Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Game Tweaks and Modifications
Game Tweaks and Modifications This forum is dedicated to game modifications and tweaks. Here you can discuss performance and image quality modifications.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GTA 4 Graphics mods
Old
  (#1)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default GTA 4 Graphics mods - 04-15-2014, 12:35 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

Hi there.

Can anyone tell me what is the best looking graphics mods for GTA4. I'm going to install the game again and just want the game to look even better on my 2560x1440 monitor.


thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Little
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: SLI Gigabyte 670 WF 3 OC
Processor: i5 3570K 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Memory: 16GB G Skill Ripjaws 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750
Default 04-15-2014, 13:25 | posts: 819 | Location: PA

just wait for icenhancer 2.5 to be released. not sure about the future of gta 4 due to using gfwl though
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-15-2014, 13:28 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

But anything I can use in the meantime? I want anything to texture mods and enb/icenhancer and car mods etc etc. Mention me the best one yo guys prefer.

thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-15-2014, 13:31 | posts: 23,366 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

doesnt icenhancer have xlive.dll (which bypasses gfwl) ?

there are tons of mods, but some have bugs in them (like seeing the same cars over and over).

cant really recommend anythng since i havent touched it in years
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Netherwind
Maha Guru
 
Netherwind's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti ACX
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 4,4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: Corsair 16GB Ven. 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 850W HX
Default 04-15-2014, 13:53 | posts: 1,163 | Location: Sweden

Sleeping Dogs is a good option to GTA4 while waiting for Watch Dogs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Dorlor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x evga 780 ti sc acx
Processor: 4930k @ 4,5 ghz
Mainboard: Rampage IV formula
Memory: 4x4gb cl9 2133mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair ax1200i
Default 04-15-2014, 15:56 | posts: 565 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
Hi there.

Can anyone tell me what is the best looking graphics mods for GTA4. I'm going to install the game again and just want the game to look even better on my 2560x1440 monitor.


thanks
Depends if you want to play online or not.

If you want to play online, then just use sweetfx - smaa and lumnasharpen, which sweetfx provides, will make a HUGE difference in image quality.

Sweetfx (and a few custom cars)

http://i.imgur.com/l4AyKrC.jpg

No sweetfx

http://i.imgur.com/qVw1PzN.jpg


If you dont want to play online, then you could use a wide variety of mods and texture packs. Icenhancer and ultimate texture pack are probably the most popular, eventhough i personally dont like the look icenhancer gives.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-16-2014, 07:08 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

I'm not going to play online
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
russ1
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD65 Gaming
Memory: GSKILL Sniper 1866 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-750 80+ Gold
Default 04-16-2014, 07:20 | posts: 179 | Location: Thailand

Whatever you choose make sure you get the DkT roads they look Awesome.

Last edited by russ1; 04-16-2014 at 07:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 04-16-2014, 07:38 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Australia

DKT had mentioned recently a full texture pack was in the works, I hope it is still released and not delayed too long. That, coupled with Icenhancer 2.5, should give the best GTA IV experience.

The real issue is if GTA V is released (which we all hope it will be, and done properly) before these enhancements are finished, then the focus may shift to GTA V enhancements instead.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-16-2014, 09:39 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

so I have the following mods

DKT70 Hd roads

http://www.gta4-mods.com/vehicles/re...-pack-v4-f8054


http://www.gta4-mods.com/misc/hd-trees-f27090

icenhancer 2.1

Anything else I should get please link
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-16-2014, 10:31 | posts: 6,561 | Location: 127.0.0.1

GTAV Map for GTAIV
http://gta4.re/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 04-16-2014, 10:32 | posts: 10,425 | Location: United kingdom

Check out my modification of this game that i did sometime back. One of the best!
ICEhancer is ****, i tested it and its nowhere near as good as L3EVO ENB.
I used a ****load of mods here also managed to do it with no taxi bug.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMH5jJBarpA
View in 1080p.

Also all the mods i used are in this thread aswell as a wealth of information.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=337618
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
EpicLoss
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
Processor: FX6300@4.5Ghz 1.4375v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0
Memory: 8gb Team Vulcan 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC887
PSU: Cooler master GX 550
Default 04-16-2014, 10:57 | posts: 1,085 | Location: Midlands/UK

anyone know how to get gta4 running on win 8.1?

i have the steam version and the game loads past securom fine but after loading from the menu the game crashes to desktop

tried all the compatability modes for both gta4.exe and launchgta4.exe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-16-2014, 11:02 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Check out my modification of this game that i did sometime back. One of the best!
ICEhancer is ****, i tested it and its nowhere near as good as L3EVO ENB.
I used a ****load of mods here also managed to do it with no taxi bug.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMH5jJBarpA
View in 1080p.

Also all the mods i used are in this thread aswell as a wealth of information.
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=337618
I will try that one out. I'm just at work and will only be able to test the things when i get home in 5 hours


Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicLoss View Post
anyone know how to get gta4 running on win 8.1?

i have the steam version and the game loads past securom fine but after loading from the menu the game crashes to desktop

tried all the compatability modes for both gta4.exe and launchgta4.exe

oh I'm also on windows 8.1 Hope the game still works
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 04-16-2014, 11:45 | posts: 3,972 | Location: Australia

Icenhancer 2.5 is significantly different to 2.1, no comparison.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
EpicLoss
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
Processor: FX6300@4.5Ghz 1.4375v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0
Memory: 8gb Team Vulcan 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC887
PSU: Cooler master GX 550
Default 04-16-2014, 12:52 | posts: 1,085 | Location: Midlands/UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
oh I'm also on windows 8.1 Hope the game still works
i seem to have gotten it working with the xliveless dll

mod time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
yosef019
Maha Guru
 
yosef019's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770 4gb @1250mhz
Processor: i5 3570k 4.6 1.2v NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: 8GB 2133 ARES CL9 2T
Soundcard: SB Recon3D Pro Fatality
PSU: Crosair 860i
Default 04-16-2014, 13:11 | posts: 1,735 | Location: Israel - Haifa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
GTAV Map for GTAIV
http://gta4.re/
how install this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-16-2014, 13:11 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicLoss View Post
i seem to have gotten it working with the xliveless dll

mod time
Can you link me to the file please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 3GB Eyefinity
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.1 HT H100
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD45
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1600
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio + X-540
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 04-16-2014, 14:16 | posts: 1,011 | Location: Tennessee

Ive downloaded all these mods. I havent tried GTA4 since I had my q6600 rig. That was @ 3.6 4gb ddr2 800, and HD 5770 1gb. Current rig should run this game nicely

I always have fun driving around gta games and causing chaos.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 04-16-2014, 14:34 | posts: 491 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agonist View Post
Ive downloaded all these mods. I havent tried GTA4 since I had my q6600 rig. That was @ 3.6 4gb ddr2 800, and HD 5770 1gb. Current rig should run this game nicely

I always have fun driving around gta games and causing chaos.
Yeah I had a GTX280 or GTX570 and only q9450 i think so game should run like a beast now. If I get my crossfire again it should run even better
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
styckx
Master Guru
 
styckx's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 680 Twin Frozr SLI
Processor: I7 2600k @ 4.2
Mainboard: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB Mushkin Redline
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
PSU: Silent Pro Gold 1200W
Default 04-16-2014, 14:38 | posts: 762 | Location: South Jersey

Stay away from car packs. Will cause nothing but severe graphical problems because most of the car packs textures are huge compared to default.

One mod I used that changes the city is Real Shops v2 HD

http://www.gta4-mods.com/misc/real-shops-v2-hd-f24342
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-16-2014, 14:39 | posts: 6,561 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by yosef019 View Post
how install this?
To install the mod (really simple):
1. Extract the LOD MAP zip file.
2. Go to your main GTA IV directory in program files.
3. Drag and drop the downloaded mod folders into the main GTA IV directory.
4. Done!
http://kotaku.com/pc-mod-turns-gta-i...-of-1503020525
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 3GB Eyefinity
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.1 HT H100
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD45
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1600
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio + X-540
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 04-16-2014, 14:53 | posts: 1,011 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by styckx View Post
Stay away from car packs. Will cause nothing but severe graphical problems because most of the car packs textures are huge compared to default.

One mod I used that changes the city is Real Shops v2 HD

http://www.gta4-mods.com/misc/real-shops-v2-hd-f24342
I never had any graphical problems with car packs. I find GTA games boring without modded cars. Im a huge car nut. Only issue is the the taxi bug and some random crashes while driving cars here and there on my old rig. Having to download the game through steam since my dvds are missing. 13Gb on cell phone internet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
EpicLoss
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
Processor: FX6300@4.5Ghz 1.4375v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 EVO R2.0
Memory: 8gb Team Vulcan 2400Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek ALC887
PSU: Cooler master GX 550
Default 04-16-2014, 14:55 | posts: 1,085 | Location: Midlands/UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
Can you link me to the file please
no problem

http://public.sannybuilder.com/GTA4/...ss-0.999b7.rar
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 04-16-2014, 22:10 | posts: 10,425 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by styckx View Post
Stay away from car packs. Will cause nothing but severe graphical problems because most of the car packs textures are huge compared to default.

One mod I used that changes the city is Real Shops v2 HD

http://www.gta4-mods.com/misc/real-shops-v2-hd-f24342
What carpacks actually do is cause the Taxi bug which means an endless spawn of Taxis. Through alot of research and many hours spent, probably weeks actually i tried out a load of different mods and i managed to get rid of the Taxi Bug.

There is also another problem when using some other taxi bug fixes, the actual fix produces texture pop-up.

Here is my video you can see from here that i have Realife cars but no taxi bug or Pop-up. I changed all the lighting, roads, textures etc. All completely maxxed out running smooth.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMH5jJBarpA

2.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1V7yUmBoARQ

This zombie mod looks alright.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7yklRG2u4wQ

Last edited by Veteran; 04-16-2014 at 22:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.