Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD To launch New Radeon R9 Flagship This Summer
Old
  (#1)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default AMD To launch New Radeon R9 Flagship This Summer - 05-11-2014, 14:20 | posts: 8,920 | Location: UK



Quote:
Exclusive: New AMD Radeon R9 flagship this summer

I recently had a very interesting conversation with one of the add-in-board partners of AMD. They told me that Radeon R9 290X will soon be replaced with a new graphics card. Graphics card that would take the performance crown back from GTX 780 TI.

If you remember Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition, then you probably know where this is heading. There are basically two options, yet another Hawaii variant, or brand new GPU. Itís worth noting that there are some traces of a new GPU called Iceland. Could it be the new high performance heart of new flagship?

We have our own theories about this card. Itís not even a year since R9 290X was announced, so itís highly unlikely we are expecting R9 300 series this soon. The easiest, and probably the most logical approach, would be to launch R9 295X (note the missing 2). Although the new naming nomenclature is not among our favorites, it has some room for adaptation and AMD can always add an extra í5***8242; if needed. Of course this happened already, AMD launched first 2◊5 graphics cards few months ago, including 235, 255, 265, 275M and the latest addition R9 295X2. That said, it is possible AMD will simply launch R9 295X, instead of whole new series (R9 390X).


Volcanic Islands Refresh to utilize High-Bandwidth-Memory (HBM)

Just when I was preparing my post, a very interesting slides were posted at OC3D. Despite the fact that these slides are few months old, I donít remember seeing them posted anywhere yet.

AMDís Volcanic Islands Refresh will allegedly utilize first generation of HBM, and what exactly is HBM? High Bandwidth Memory is a new approach in die stacking, improving the bandwidth of memory chips, and dramatically reducing power consumption at the same time.

Letís skip the details, which you can find in the source, and focus on basic specs. There are few variants of HBM memory (2Hi, 4Hi and 8Hi). The first variant to launch soon is 4Hi, which has a bandwidth of 128 GBps and four layers of DRAMs. Each module has 1GB of memory, so if you had 4 of them, then your bandwidth would be 512 GB/s.


AMD 2014-2016 GPU roadmap

The poster also revealed the whole roadmap of future AMD GPUs. We have absolutely no way of verifying this, but we can confirm that these codenames actually do exist.

As you can see, the Island GPU is on this list as well. This GPU was leaked few weeks ago. It is probably the first processor to introduce Volcanic Islands 2.0 architecture, but is this also the first GPU to feature High Bandwidth Memory? We will know in few months.

Volcanic Islands will be replaced with Pirate Islands somewhere in the second half of next year. Whatís important here, Pirate Islands will be the first 20nm series. This basically means we are more than a year from now till 20nm node arrives from AMD. The 20nm process will not be our guest for long, AMD will quickly move forward to 14nm process with Pirate Islands Refresh.

28nm TSMC 1H 2014 : Hawaii, VI 1.0
28nm GlobalFoundries 2H 2014 : Iceland and Tonga, VI 2.0
28nm GlobalFoundries 1H 2015 : Maui, VI 2.0
20nm GlobalFoundries 2H 2015 : Fiji and Treasure, PI 1.0
20nm GlobalFoundries 1H 2016 : Bermuda, PI 1.0
14nm GlobalFoundries 2H 2016 : Mid-GPU and Low-GPU, PI 2.0
14nm GlobalFoundries 1H 2017 : High-GPU, PI 2.0
http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/wil...tx_780_ti.html
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
kd7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970m
Processor: i7 3630qm
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Recon3Di
PSU: 240W brick
Default 05-11-2014, 14:22 | posts: 140

beat you to it :p

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=389066
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
LongWayRunner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA
Processor: Intel Core I7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 05-11-2014, 14:30 | posts: 75

What does HMB exacly achieve?

And how much RAM does the card in the chard have?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
kd7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970m
Processor: i7 3630qm
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Recon3Di
PSU: 240W brick
Default 05-11-2014, 14:36 | posts: 140

Quote:
Originally Posted by LongWayRunner View Post
What does HMB exacly achieve?

And how much RAM does the card in the chard have?
3D stacking manufacturing process, GPU and memory chips are closely stacked and thus better (shorter) connectivity between them => high bandwidth with lower power.

with first generation of HBM you'll get 2GB at 256GB/s or 4GB at 512GB/s / core. Later versions can scale up to 8GB/core at 2TB/s (2016).

Edit: Actually it is up to 64GB at 2TB/s with 2nd generation HBM.

Quote:
4xHBM Gen 1 = 4 GB
3xHBM Gen 1 = 3 GB
2xHBM Gen 1 = 2 GB
1xHBM Gen 1 = 1 GB

4xHBM Gen 2 = 16 GB/32 GB/64 GB
3xHBM Gen 2 = 12 GB/24 GB/48 GB
2xHBM Gen 2 = 8 GB/16 GB/32 GB
1xHBM Gen 2 = 4 GB/8 GB/16 GB
http://www.overclock.net/t/1488641/n...ics-to-use-hbm

Last edited by kd7; 05-11-2014 at 15:13.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
LongWayRunner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA
Processor: Intel Core I7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 05-11-2014, 14:47 | posts: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd7 View Post
3D stacking manufacturing process, GPU and memory chips are closely stacked and thus better (shorter) connectivity between them => high bandwidth with lower power.

with first generation of HBM you'll get 2GB at 256GB/s or 4GB at 512GB/s / core. Later versions can scale up to 8GB/core at 2TB/s (2016).
Thanks a lot!

Also, can they do 8GB at 512 bit with the 1st gen HBM or only 4GB is allowed?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
kd7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970m
Processor: i7 3630qm
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Recon3Di
PSU: 240W brick
Default 05-11-2014, 14:53 | posts: 140

From these leaked slides it doesn't look like, they show a limit of 4 stacks/128GB/s (4x128=512) with 1GB/stack maximum for the first generation.

In fact the HBM bus width is 1024bit even for the first generation, so make that 1TB/s

Last edited by kd7; 05-11-2014 at 15:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 05-11-2014, 15:29 | posts: 10,802 | Location: Finland

Bring it on. Anything that makes the competition more fierce is a good thing.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 05-11-2014, 15:45 | posts: 7,950 | Location: UK

Comes with Mantle v2! But only for 2 games 6 months after card is released..

(sry couldnt resist).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 05-11-2014, 15:51 | posts: 8,920 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd7 View Post
ahh so you did, im off to specsavers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-11-2014, 15:57 | posts: 7,539 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Mantle V1 is good enough, API doesnt need adjustments like TressFx or Physx


OT; good, hopefully it will be cooler too..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
kd7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970m
Processor: i7 3630qm
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Recon3Di
PSU: 240W brick
Default 05-11-2014, 15:59 | posts: 140

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitzi76 View Post
Comes with Mantle v2! But only for 2 games 6 months after card is released..

(sry couldnt resist).
Luckily, in this case they just need to get the card to run to see the benefits, no special drivers required

Last edited by kd7; 05-11-2014 at 16:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
mitzi76
Ancient Guru
 
mitzi76's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 580 (Agua)
Processor: CoreI7 920@4ghz(EK Sup)
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb Corsair 1600
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1
PSU: 850w Antec
Default 05-11-2014, 16:00 | posts: 7,950 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd7 View Post
Luckily, in this case they just need to get card to run to see the benefits, no special drivers required
Haha true!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
LongWayRunner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA
Processor: Intel Core I7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 05-11-2014, 16:31 | posts: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by kd7 View Post
From these leaked slides it doesn't look like, they show a limit of 4 stacks/128GB/s (4x128=512) with 1GB/stack maximum for the first generation.

In fact the HBM bus width is 1024bit even for the first generation, so make that 1TB/s
Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
WiCz
Master Guru
 
WiCz's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 OC WF
Processor: i7 4770k @ 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M6H
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard: D2X / UD110v2
PSU: XFX Pro 650W
Default 05-12-2014, 09:11 | posts: 164 | Location: UK

I'd be happy if they'd release a Mantle driver that would detect my second screen
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
rl66
Master Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: Aspeed + Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon X5680 x2
Mainboard: Asus Z8PE D12
Memory: 48 Go RDIMM
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 05-12-2014, 09:50 | posts: 520 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Mantle V1 is good enough, API doesnt need adjustments like TressFx or Physx


OT; good, hopefully it will be cooler too..
i agree only Windows need adjustements (sry couldnt resist lol).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
MAD-OGRE
Ancient Guru
 
MAD-OGRE's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI EVGA 780 Classifieds
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @4.6Ghz
Mainboard: MSI z68A-GD80 G3
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengance
Soundcard:
PSU: CoolerMaster SP1000
Default 05-12-2014, 12:23 | posts: 2,899 | Location: Alabama

Nice, competition is good!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-12-2014, 13:25 | posts: 7,539 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Any more info, or just this new vram stuff?


Although I expect it to have lower temp. threshold now..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Aaron123
Master Guru
 
Aaron123's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 GHz Edition
Processor: AMD FX 8320 @ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 970A-UD3P
Memory: 10GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair TX750W
Default 05-12-2014, 13:40 | posts: 534 | Location: In a House..

They should release drivers that are worth a damn instead of releasing a new card...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 580 SLI 900/1800/4200
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 05-12-2014, 13:42 | posts: 6,790 | Location: Dubai, UAE / London, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAD-OGRE View Post
Nice, competition is good!
Yes, now, all we need is better pricing!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
kam03
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 @ 1150/1450
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Crucial 8GB 1866Mhz CL9
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V667 Receiver
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 1000W DXX
Default 05-14-2014, 17:35 | posts: 391 | Location: UK

Nice!

Since the ram is stacked how hot will they get and how would they be cooled?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 05-14-2014, 18:20 | posts: 7,539 | Location: Urban`Jungle

some nice power reduction



   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.