Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Corsair AX1500i to get 80 Plus Titanium Certification
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Corsair AX1500i to get 80 Plus Titanium Certification - 03-25-2014, 08:00 | posts: 21,532 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Yeah, you heard that right.Â*Titanium, a new standard that I didn't even know of.Â*Corsair powerhouse 1500 Watt AX1500i is now qualified for 80 Plus Titanium efficiency rating which obviously is bett...

Corsair AX1500i to get 80 Plus Titanium Certification
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-25-2014, 08:08 | posts: 1,422 | Location: Japan, Soka

Great looking PSU. Investing from now might save some power for 24/7 systems that working for years and someday buy its own price with efficiency.

Looks like Platinum was added back in 2009.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/80_Plus


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SirDremor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX680 2Gb
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 3x2Gb
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 03-25-2014, 08:21 | posts: 271 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
Looks like Platinum was added back in 2009.
And here we talk about Titanium

Regadless, great PSU!.. though I am not sure what non-uber-high-end PC might ever need such power =)
Crypto-mining?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-25-2014, 08:36 | posts: 1,422 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDremor View Post
And here we talk about Titanium

Regadless, great PSU!.. though I am not sure what non-uber-high-end PC might ever need such power =)
Crypto-mining?
Could be good for overclockers....
Put 4 MSI Radeon R9-290X Lightning... overclock it... overclock that 6core Intel CPU...


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 03-25-2014, 10:45 | posts: 492 | Location: 30.0000° S, 25.0000° E

Absolutely love SeaSonic, Ahem, i mean Corsair.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
k3vst3r
Ancient Guru
 
k3vst3r's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri-fire 290x Qnix 120Hz
Processor: i7 4770k 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VI
Memory: 4x4GB 2400
Soundcard: SB X-FI Titanium
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 03-25-2014, 11:00 | posts: 3,065 | Location: Sheffield UK

far as am aware seasonic don't make the AX range for corsair


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX970 GAMING
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 03-25-2014, 12:21 | posts: 4,543 | Location: Romania

A monster PSU like this would last for many, many years, 3+ generations of ultra high end hardware, hence the price.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
FerCam™
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290X
Processor: i7 4820k 4.6GHz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Formula IV
Memory: 4x4GB CorsairVant 2133GHz
Soundcard: Xonar DX+Homemade Amp
PSU: Corsair HX-850 v2 gold
Default 03-25-2014, 16:51 | posts: 155 | Location: Portugal

Next 80plus PSU classification: Strontium

Would be nice to see 90+% efficiency on 600W psu's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-25-2014, 17:18 | posts: 4,156 | Location: Australia

Look at the 230 V efficiency (115 V that the US has is less efficient).


Goes from around 90.5 percent efficiency at 20 percent load, maxes at 95 percent efficiency at 50 percent load, and then drops to around 92.5 percent efficiency at 100 percent load.
http://www.enermax.com/home.php?fn=e...&lv1=52&no=182

I'm on 230 V here (it's 230 V -6/+10 percent as standard in Aus, my local supply is around 245 V).

So, you can get it with 600W PSU's.

They get a bad rep on here because they are a mutli-rail PSU, which isn't bad in a good quality modern PSU despite what people think (google psu rail multi single)

Last edited by thatguy91; 03-25-2014 at 17:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
StewieTech
Chuck Norris
 
StewieTech's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280
Processor: i5 4670k [4.4]
Mainboard: AsRock z87 Extreme3
Memory: Kingston 8GB [1600]
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ ZT 550W
Default 03-25-2014, 17:25 | posts: 1,386 | Location: Portugal

Hard. Respect. Wonder what they´ll add after titaninum.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 03-25-2014, 17:36 | posts: 4,156 | Location: Australia

Molybdenum, Rhodium, Palladium, Rhenium, Technetium, Tantalum, Niobium, Hafnium, Tantalum, Iridium?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-25-2014, 17:51 | posts: 6,880 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
far as am aware seasonic don't make the AX range for corsair
They make them all except for the AX1200
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
-=WolverinE=-
Member Guru
 
-=WolverinE=-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX560Ti DirectCu II
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Extreme6
Memory: Corsair Dominator 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Fractal Design Newton R3
Default 03-25-2014, 18:13 | posts: 68

Quote:
Originally Posted by k3vst3r View Post
far as am aware seasonic don't make the AX range for corsair
All of the AX range except CMPSU-1200AX are Seasonic OEM. The exception and all of the AXi range are Flextronics. Source:

http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page447.htm

As for the PSU, I'm not impressed:

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2012/...supply_review/
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.