Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
670 or 760...
Old
  (#1)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Arrow 670 or 760... - 04-28-2014, 17:06 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

I have 300 to drop for a card. Both are available (only 4 670's left) for around this price.

I know the 670 beats the 760 by a bit performance-wise, but it only comes in 2gb variants. Whereas the 760 would have 4gb video memory.

Any advice?

Last edited by TimmyP; 04-28-2014 at 17:29.
   
 
Old
  (#2)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 17:22 | posts: 7,810

If you're upgrading from what you currently have, I wouldn't bother. I'd be more inclined to upgrade to a newer CPU and motherboard.
   
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-28-2014, 17:29 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Your better off with a cpu mb ram upgrade than either of those cards.
   
Old
  (#4)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 17:29 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Its a free upgrade. :-) Otherwise I wouldn't because I am perfectly happy with what I have now.

Just the cards. I get store credit and need video.

Last edited by TimmyP; 04-28-2014 at 17:32.
   
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-28-2014, 17:34 | posts: 5,420 | Location: FLA,USA

Unless you are going SLI 4GB is a bit of a waste.
   
Old
  (#6)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-28-2014, 17:36 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I still wouldn't bother. Your cpu is going to bottleneck whatever card you choose and that 660ti is probably cpu bottlecked already.
   
Old
  (#7)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 17:42 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

False.

Its a free upgrade. Why would I not bother? Clearly free performance is worth it.

Please don't get into the bottle-necking ****. We entered the point of diminishing returns in about 2010-2011.

Again, this is completely free. I am only looking for suggestions.
   
Old
  (#8)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 04-28-2014, 17:45 | posts: 5,420 | Location: FLA,USA

670 as you already have a 7SMX GPU no sence in loosing cores. The 760 is a side grade at best. You may gain 10% performance in GPU limited scenarios but CPU limited situations will be no difference.
   
Old
  (#9)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-28-2014, 17:56 | posts: 18,722 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
False.

Its a free upgrade. Why would I not bother? Clearly free performance is worth it.

Please don't get into the bottle-necking ****. We entered the point of diminishing returns in about 2010-2011.

Again, this is completely free. I am only looking for suggestions.
Like I said those 2 cards are a lame upgrade from what you have. 760 has less shaders that a 660ti. A 670 is basically a 660ti with 256 bit bus vs 192 bit memory bus on the 660ti. Cpu limited situations will likey net 0 difference heavy gpu maybe 10% at best.
   
Old
  (#10)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 17:59 | posts: 7,810

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Its a free upgrade. :-) Otherwise I wouldn't because I am perfectly happy with what I have now.

Just the cards. I get store credit and need video.
Store credit isn't usually given for free, and if the store you're buying from has GPU's for sale I'm guessing they also sell CPU's and motherboards. There's really no point in switching to a 670 or 760 from what you're currently using.
   
 
Old
  (#11)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 18:07 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
Like I said those 2 cards are a lame upgrade from what you have. 760 has less shaders that a 660ti. A 670 is basically a 660ti with 256 bit bus vs 192 bit memory bus on the 660ti. Cpu limited situations will likely net 0 difference heavy gpu maybe 10% at best.
Yet when I throw a 680 in this I see a very, very noticeable performance difference.

I'm just gonna get the 670 thanks for the advice! (LOL this site sucks now)
   
Old
  (#12)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 18:11 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
670 as you already have a 7SMX GPU no sence in loosing cores. The 760 is a side grade at best. You may gain 10% performance in GPU limited scenarios but CPU limited situations will be no difference.
Thank you, that is all I was looking for.
   
Old
  (#13)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 19:04 | posts: 7,810

Yet another case of a poster coming here to be told what he wants to hear.
   
Old
  (#14)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-28-2014, 19:14 | posts: 9,164 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Yet when I throw a 680 in this I see a very, very noticeable performance difference.

I'm just gonna get the 670 thanks for the advice! (LOL this site sucks now)
Lol, sure you do. Enjoy the massive bottleneck.
   
Old
  (#15)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 19:15 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkest View Post
Yet another case of a poster coming here to be told what he wants to hear.
Its called reaffirmation son. You say that like there is something wrong with it. I wanted advice, and I got it (sort of, most G3D people don't really know wth they are talking about anymore).
   
Old
  (#16)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 19:17 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Lol, sure you do. Enjoy the massive bottleneck.
Uh... okay?
   
Old
  (#17)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 19:34 | posts: 7,810

Quote:
Originally Posted by IcE View Post
Lol, sure you do. Enjoy the massive bottleneck.
Ah well, we see this happen fairly regularly. Someone asks for advice, totally ignores it while making a bad decision, then acts as though everyone else is at fault for trying to steer them in the right direction. At least the questionable justification gave me a good laugh. Del Boy syndrome.

Last edited by Darkest; 04-28-2014 at 19:36.
   
Old
  (#18)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 19:47 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Maybe I didn't stress that I NEED A VIDEO CARD enough?

I am getting hard display corruption upon post (I never OC vga, and its always evga, always). The 660 still works (for now), but because I bought the replacement plan...I get back what I paid for it a year ago.

Now, I am getting 300 dollars in store credit (this is confirmed) because I am looking to utilize the replacement plan I bought (20 bucks extra). Prices have dropped since I bought the 660ti, so I can get something a little better and newer.

I guess this upgrade cost the price of the plan I bought 1 year ago...20 dollars.
   
Old
  (#19)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 19:49 | posts: 7,810

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Maybe I didn't stress that I NEED A VIDEO CARD enough?

I am getting hard display corruption upon post (I never OC vga, and its always evga, always). The 660 still works (for now), but because I bought the replacement plan...I get back what I paid for it a year ago.

Now, I am getting 300 dollars in store credit (this is confirmed) because I am looking to utilize the replacement plan I bought (20 bucks extra). Prices have dropped since I bought the 660ti, so I can get something a little better and newer.

I guess this upgrade cost the price of the plan I bought 1 year ago...20 dollars.
Yup. You could have made a better point of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Its a free upgrade. :-) Otherwise I wouldn't because I am perfectly happy with what I have now.

Just the cards. I get store credit and need video.
   
Old
  (#20)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-28-2014, 19:53 | posts: 3,316 | Location: Lebanon

Yeah, no bottleneck whatsoever...

Regarding the tone, why did you bother asking here then?
   
Old
  (#21)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K @4.0
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: SBZ + Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-28-2014, 19:57 | posts: 9,164 | Location: Toledo

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Maybe I didn't stress that I NEED A VIDEO CARD enough?

I am getting hard display corruption upon post (I never OC vga, and its always evga, always). The 660 still works (for now), but because I bought the replacement plan...I get back what I paid for it a year ago.

Now, I am getting 300 dollars in store credit (this is confirmed) because I am looking to utilize the replacement plan I bought (20 bucks extra). Prices have dropped since I bought the 660ti, so I can get something a little better and newer.

I guess this upgrade cost the price of the plan I bought 1 year ago...20 dollars.
Lying is a funny thing, it sure is easy to get caught. Try making up one story and sticking with it next time, eh?
   
Old
  (#22)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 20:00 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Yeah, no bottleneck whatsoever...

Regarding the tone, why did you bother asking here then?
I asked what the better card would be and got a plethora of answers unrelated to my question.

Why did I ask here? No idea anymore.
I remember when you would get an answer to a question.
   
Old
  (#23)
TimmyP
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670
Processor: AMD Phenom II 965 BE 4ghz
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G43
Memory: 8gb GSkill RJ DDR3 @1666
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Mystique
PSU: 550-Watt Rocketfish (CWT)
Default 04-28-2014, 20:02 | posts: 172 | Location: Reality

Quote:
Originally Posted by ice View Post
lying is a funny thing, it sure is easy to get caught. Try making up one story and sticking with it next time, eh?
wow.
   
Old
  (#24)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 04-28-2014, 20:07 | posts: 7,810

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
I asked what the better card would be and got a plethora of answers unrelated to my question.

Why did I ask here? No idea anymore.
I remember when you would get an answer to a question.
You received answers based upon what was best for you upgrade wise, because you were unclear in regard to a supposed GPU fault. When people gave you pertinent advice for a situation you had inadequately supplied information for, you went on to insult and act condescendingly toward members who were attempting to help.

Hilariously you're still doing it. I can at least assure you that I for one wont be offering you any advice in future.

Have a good day.
   
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 04-28-2014, 20:10 | posts: 26,671 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimmyP View Post
Its called reaffirmation son. You say that like there is something wrong with it. I wanted advice, and I got it (sort of, most G3D people don't really know wth they are talking about anymore).
you might want to check your attitude next time you post. Everything said above stands. Upgrading the cpu/mobo and keeping the 660ti would yield much better performance than sticking with the cpu/mobo you have now and getting a 670/760. It would also make your rig a lot more upgradeable for the future. I would report your posts normally, but I'd love for you to hang about. You could be the new Sollerholler. I miss that dude.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.