Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL (14.100.0.0 April 17)
Old
  (#1)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Talking AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL (14.100.0.0 April 17) - 04-25-2014, 20:14 | posts: 1,007 | Location: iTALY

Enjoy!

> Download <

Build Info:
DriverVer=04/17/2014, 14.100.0.0000
Catalyst: 14.4 WHQL
CCC: 2014.0417.2226.38446
D3D: 9.14.10.01029
OGL: 6.14.10.12847
OCL: 10.0.1445.5
Mantle: 9.1.10.0013

Desktop Supported Cards:
 Click to show spoiler

Mobility Supported Cards:
 Click to show spoiler



Twitter!
@asder00 | @guru_3d

Last edited by asder00; 04-25-2014 at 21:26.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 04-25-2014, 20:23 | posts: 5,721 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Are these the exact same drivers as the 14.4 RC1?

EDIT:

Yep they are the same driver, release notes are identical.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dezmand07
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD7850
Processor: Intel Core i5-3470
Mainboard: AsRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Memory: 2x4Gb 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Codegen 500W
Default 04-25-2014, 20:29 | posts: 8 | Location: Russia, Tver

14.4 WHQL + HD7850 + BF4 = NO MANTLE.
On 14.3 beta mantle work. Why?

Last edited by dezmand07; 04-25-2014 at 20:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
bear
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 6630M
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sony
Default 04-25-2014, 20:34 | posts: 20

I just compared 14.4 RC with this driver. They are not the same bit wise. This is newer.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
cadaver
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280X OC
Processor: Core i5 2400
Mainboard: GA-P67A-D3-B3
Memory: 8GB 1866
Soundcard: X-FI Extreme Music
PSU: OCZ500w
Default 04-25-2014, 20:43 | posts: 16

Quote:
Originally Posted by bear View Post
I just compared 14.4 RC with this driver. They are not the same bit wise. This is newer.
yep, it is, but in a few days they won't have produced another boost, so this obviuosly is the rc confirmed by ms
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-25-2014, 20:55 | posts: 470 | Location: South Africa

Is this the drivers that suppose to make mantle optimized for OLD GCN1.0 cards? if not then why the hell did AMD lied to us. oh well month is still not over
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bear
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 6630M
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Sony
Default 04-25-2014, 20:57 | posts: 20

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaver View Post
yep, it is, but in a few days they won't have produced another boost, so this obviuosly is the rc confirmed by ms
Just compare it yourself.
Even the release note is different.
Notice ARB_compute_variable_group_size is missing from WHQL.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Ltmatt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
Processor: 2700k@4.9ghz
Mainboard: P8P667 Deluxe
Memory: 16gb Sammy Green 2133mhz
Soundcard: G35
PSU: 750 xfx
Default 04-25-2014, 20:58 | posts: 116 | Location: Norwich

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
Is this the drivers that suppose to make mantle optimized for OLD GCN1.0 cards? if not then why the hell did AMD lied to us. oh well month is still not over
After some research by myself i believe that the problem lies with the BF4 application itself and EA, rather than AMD. 7xxx series cards get nice gains on Thief and Starswarm but their gains on BF4 Mantle are more limited. You have to ask yourself why that is? Read between the lines folks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-25-2014, 21:01 | posts: 470 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltmatt View Post
After some research by myself i believe that the problem lies with the BF4 application itself and EA, rather than AMD. 7xxx series cards get nice gains on Thief and Starswarm but their gains on BF4 Mantle are more limited. You have to ask yourself why that is? Read between the lines folks.
Well I'm still getting some nice boosts on BF4. It's just that my friend is getting something like 15FPS with mantle in BF4. He's running powercolor r9-270x devil crossfire. I still find it strangle that he's getting only 15FPS
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Heisenberg
Newbie
 
Heisenberg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6770m
Processor: Intel I7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 04-25-2014, 21:11 | posts: 7

Is there a link for mobility drivers or will these work on notebooks?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
asder00
Don Di Driver
 
asder00's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 4GB @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: 8GB G.Skill @ 2133Mhz CL9
Soundcard: X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: CoolerMaster 850W
Default 04-25-2014, 21:21 | posts: 1,007 | Location: iTALY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heisenberg View Post
Is there a link for mobility drivers or will these work on notebooks?
Oups sorry i forgot, added mobility now thanks


Twitter!
@asder00 | @guru_3d
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dezmand07
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD7850
Processor: Intel Core i5-3470
Mainboard: AsRock Z68 Pro3 Gen3
Memory: 2x4Gb 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi
PSU: Codegen 500W
Default 04-25-2014, 21:30 | posts: 8 | Location: Russia, Tver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ltmatt View Post
i believe that the problem lies with the BF4 application itself and EA
Right. I think for BF4 will be some patch, because Thief and StarSwarm excellent work on mantle.
And yet, when i init mantle, i analyze bf4.exe. All functions and prototypes i look there. As a result, BF4 don't work and test init too (AMD rebuild driver).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
KissSh0t
Maha Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX AMD R9 270 DD 2GB
Processor: Phenom 955 @3.8GHz 1.380v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 8GB 1333 CL7 Ripjaws X
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 04-25-2014, 21:44 | posts: 2,155 | Location: 0.0.0.0

I'm going to do a fresh installation of windows just for these... and if they crash just like the previous 14.4 beta's... I am going to legitimately punch a hole in my wall.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Heisenberg
Newbie
 
Heisenberg's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6770m
Processor: Intel I7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: None
Default 04-25-2014, 21:52 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by asder00 View Post
Oups sorry i forgot, added mobility now thanks
Thanks alot!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
dxmc4
Newbie
 
dxmc4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7870 OC
Processor: Intel Core I5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: Ripjaws DDR3-1600 8 GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill Capstone 650-M
Default 04-25-2014, 21:56 | posts: 17 | Location: British Columbia,Canada

OK, maybe I'm having a bad day but I'm still a little confused. I installed the 14.4 RC and it's working fine, is there any point in installing this latest WHQL release ? Or just save myself some hassle and stick with the RC. I'm not an expert so thanks in advance for any advice.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-25-2014, 22:08 | posts: 2,285 | Location: USA

no, OGL is newer in RC1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Benik3
Master Guru
 
Benik3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6630M+Intel HD3000
Processor: Intel i3 2310 2.1GHz
Mainboard: Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E520
Memory: 4GB SDRAM DDR3
Soundcard: Conexant Cx20590
PSU: -
Default 04-25-2014, 22:13 | posts: 442

Quote:
Originally Posted by bear View Post
I just compared 14.4 RC with this driver. They are not the same bit wise. This is newer.
You can't make bit comparison.
Even if the files would be same, these one has the certificate. So bits are different...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1300
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 04-25-2014, 22:17 | posts: 8,789 | Location: UK

Wonder why they never just waited the 2 extra days before putting them up
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
dxmc4
Newbie
 
dxmc4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7870 OC
Processor: Intel Core I5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: Ripjaws DDR3-1600 8 GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill Capstone 650-M
Default 04-25-2014, 22:17 | posts: 17 | Location: British Columbia,Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
no, OGL is newer in RC1
Thanks, sounds good to me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
WolfPT
Member Guru
 
WolfPT's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 2GB OC: 1.1/1.4
Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 @3.81Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A78L-MLX
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR3 6GB
Soundcard: Realtek/Logitech
PSU: 580W
Default 04-25-2014, 22:21 | posts: 78 | Location: Bournemouth, UK

The question here is, if these are worth downloading, as I've got the RC1... Is it really worth the hassle? :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BugMeister
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2xHD7870Ghz-2G crossfire
Processor: i7 965 Extreme Edition
Mainboard: FoxConn BloodRage
Memory: 3 x 4G Dominator-tripled
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi (onboard)
PSU: PowerStation 1200w
Default 04-25-2014, 22:39 | posts: 78 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxmc4 View Post
Thanks, sounds good to me.
- BF4 is finally playable in DX via ie11, using 14.4 RC1
- I'm amazed..!!

- makes me a bit reluctant to go messing with this WHQL version..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSi Radeon R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 04-25-2014, 22:49 | posts: 386 | Location: Brazil

I'm downloading it jut because CCC is newer and mine is not very good (slow to load).

Let's test it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
coldblackice
Member Guru
 
coldblackice's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 (1140/1675)
Processor: Intel i7 930 @ 4.25GHz
Mainboard: EVGA e758 x58
Memory: 18GB DDR3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: HDMI->Receiver/Klipsch
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 04-25-2014, 22:50 | posts: 111

So does this mean that DirectX improvements in AMD drivers are basically a thing of the past? Are we only going to see Mantle improvements anymore?

Besides BF4 and StarSwarm, 99% of the rest of the games out there use DirectX. So it's a bit annoying that the DX module doesn't seem to be getting anymore improvements (if I'm understanding correctly, which I may not be).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
dxmc4
Newbie
 
dxmc4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7870 OC
Processor: Intel Core I5 3570k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 Gaming
Memory: Ripjaws DDR3-1600 8 GB
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Rosewill Capstone 650-M
Default 04-25-2014, 22:52 | posts: 17 | Location: British Columbia,Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by BugMeister View Post
- BF4 is finally playable in DX via ie11, using 14.4 RC1
- I'm amazed..!!

- makes me a bit reluctant to go messing with this WHQL version..
That's great, I can also confirm that Dark Souls looks awesome with these RC1 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
botonddeak
Newbie
 
botonddeak's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7790
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Cooler master
Default 04-25-2014, 23:09 | posts: 5

Instant BSOD on windows 8.1 after installing the latest driver, back to RC1.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
@asder00

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.