Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
SSD health check
Old
  (#1)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default SSD health check - 04-29-2014, 19:50 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

Is there a way to check for a failing SDD. I think this 250gb OCZ Agility 3 is causing me problems. A deleted BF4 from the drive, soon as I did this the drive disappeared from the Windows 8.1. Played around with the cables a little, managed to get it back up working again. I did a secure wipe of the entire drive and re-downloaded BF4 back to the drive. The issue I am getting now is the game will crash on the newest expansion, screen locks up. But for some reason it appears to work ok on the other maps.

Anyone get any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
fry178
Member Guru
 
fry178's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX750ti/2GB
Processor: i7-3770K@4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG Maximus V Gene
Memory: DDR3-2133/8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DSX/Logitech 2.1Thx
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 750w
Default 04-29-2014, 20:09 | posts: 94 | Location: Maryland

i would change the sata port, no difference?
swap the data cable/connect to a different power cable (psu).
small chance its the board/chipset.

use crystaldiskinfo to check the ssd health. i prefer the portable one, since i dont have to install it...


http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-29-2014, 20:11 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by fry178 View Post
i would change the sata port, no difference?
swap the data cable/connect to a different power cable (psu).
small chance its the board/chipset.

use crystaldiskinfo to check the ssd health. i prefer the portable one, since i dont have to install it...


http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en
Crystaldiskinfo is reporting both SSD's are in good health 100%. I'll change over the cables, and see if it helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-29-2014, 20:52 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

No difference. Apart form all maps now crash. I can get the game to crash straight away using the 2x optics attached to a rile. Soon as it's clicked in to place the game locks up. IF I don't do this the game will run for a little while, even getting through a round.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
joey79
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX780
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax
Default 05-07-2014, 19:12 | posts: 21

Can you please post a screenshot of the Crystaldiskinfo screen. And please expand the window, so all values are displayed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-22-2014, 12:18 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by joey79 View Post
Can you please post a screenshot of the Crystaldiskinfo screen. And please expand the window, so all values are displayed.
Here you go.



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 05-22-2014, 13:22 | posts: 1,321 | Location: UK



Had mine running a little longer than yours
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-22-2014, 13:28 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

I don't think I'll ever figure out why the drive (D) disappears. It happend again today when I uninstall a game. The folder froze, so did Windows, then a grey desktop screen. Once I rebooted the drive had gone again. Back now though.

Last edited by Ghosty; 05-22-2014 at 13:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-24-2014, 04:46 | posts: 9,399 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
I don't think I'll ever figure out why the drive (D) disappears. It happend again today when I uninstall a game. The folder froze, so did Windows, then a grey desktop screen. Once I rebooted the drive had gone again. Back now though.
It's a controller error. It's not going to show up in the SMART readings because it can't report when it's locked up. Just replace it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-24-2014, 22:04 | posts: 3,479 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
It's a controller error. It's not going to show up in the SMART readings because it can't report when it's locked up. Just replace it.
I will replace it some point, cheers.

Last edited by Ghosty; 05-24-2014 at 22:08.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.