Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3930K Advanced Overclocking
Old
  (#1)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 3930K Advanced Overclocking - 04-02-2014, 00:10 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Hey Gurus

Been tryna get my 3930K to 4.4 GHz with HT on and I'm struggling.

With HT off, 4.2 requires 1.26 V, 4.3 needs 1.30 V and 4.4 needs 1.35 with a specific setting of PLL voltage (1.79 V, standard = 1.81).

I know my board isn't THE best for OCing my CPU, but that's not why I bought it, I'm just wandering if some other effect is starting to come into play here with regards to other voltages. For 4.2 and 4.3 I can get it stable with HT on at HT off Vcore + 0.015 V, but 4.4 is behaving rather weirdly.

I've tried 1.35 V, 1.36 V and 1.37 V with 4.4 and HT on at 1.79 V PLL and not stable, though it does last longer under OCCT with the higher voltages. Varying PLL up and/or down does not help stability.

Is there a chance that the two uncore voltages (IMC/the other one) need to be upped (they're both at 1.2 V atm, recommended max for air cooling) to get 4.4 HT on stable?

Cooling wise I'm hitting high 70s with 1.37 V and 4.4 GHz, so fine for regular use under those conditions.

Any thoughts?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 04-02-2014, 12:13 | posts: 11,866 | Location: new jersey

You need more cpu voltage
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-02-2014, 13:37 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
You need more cpu voltage
Surely it shouldn't need 1.38+ V with HT on when it needs 1.35 with HT off?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-02-2014, 19:26 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Tried 4.4 with 1.4 V, temps are getting excessive. Doubt it needs anywhere near that much Vcore to be stable, problem has to lie elsewhere here.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Dragondale13
Master Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2Gb SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD3-F18 Mod
Memory: GSkill Sniper 16GB 2133
Soundcard: X-FI Ti.Champ + Z5300 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850 Watt
Default 04-03-2014, 15:22 | posts: 305 | Location: Trinidad & Tobago, W.I.

Are you using the latest beta bios? F5f?
Turbo power limit at 250W?
LLC at Turbo or higher?

May not be what you want to hear, but I think cowie's right.At 4.4/4.5 ghz as I mentioned in another thread.I have to set LLC to turbo or higher.At turbo, my voltage maxes out at 1.38v HT-on.So it could possibly put you at 1.4v.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-03-2014, 15:42 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

I need 1.34 for 4.3 with HT on 4.5 i need 1.4 could be you got a bad oc'er i leave mine @ 4.3 cause i don't see much benefits for a higher OC.With my X60 kraken i get max temps in prime in the mid 60 sixties with prime95 after 3 hours.My previous X79 board was a Asus X79 Pro and i needed more voltage for the same oc as with my Gigabyte board,also i only use LLC on Medium with my Gigabyte board.

Last edited by weasel; 04-03-2014 at 17:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-03-2014, 17:05 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondale13 View Post
Are you using the latest beta bios? F5f?
Turbo power limit at 250W?
LLC at Turbo or higher?

May not be what you want to hear, but I think cowie's right.At 4.4/4.5 ghz as I mentioned in another thread.I have to set LLC to turbo or higher.At turbo, my voltage maxes out at 1.38v HT-on.So it could possibly put you at 1.4v.
I'm on F5a atm, this is the one where LLC actually started working. Turbo power limit is 250, current limit similar. LLC is on the one below max, that way it doesn't overvolt when loaded. Thing being I only need 1.35 for 4.4 HT off, so it shouldn't need 1.4 for stability.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weasel View Post
I need 1.34 for 4.3 with HT on 4.5 i need 1.4 could be you got a bad oc'er i leave mine @ 4.3 cause i don't see much benefits for a higher OC.With my X60 kraken i get max temps in prime in the mid 60 sixties with prime95 after 3 hours.My previous X79 board was a Asus X79 deluxe and i needed more voltage for the same oc as with my Gigabyte board,also i only use LLC on Medium with my Gigabyte board.
This board is known as a fairly bad OCer but most reviewers manage to get 4.6 out of it with no issues. Like I said, I can't see it needing 1.38+ V for stability with HT on vs 1.35 with it off, gotta be something else at play here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-03-2014, 17:44 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

1.4 with Ht for 4.4 could be possible if its stable why not aslong as its cooled enough then you are ok.But as i read your cooling is insufficient temps ramp up.Maybe invest in a nice custom loop or a good AIO setup.Have you tried the modded bios'es from the other forum wich i pm'ed you a while back?Soon i have my Asus board back think i'm going to build a second X79 system.

Last edited by weasel; 04-03-2014 at 17:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
MaidenFred
Member Guru
 
MaidenFred's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 Lightning BE
Processor: i7-3930k@4.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UP4
Memory: 4*4go ddr3-2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus STX II
PSU: SilverPower 750W green
Default 04-03-2014, 17:50 | posts: 48 | Location: France

Hello,
Mine is 24/7 stable @ 4.4GHz with 1.33V under load. (1.34V idle)

Here are my bios settings:
CPU Vcore : Normal
Dynamic Vcore: +0.030V
CPU Vtt : 1.100V
CPU PLL : 1.830V
IMC : 0.960V (4*4Go 2133MHz)
Temps with NH-D14: 80 max on cores with LinX

Check if Vdrop is not too high...

I had a problem with it: if I manually set CPU voltage, Vdrop was huge, I had to set it at 1.39V to keep 1.32V under load.
The only way to have less Vdrop was to leave CPU voltage on Normal and adjust the offset.
Of course I tweaked the CPU Loadline Calibration (set to Extreme with both voltage settings) but only the second way worked for me.

I disabled all power saving states except C1E, it's stable with less heat (and noise)

Last edited by MaidenFred; 04-03-2014 at 18:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
MaidenFred
Member Guru
 
MaidenFred's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 Lightning BE
Processor: i7-3930k@4.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UP4
Memory: 4*4go ddr3-2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus STX II
PSU: SilverPower 750W green
Default 04-03-2014, 17:59 | posts: 48 | Location: France

For higher clocks I suggest the H220, now i run 4.5GHz with 1.38V under load (1.39 idle) and 78 max on cores with LinX

I have 4 fans push-pull at low speeds... it's quiet and my wife is happy now! LOL

Last edited by MaidenFred; 04-03-2014 at 18:19.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Dragondale13
Master Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2Gb SLi
Processor: Intel i7 3930K @ 4.3 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79-UD3-F18 Mod
Memory: GSkill Sniper 16GB 2133
Soundcard: X-FI Ti.Champ + Z5300 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850 Watt
Default 04-03-2014, 18:25 | posts: 305 | Location: Trinidad & Tobago, W.I.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
I'm on F5a atm, this is the one where LLC actually started working. Turbo power limit is 250, current limit similar. LLC is on the one below max, that way it doesn't overvolt when loaded. Thing being I only need 1.35 for 4.4 HT off, so it shouldn't need 1.4 for stability.
I guess you can try the offsets.I have not touched that so can't give in depth advice on it.Only other thing I can suggest is trying the new bios.Hope you get it sorted soon!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-03-2014, 18:46 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by weasel View Post
1.4 with Ht for 4.4 could be possible if its stable why not aslong as its cooled enough then you are ok.But as i read your cooling is insufficient temps ramp up.Maybe invest in a nice custom loop or a good AIO setup.Have you tried the modded bios'es from the other forum wich i pm'ed you a while back?Soon i have my Asus board back think i'm going to build a second X79 system.
I had a H100i with 4 NF-F12s for a while on my old X58 rig, was noisy and died randomly one day. I'd rather avoid AIOs again, at least Corsair again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaidenFred View Post
Hello,
Mine is 24/7 stable @ 4.4GHz with 1.33V under load. (1.34V idle)

Here are my bios settings:
CPU Vcore : Normal
Dynamic Vcore: +0.030V
CPU Vtt : 1.100V
CPU PLL : 1.830V
IMC : 0.960V (4*4Go 2133MHz)
Temps with NH-D14: 80 max on cores with LinX

Check if Vdrop is not too high...

I had a problem with it: if I manually set CPU voltage, Vdrop was huge, I had to set it at 1.39V to keep 1.32V under load.
The only way to have less Vdrop was to leave CPU voltage on Normal and adjust the offset.
Of course I tweaked the CPU Loadline Calibration (set to Extreme with both voltage settings) but only the second way worked for me.

I disabled all power saving states except C1E, it's stable with less heat (and noise)
I might be able to drop VTT and IMC down a bit from 1.2 V to 1.1 ish or maybe even less (IIRC these two are meant to be the same). Vdrop is about 0.01 V with my current LLC settings. I'm leaving my power savings on for idle low-power goodness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaidenFred View Post
For higher clocks I suggest the H220, now i run 4.5GHz with 1.38V under load (1.39 idle) and 78 max on cores with LinX

I have 4 fans push-pull at low speeds... it's quiet and my wife is happy now! LOL
If I can find a good enough AIO, I might consider it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondale13 View Post
I guess you can try the offsets.I have not touched that so can't give in depth advice on it.Only other thing I can suggest is trying the new bios.Hope you get it sorted soon!
CHeers. Offsets work for 4.3 at about -0.04 V, standard Vid for 4.3 is 1.371 V give or take for my CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-03-2014, 18:50 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

Then buy that AIO from coolermaster they give 5 years warranty i think.I believe Hilbert published it some time ago on the front page.I believe you on the H100I i have a H100 in my second system and it has the rattle...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-03-2014, 20:08 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by weasel View Post
Then buy that AIO from coolermaster they give 5 years warranty i think.I believe Hilbert published it some time ago on the front page.I believe you on the H100I i have a H100 in my second system and it has the rattle...
I may well consider that. The rattle/dying was the reason I went back to the Noctua, that and the silence. I've also considered the Silverstone 240 mm one.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 AmpF 1215MHz
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 04-03-2014, 20:31 | posts: 6,921 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Kraken X60, top

2nd Corsair H110 & CoolerMaster Nepton 280L
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-03-2014, 20:54 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
I may well consider that. The rattle/dying was the reason I went back to the Noctua, that and the silence. I've also considered the Silverstone 240 mm one.
I have the NZXT X60 almost a year now very nice set had custom loops also back in the days but got lazy,i can recommend the NZXT X60 control,software is ok to
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-03-2014, 23:16 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Kraken X60, top

2nd Corsair H110 & CoolerMaster Nepton 280L
I'll have a look at that one. Never touching Corsairs H series again, too unreliable. I'll check the Nepton out, too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by weasel View Post
I have the NZXT X60 almost a year now very nice set had custom loops also back in the days but got lazy,i can recommend the NZXT X60 control,software is ok to
Is it low system usage software? Corsairs one absolutely eats resources.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 AmpF 1215MHz
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W|52A
Default 04-03-2014, 23:25 | posts: 6,921 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Actually that Nepton280L can be better then Kraken x60, but its probably a little noisier, for example custom LianLi fans were more effective and quieter.


quick link reviews from here http://geizhals.eu/cooler-master-nep...-a1058967.html

http://www.tweakpc.de/hardware/tests...n_280l/s04.php

*bellow

http://awardfabrik.de/enermax-vs-cooler-master/10/


EDIT: H110 is solid too, it doesnt have any monitoring sw. I own H90 and really happy with it, wish it was a little more powerful though

Idk about Kraken x60 I only looked how it preformed, im not a fan of any controlling sw like that either.

Last edited by -Tj-; 04-04-2014 at 00:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI & 750Ti Physx
Processor: i7 4930K @ 4.5/1.4v - X60
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Gskill RipjawsX-2133/64GB
Soundcard: STX - T40 II / DT 990 Pro
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1000w
Default 04-04-2014, 05:16 | posts: 247 | Location: Philippines

I use Kraken X60 with my 4930K @ 4.5ghz - 1.4v. Temps never go above 80 degrees.

I only use Two fans in Pull configuration. I use h100i before and X60 cools better. I like the sw on X60 much better than H100i. Can't say what sw eats more resources though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-04-2014, 08:53 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLEH! View Post
Is it low system usage software? Corsairs one absolutely eats resources.
Yes the name is kraken control software,although early version we're a bit temperamental,i don't have any problems with the latest version you can monitor everything with it cause it installs openhardware monitor.Very user friendly.I use 4 fans from annother brand on my X60 radiator because the default ones from NZXT can get loud.

75mb ram usage for kraken control and openhardware monitor togheter
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-04-2014, 11:53 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Cool, maybe time for a cooler upgrade then. I've also considered throwing my rig back in my HAF-X for better airflow, that would probably help a bit, too. I've got the side off the DS1 atm.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Smile 04-04-2014, 13:29 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

That could help but i still think a cooler upgrade is a better choice,but You can give it a try and post your results.

Cheers have a good weekend m8
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: "Core i9" @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1600MHz@9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-04-2014, 14:41 | posts: 4,639 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by weasel View Post
That could help but i still think a cooler upgrade is a better choice,but You can give it a try and post your results.

Cheers have a good weekend m8
Cheers mate, I'm having a weekend away anyhoo, so the PC won't be doing anything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
weasel
Master Guru
 
weasel's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xEvga GTX760acx & GTX770
Processor: 3930K@4.4 & 4790K@4.5
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79UP4&Asus Z97C
Memory: Gskill2133 & Corsair1600
Soundcard: Asus D2X&logitech G430
PSU: HX850&TX650v2
Default 04-04-2014, 15:36 | posts: 397 | Location: Belgium

Well then You have the entire weekend To think about solving This have a good weekend
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
hold_on_tight
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 660 Ti
Processor: 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H
Memory: Team Dark 8Gb 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
PSU: Enermax Pro 82+ 425W
Default 04-27-2014, 14:33 | posts: 12 | Location: Ukraine

You need more cpu voltage
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.