened twice now, Chivalry did the same
thing today, but battlefield 4 freezes and then just "stopped working"
that usually happens after 20 minutes of gameplay, now i should mention
that all of the games are on my HDD, i have only my windows on the SSD
and this can kinda break the logic to why i think the ssd's software is faulty
but i haven't installed anything else except the magician 4.4 since this
started happening, no drivers or anything... So that kinda makes no
sense right now.
Im not sure how you went about installing the newer update, but i fully uninstalled the program first, possibly ran cc cleaner, rebooted, then installed the newer version....sometimes things work better if fully uninstalled first and then installing the newer version...aside from the massive speed increase i have yet to notice any issues yet.
[IMG][/IMG]

I will do some thorough testing in bf4 tonight and give you a follow up if i can find any issues on my end

Last edited by primetime^; 07-04-2014 at 22:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
IceVip
Member Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X 1130/1500
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.81 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990-XA-UD3
Memory: 2x4GB TeamGroup 1712Mhz
Soundcard: Alienware Tactx Headset
PSU: 600W Corsair
Default 07-04-2014, 23:36 | posts: 66

Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime^ View Post
Im not sure how you went about installing the newer update, but i fully uninstalled the program first, possibly ran cc cleaner, rebooted, then installed the newer version....sometimes things work better if fully uninstalled first and then installing the newer version...aside from the massive speed increase i have yet to notice any issues yet.
[IMG][/IMG]

I will do some thorough testing in bf4 tonight and give you a follow up if i can find any issues on my end
For me usually now it crashes after the second map, never happened before the update.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 07-05-2014, 02:46 | posts: 9,165 | Location: Toledo

Try changing power/sata cables.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
gringopig
Member Guru
 
gringopig's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti SC
Processor: Intel Xeon X5670 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: DDR3 Corsair 12GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 07-05-2014, 12:33 | posts: 59 | Location: Edinburgh

I've got the same recorded speeds even on my Marvell 9123 5Gb/s interface. Seems quite fast.

However, I was getting complete PC freezes which were unrecoverable and these started with Nvidia driver 337.50 beta and continued with 337.88 WHQL. I haven't tried 340.43 but there is something conflicting with Nvidia's new driver architecture on my system and the few replies on the Nvidia forum which seemed to mirror my issue had a Samsung SSD included in the signature spec.
I just wonder if it's a conflict with the Samsung RAM caching technique.

You could try driver 335.23 WHQL which was the last before they 'optimised' the CPU/GPU driver coding and see if your issue persists...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
IceVip
Member Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X 1130/1500
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.81 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990-XA-UD3
Memory: 2x4GB TeamGroup 1712Mhz
Soundcard: Alienware Tactx Headset
PSU: 600W Corsair
Default 07-05-2014, 12:42 | posts: 66

Quote:
Originally Posted by gringopig View Post
I've got the same recorded speeds even on my Marvell 9123 5Gb/s interface. Seems quite fast.

However, I was getting complete PC freezes which were unrecoverable and these started with Nvidia driver 337.50 beta and continued with 337.88 WHQL. I haven't tried 340.43 but there is something conflicting with Nvidia's new driver architecture on my system and the few replies on the Nvidia forum which seemed to mirror my issue had a Samsung SSD included in the signature spec.
I just wonder if it's a conflict with the Samsung RAM caching technique.

You could try driver 335.23 WHQL which was the last before they 'optimised' the CPU/GPU driver coding and see if your issue persists...
I'm not with nvidia and the issue came on the date the update for magician came, 7/1/2014, i remember that's the date my battlefield 4 started crashing i got logs of how I left every second game because of the freeze(starting on that date). It has nothing to do with the gpu driver for me, its the magician I'm sure of it, tho
i uninstalled it and installed it again, ill see if that fixes it fo me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
gringopig
Member Guru
 
gringopig's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti SC
Processor: Intel Xeon X5670 @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X58
Memory: DDR3 Corsair 12GB
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 07-05-2014, 13:14 | posts: 59 | Location: Edinburgh

Neither you are. I was daft not to check your signature. Hope you find the cause though. I'm not getting any freezes if it's of any help...

I did do a clean install with reboots
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4200mhz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-05-2014, 22:52 | posts: 126 | Location: SC

tested bf4 on my end...all went fine...must be a bug specific to your system...were using pretty much the same video card and im using the newest amd whql's 14.4 for what its worth
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pharma
Master Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel 3960X @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus X-79 Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill 2933 24 gig
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1200
Default 07-06-2014, 04:08 | posts: 207

I can confirm the speed increases with Magician 4.4. One thing I noticed is if you have multiple Samsung SSD's they all have speed increases with this new Magician, though not as great as the one you enable the RAPID feature.

Last edited by pharma; 07-06-2014 at 04:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
IAmGhostDog
Maha Guru
 
IAmGhostDog's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD7950 3GB
Processor: FX8350/Hyper 212 EVO
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 07-07-2014, 16:36 | posts: 1,010 | Location: Milwaukee, Wi USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post

Second thing is that after i applied this update, for some reason my games
started acting really weird.
Is Magician running in back ground?
If yes disable it. It's not needed other than to run initial configuration.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
BadDriver
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 760 DCII OC,2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V DELUXE
Memory: G.Skill 8 GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 07-07-2014, 17:07 | posts: 133 | Location: NL

I have a problem with the latest version 4.4 with Rapid mode i get a error:

Fatal error occured during last RAPID Mode enable cycle.

I have send Samsung a email about this problem.



Version 4.3 works ok.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4200mhz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-09-2014, 04:35 | posts: 126 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post
I can't help but notice that after installing the new Samsung Magician 4.4
two major things have happened.
First one is this - http://i2.minus.com/ifQwxzvF4gVjY.png
Those speeds are so unrealistic but for some reason other programs
can actually confirm that the speeds are really that high.. idk what
the hell is going on with that but i don't see a big difference overall.

Second thing is that after i applied this update, for some reason my games
started acting really weird. for example dota 2, it freezes for 5 seconds
and then it continues, that has happened twice now, Chivalry did the same
thing today, but battlefield 4 freezes and then just "stopped working"
that usually happens after 20 minutes of gameplay, now i should mention
that all of the games are on my HDD, i have only my windows on the SSD
and this can kinda break the logic to why i think the ssd's software is faulty
but i haven't installed anything else except the magician 4.4 since this
started happening, no drivers or anything... So that kinda makes no
sense right now.
well, i may have spoke to soon....i did encounter a weird glitch tonight while playing bf4. I did finally correct it self but it was something i have never had happen before. I will report back if it happens again.....but it was like a terrible stutter that lasted for about 30 seconds, and it happened while i was flying a scout, so you can imagine it sucked hard.....ended up dying try to land it....could very well be related to the issues you had discovered
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Dragondale13
Master Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2Gb SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD3 F20 Bios
Memory: GSkill Sniper 16GB 2133
Soundcard: X-FI Ti.Champ + Z5300 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850 Watt
Default 07-09-2014, 18:43 | posts: 340 | Location: Trinidad & Tobago, W.I.

No problems with this update.Better to disable Rapid Mode, restart, uninstall old version, restart, run ccleaner, restart, manually check system for leftover folders/reg entries, install new version, restart, enable rapid mode, restart.Works just as good as 4.3, browsing in windows may be a bit snappier but could be placebo.Also set my os optimization for max reliability instead of manual.I'm on Win7 SP1 x64.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4200mhz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-09-2014, 23:44 | posts: 126 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondale13 View Post
No problems with this update.Better to disable Rapid Mode, restart, uninstall old version, restart, run ccleaner, restart, manually check system for leftover folders/reg entries, install new version, restart, enable rapid mode, restart.Works just as good as 4.3, browsing in windows may be a bit snappier but could be placebo.Also set my os optimization for max reliability instead of manual.I'm on Win7 SP1 x64.
what you described is my default way of doing upgrades...can you test bf4 to see if all is ok on your end?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Dragondale13
Master Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2Gb SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD3 F20 Bios
Memory: GSkill Sniper 16GB 2133
Soundcard: X-FI Ti.Champ + Z5300 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850 Watt
Default 07-10-2014, 01:55 | posts: 340 | Location: Trinidad & Tobago, W.I.

Quote:
Originally Posted by primetime^ View Post
what you described is my default way of doing upgrades...can you test bf4 to see if all is ok on your end?
Nope sorry, I never bought it.I'm playing some older titles atm and they run fine, benchmarks too.Pretty sure someone else will be glad to help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
IceVip
Member Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X 1130/1500
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.81 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990-XA-UD3
Memory: 2x4GB TeamGroup 1712Mhz
Soundcard: Alienware Tactx Headset
PSU: 600W Corsair
Default 07-11-2014, 22:59 | posts: 66

So i actually did this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondale13 View Post
Better to disable Rapid Mode, restart, uninstall old version, restart,run ccleaner, restart, manually check system for leftover folders/reg entries, install new version, restart, enable rapid mode, restart.
And i have not encountered any 5 second freezes, i should mention i had them only on valve games, csgo/dota 2, battlefield doesn't count because it crashed there after the freeze.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
primetime^
Member Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 3Gb
Processor: Xeon Hexa core @ 4200mhz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 07-13-2014, 08:27 | posts: 126 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceVip View Post
So i actually did this:

And i have not encountered any 5 second freezes, i should mention i had them only on valve games, csgo/dota 2, battlefield doesn't count because it crashed there after the freeze.
well i did more testing....and honestly i haven't encountered any more glitches....starting to look like you have possibly an app on your pc thats giving it trouble...not sure what to make of it.....i have heard it uses much more ram cached....possibly using to much for your pc...definitely worth looking into doing restore from a good system image or even a new install......really just throwing ideas out there...god luck in getting it worked out...guess if all else you can go back to the older version.....not like the new one truly makes it faster cause in reality it just shows higher benchmarks....and we know that doesn't really mean its faster...more like bragging rights is all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
joey79
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX780
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax
Default 07-14-2014, 21:42 | posts: 13

So the insane speeds are the result of enabling RAPID mode in Magician.
The errors and freezes you see may be one result of enabling RAPID but there can be more reasons.
From my experience, the AMD Chipsets are more likely to cause problems with Magician. Mostly because of the driver. You may try to switch from AMD AHCI driver to msahci. Just google, there are lots of guides.
Another thing is the so called "optimisation" from Magician. The theory is very good, but it does not work properly on every System/Hardware configuration.
And keep in mind, optimisation settings and RAPID are also running, if Magician don't. RAPID will run as System service.
If nothing else is working you may want to reinstall your OS and keep away from Magician software.
I just backed up my system and will try the 4.4 Magician myself and see, if I can find something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
zimzoid
Maha Guru
 
zimzoid's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUSdc2 780Sli-Asus Swift
Processor: i7 4930K/Corsair H110
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Ed
Memory: GSkillRipjawsZ4x4 2133mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx Denon Klipsch 5.1
PSU: CM V1200w Platinum
Default 07-14-2014, 22:18 | posts: 906 | Location: New Zealand

I will enable rapid mode and play bf4 and report back.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.