Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nvidia 4 GB and 2GB Cards :
Old
  (#1)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default Nvidia 4 GB and 2GB Cards : - 06-09-2014, 00:49 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

I've seen a lot of people debating the validity of 4GB Cards . Why would they Make a 760 4GB card if you can't really utilize it it? Discuss ..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-09-2014, 01:09 | posts: 18,703 | Location: New Jersey, USA

money making scam imo
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon R7 240
Processor: AMD Athlon 5350
Mainboard: Asus AM1M-A
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Go!
PSU: Unk 300watt
Default 06-09-2014, 01:12 | posts: 16,583 | Location: US East Coast

Considering the debates in other threads.....it looks like the OP is trying to bait people....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 01:29 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

No , actually I'm not .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-09-2014, 01:32 | posts: 9,157 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by goat1 View Post
I've seen a lot of people debating the validity of 4GB Cards . Why would they Make a 760 4GB card if you can't really utilize it it? Discuss ..
Because people buy them. Case closed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 01:51 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

That was a great answer,smartass. Don't be an idiot, A lot of reviewers Say a 760 cant utilize 4 GB of ram . Why would Evga ect put them on their boards ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 06-09-2014, 01:52 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

2 x 760 in SLi would likely be able to make use of 4GB @ 1440p / Watchdogs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 02:11 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

That's the only thing that makes sense.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 06-09-2014, 05:00 | posts: 9,157 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by goat1 View Post
That was a great answer,smartass. Don't be an idiot, A lot of reviewers Say a 760 cant utilize 4 GB of ram . Why would Evga ect put them on their boards ?
You're being the idiot. What is so hard for you to comprehend? The philosophy "more is better" applies to most things in life. Graphics cards are no different. They put extra memory because they know it will sell. People are out there who think "hey, double the memory is only a few bucks more, why not?". It doesn't matter if there's no point to it. It sells anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 05:55 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

I'm sure they will help with higher resolution monitors. 4k for sure.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Wormwood
Maha Guru
 
Wormwood's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780 Ghz
Processor: i5 2500k @4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar D2X & Somic MH463
PSU: Seasonic X-750 Gold
Default 06-09-2014, 06:54 | posts: 1,559 | Location: Temeswar,Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by goat1 View Post
I'm sure they will help with higher resolution monitors. 4k for sure.
It would but not the 760 since it would run out of juice faster than running out of Vram. Or maybe if you play games like skyrim that would be ok i guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-09-2014, 11:16 | posts: 18,703 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wormwood View Post
It would but not the 760 since it would run out of juice faster than running out of Vram. Or maybe if you play games like skyrim that would be ok i guess.
My 680s at 1280 7200 ran out of gpu power before vram. They were the 4gb models.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 06-09-2014, 12:06 | posts: 10,544 | Location: United kingdom

You need tri or quad sli to make use of 4gb. Any less than that and your gonna run out of core power. So its only worth having 4gb or more if your gonna be using more than 2 gpus and your at 1440p. I don't think the cards we have are ready for 4k atm to push out huge frame rates.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 06-09-2014, 12:28 | posts: 10,978 | Location: Finland

It's kinda wrong to say that they can't utilise 4GB. They can but at those settings GPU performance is often the bottleneck although it will likely still give less stuttering. It's rather easy to break the 2GB barrier in skyrim with official high resolution texture pack and some ini tweaks (in that case it GPU wouldn't be the problem but the lack of memory). 2GB seriously hampered my Skyrim experience when I had GTX 680 SLI setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-x
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 06-09-2014, 14:31 | posts: 1,638 | Location: Pennsylvania

Also for roughly the same price as 4GB 760 costs you can purchase an R9 280X which equals the 770 in performance. I agree making a 4GB 760 was kind of pointless because with 1 card and today's games you could run out of GPU power long before VRAM as others had mentioned.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Xenotone
Master Guru
 
Xenotone's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti SLI H2O QX2710
Processor: 4670k 4.6ghz H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 06-09-2014, 15:15 | posts: 610 | Location: Nowhereville, Boringtown

A pair of 4gb 760 would be a perfect setup for 1440p I think. Faster, cheaper and more vram than a 780 Ti
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 17:37 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

I looked at the AMD cards but I want physx,since my fav game is Borderlands 2 and Borderlands 3 is coming out in Oct. I'm picking up an open box deal tonight on an EVGA 770 superclocked 4gb for $356.. Looks like a good deal. That way I can go sli later if I want and I don't have to worry about the 4gb of ram..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 18:55 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

I have a dilemma all of the sudden. I can get an asus 770 2gb for $288 and an EVGA 770 superclocked 4gb for $356.. What would you guys do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 06-09-2014, 19:24 | posts: 259

I almost got on that 4gb train but thought better of it and just got the 2gb. Then ending up selling it to my friend and spoiling myself with a 3gb 780 :-).

I'd say you'd still be good with a 2gb card if your gaming at 1080p. 770 should be enough to play most games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 19:41 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

Thanks Cronos,that's what I figured,plus the Asus comes with the backplate..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pete J
Master Guru
 
Pete J's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x 780 GTX @1113/7000MHz
Processor: i7 4930k @ 4200MHz
Mainboard: EVGA X79 Dark
Memory: 4x4GB 2400MHz Avexir Blue
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Thermaltake 1500W
Default 06-09-2014, 19:45 | posts: 183 | Location: Blighty

I would normally agree that 4GB would be a waste on a 760.

But then Wolfenstein the New Order happened.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 19:54 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

True but can Wolfenstein even utilize 4 gb on a 760 due to bandwidth constraints? My 560ti runs it on high at 60 fps and it looks good and that's a 1 gb card..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
CronosX9x9X
Master Guru
 
CronosX9x9X's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 780 SC ACX
Processor: Intel i7 3820 4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: 16gb GSkill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Creative Zx
PSU: CORSAIR 750wtx
Default 06-09-2014, 21:04 | posts: 259

Wow that 560ti is still doing it strong lol. The asus 770 it's pretty nice, I've seen that it doesn't oc as much as other cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
goat1
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 770 2gb
Processor: i7 Sandy Bridge 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8 gigs crucial tracer led
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC-1
PSU: Kingwin Lazer 1000 watt
Default 06-09-2014, 21:10 | posts: 1,364 | Location: Minnesota

Update,the Asus card is gone,so the Evga 770 Superclocked 4gb is the winner..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 06-09-2014, 21:20 | posts: 18,703 | Location: New Jersey, USA

1 4gb 770 will run at the same fps of the 2gb variant in 99% of situations and if you manage to load up 4gb expect very low fps. I saw that on 680ftw 4gb sli many times.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.