Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
drooling
Old
  (#1)
kd7
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 7970m
Processor: i7 3630qm
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Recon3Di
PSU: 240W brick
Default drooling - 04-17-2014, 08:50 | posts: 140

295x2 CF

http://www.digitalstormonline.com/un...t-4k-idnum228/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 04-17-2014, 10:27 | posts: 2,018 | Location: Estonia

Nice, if you wanna play 4k, that's it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AcidSnow
Master Guru
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek R9 290X
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUStek P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: 12GB 6-6-6-18 @ 1333MHz
Soundcard: 5.1 Klipsch
PSU: 850W Corsair
Default 04-17-2014, 19:29 | posts: 326 | Location: Texas

Yeah 4k only, anything else is pretty much overkill.
I'll be using 1080p @ 60Hz for at least 3 to 5 more years. So my 290 is enough, but my 920 doesn't fair so well in some of the open world games
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-17-2014, 20:57 | posts: 2,424 | Location: USA

more likely your cpu....

RTS and open RPGs requre a lot of cpu juice...

Last edited by The Mac; 04-17-2014 at 22:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
-Eon-
Newbie
 
-Eon-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Amd Radeon R9 270X2
Processor: Intel Core I7 (8 cores)
Mainboard:
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 watt PSU
Default 04-20-2014, 19:58 | posts: 15 | Location: Houston, TX.USA

4K play with it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
msdos622wasfun
Newbie
 
msdos622wasfun's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 280X
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO
Memory: 16 GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 04-23-2014, 02:40 | posts: 27 | Location: Michigan, USA

Wow, two of those 295X2's pretty much slaughter everything else, but then again, why wouldn't they. It's like being surprised at the results you would get by putting twin turbos on a V-16 in a Viper or something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF H2O @ Qnix 110Hz
Processor: 5820K @4.3GHz 1.25V H2O
Mainboard: MSI X99S SLi Plus
Memory: 2x4GB Crucial DDR4-2133
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 04-23-2014, 03:56 | posts: 3,316 | Location: Lebanon

They have been shown not to scale well on various reviews. Well avoid anything above 2-3 GPUs from any vendor until they iron out the scaling for more than 2 GPUs.

A 295X2 has been shown to handle 4K 60Hz pretty well, but not completely maxed out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Skinner
Master Guru
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA SC 980 SLI
Processor: Intel 4770K@4,4 gHz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: G.Skill 16 GB DDR3-2400 C
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Enermax 1500
Default 04-26-2014, 22:00 | posts: 161 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
They have been shown not to scale well on various reviews. Well avoid anything above 2-3 GPUs from any vendor until they iron out the scaling for more than 2 GPUs.

A 295X2 has been shown to handle 4K 60Hz pretty well, but not completely maxed out.
Crysis3, AC 4and Skyrim with a heavy enb, everything is else fast enough most of the times. Maybe some pats of BF4 could use a bit of extra juice.
This is my own experience with two R290x's and a 4K screen.

I also really can recommed to go 4K, it's awesome in games. It's way better then downsampling to 3840x2160 from a 1080, or 1440P screen. If you have the patience, I should wait til real 60hz screens appear though. I've got the Dell UP2414Q, and it's a great screen, in fact, I would never change it, but it has some issue's now and then due mst rendering ie act as two screens, but boy those image goodness. Even windows 8.1 is pretty good most of the time, though certain apps not scaling. It's the best thing I did the last few years.

I gonna try two 295x's as I'm hooked on heavy enb modding in Skyrim and want it get smooth, yes crazy, but I have very much pleasure doing it. With a full packed config with advanced SSAO, reflection and Skylighting and tons of tree's-, grassmods and parallax it can stress a GPU quite good in 4K. Hopefully quad scales as good in this game as two way CF does now, otherwise it's no use.

Last edited by Skinner; 04-26-2014 at 22:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.