Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 14.3 Beta 1.0 (13.350.1005 March 12)
Old
  (#1)
stasio
Member Guru
 
stasio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTS 450 SC
Processor: Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
Memory: F3-2600C10D-8GTXD
Soundcard:
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 720W
Default AMD Catalyst 14.3 Beta 1.0 (13.350.1005 March 12) - 03-18-2014, 05:05 | posts: 112

AMD Catalyst™ 14.3 Beta V1.0

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/..._download.html

DriverVer= 03/12/2014, 13.350.1005.0000

Last edited by rflair; 03-31-2014 at 22:57.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ToBbErT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x sapphire 7870
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: p8z77-v le plus
Memory: 16gb 2400mhz Kingston
Soundcard: xonar dgx
PSU: xfx 850w be silver
Default 03-18-2014, 05:24 | posts: 148

Thx installing now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
crz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x R9 290 Gigabyte WF3
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: 2 x 8 GB DDR3 1600 GEIL
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2
Default 03-18-2014, 06:21 | posts: 60 | Location: Bucharest

Quote:
Thief:
AMD Mantle and AMD True Audio support
Improves stuttering observed in CrossFire mode
Audio issues observed when using CrossFire configurations (and V-sync enabled) have been resolved
Quote:
Secondary GPUs do not enter low power state on CrossFire configurations; this issue will be addressed in the next AMD Catalyst beta release
You win some, you lose some. Crap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Bogeyx
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2xR9 270@1100MHZ
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.8GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 8GB 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 03-18-2014, 07:44 | posts: 12 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Secondary GPUs do not enter low power state on CrossFire configurations
Always or sometimes? Can someone confimre this?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 03-18-2014, 07:45 | posts: 486 | Location: South Africa

Wow secondary card not entering low power state. That's bad even for a beta driver. lol. So we have to wait yet another month for a driver that's most probably also going to suck.

BTW have anyone tested this with BF?. Does mantle actually work on crossfire gcn 1.0 cards without massive stutters after a while making mantle 90% worse than directx? if mantle doesn't work good with my cards this time then mantle is a load of BS. Mantle is a good concept but badly executed and i though ok mantle will come and i got a pretty sweet deal on my cards but ATM it doesn't look like it was a good deal on the cards.

Last edited by DiceAir; 03-18-2014 at 07:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
David Ryder
Newbie
 
Videocard: Radeon R9 290X Tri-X OC
Processor: Core i7 3770K @4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHZ
Soundcard: Realtek onboard soundchip
PSU: Dark Power 10 750W
Default 03-18-2014, 08:26 | posts: 8 | Location: Germany

If I have learned anything in 10 years of using graphics cards, it's never use a multi GPU setup because it sucks A$$. Better performance in benchmarks and synthetic environments but a pain to play you usual games with.
More tearing effects, driver problems, artefacts, flickering, BSODs and obsolete in 2-3 years anyway when a newly released single GPU card will reach the same performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
rongtw
Member Guru
 
Videocard: sapphire 7850 OC 2 gig
Processor: amd FX 6300
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 12 gig corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX/XD
PSU: corsair HX 650
Default 03-18-2014, 08:33 | posts: 81 | Location: bradford uk

by far the best driver i have used , mantle works sweet now on BF4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 03-18-2014, 08:39 | posts: 486 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ryder View Post
If I have learned anything in 10 years of using graphics cards, it's never use a multi GPU setup because it sucks A$$. Better performance in benchmarks and synthetic environments but a pain to play you usual games with.
More tearing effects, driver problems, artefacts, flickering, BSODs and obsolete in 2-3 years anyway when a newly released single GPU card will reach the same performance.
Yeah but there is no card in the world that will give me 120fps 2560x1440 anyway.

Maybe in 10 years time from now multi gpu will be much better but yeah. For now single gpu is better. I've learned it the hard way. AMD can say what about mantle and how good it is cause on many systems it still stutters like crazy. I still have to test this drivers out in BF4 cause I'm at work so can't test now. Will test as soon aas i get home. I hope this will help as I'm about to sell my cards if at least the next 2 drivers don't solve the issue. I tried everything from unparking cores to running windows 8.1, resetting bios back to defaults, changing cards around, uninstalling drivers using DDU and checking dpc and nothing can solve the stuttering with mantle. With Directx i'm getting almost 100% cpu usage in BF4. After a months wait they still have to many issues with it. i know it's in beta but still it's a pathetic attempt AMD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
viewstar
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7850 OC 1Gb
Processor: Q9450@3.2Ghz
Mainboard: MSI P35 NEO2 FR
Memory: 4x2Gb DDR800 Kingmax
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: Enermax EES500AWT
Default 03-18-2014, 08:53 | posts: 3

Same thing here in BF4 like in the previous versions of Mantle crap. Uber low performance with mantle enabled on a HD7850. So, yet another no HD7xxx driver support for mantle, I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
TUMIK
Newbie
 
TUMIK's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD 7790
Processor: Phenom x4
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 500W
Default 03-18-2014, 08:58 | posts: 8

that for new service (ACP user service)?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 03-18-2014, 09:01 | posts: 486 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by viewstar View Post
Same thing here in BF4 like in the previous versions of Mantle crap. Uber low performance with mantle enabled on a HD7850. So, yet another no HD7xxx driver support for mantle, I guess.
WTF. No gcn1.0 driver support. This is unacceptable from AMD. I have the feeling AMD will not be here much longer. I know mantle is like free performance but if it worked right people will be like screw Nvidia we get much better and smoother performance. I know I'm crying a lot but i spend a fortune on my 2 cards and so far having a bad experience.

Oh and I've checked no new mantle version in the driver so i suppose just added support for thief but still not old GCN1.0 cards.

Last edited by DiceAir; 03-18-2014 at 09:04.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
freeman94
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE HD7870 OC 2GB
Processor: i5 3570
Mainboard: ASUS P8H77-M PRO
Memory: DDR3 (2x4GB) 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtek + Sony STR-KSL500
PSU: OCZ 600W
Default 03-18-2014, 09:27 | posts: 143 | Location: Poland

Confirm, no improvments in Battlefield 4 Mantle mode, on HD7870.
Still no HD7000 correct support.
I suppose, I will still wait another 3 month for drivers...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Napster
Master Guru
 
Napster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x R9 290,3x R9 290x
Processor: BMW I7 3930K@4.7Ghz H2O
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 16GB 2400MHZ CL10
Soundcard: Sennheiser PC363D
PSU: Silverstone 1500Watt Stri
Default 03-18-2014, 09:33 | posts: 424 | Location: Australia

frame pacing on mantle seems none existent in BF4
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
LeeKM
Master Guru
 
LeeKM's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970M
Processor: i7-3610QM
Mainboard: HM77
Memory: DDR3 8GB (Dual)
Soundcard: REALTEK
PSU: 180W
Default 03-18-2014, 09:34 | posts: 446 | Location: South Korea

AMD Mobility....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 03-18-2014, 09:42 | posts: 1,922 | Location: Estonia

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiceAir View Post
Wow secondary card not entering low power state. That's bad even for a beta driver. lol. So we have to wait yet another month for a driver that's most probably also going to suck.

BTW have anyone tested this with BF?. Does mantle actually work on crossfire gcn 1.0 cards without massive stutters after a while making mantle 90% worse than directx? if mantle doesn't work good with my cards this time then mantle is a load of BS. Mantle is a good concept but badly executed and i though ok mantle will come and i got a pretty sweet deal on my cards but ATM it doesn't look like it was a good deal on the cards.
What's bad? ULPS doesn't benefit you anyways. (If it does, then I apologize).

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeman94 View Post
Confirm, no improvments in Battlefield 4 Mantle mode, on HD7870.
Still no HD7000 correct support.
I suppose, I will still wait another 3 month for drivers...
What do you mean no improvements? What's the problem?

What's the problem with you who say mantle doesn't work? Multi gpu users are understandable but single gpu should work.

Last edited by Deathchild; 03-18-2014 at 09:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
kakarot
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus r9-290
Processor: intel 4790k@4.7
Mainboard: msi z97 max ac
Memory: 2x8 ripjaws x 2133
Soundcard: creative sbz
PSU: evga p2-1000
Default 03-18-2014, 09:42 | posts: 786 | Location: USA

Posted in older thread by accident but clocks are still sticking with these


Edit- New cleanup utility with 8/8.1 support was also released for those interested
http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-arti...l-Utility.aspx

Last edited by kakarot; 03-18-2014 at 09:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-18-2014, 09:54 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

Mantle works fine on my 2x7970s...

"No GCN1.0 driver support" lol. Right.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 03-18-2014, 10:03 | posts: 486 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
Mantle works fine on my 2x7970s...

"No GCN1.0 driver support" lol. Right.
maybe my issue is related to the amd pixle clock patcher or 2560x1440 or both. But can't wait to test mantle on my pc at home now. Is there any thing you did to make it work better?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 03-18-2014, 10:05 | posts: 3,205 | Location: Lebanon

I'm using 2560x1440 110Hz.

Nothing, just clean uninstall previous drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
DiceAir
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D R9-280x RK
Processor: i7-4790k Stock
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16GB corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default 03-18-2014, 10:09 | posts: 486 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
I'm using 2560x1440 110Hz.

Nothing, just clean uninstall previous drivers.
cool. Did the previous drivers work fine for you or did this actually fixed the issue? maybe your i7 is helping a bit due to more threads
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
xacid0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Xeon E3-1230v2
Mainboard: MSI B75-G43A
Memory: G.Skill RipjawX 8GB 1600
Soundcard: BeatUpAudio
PSU: Enermax 650W 82+ Bronze
Default 03-18-2014, 10:14 | posts: 294



can't wait to test this driver once i back from work. hopefully downsampling is easy as before.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
mR Yellow
Master Guru
 
mR Yellow's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290 Acel XIII
Processor: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHZ CL8
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX 850W
Default 03-18-2014, 10:14 | posts: 789 | Location: South Africa

A lot of the errors people experience is due to previous driver not being removed.
AMD has relased a new Uninstall Utility that's Win8 compatible.

PS Is THIEF mantle patch out yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
dell7520user
Banned
 
Videocard: hd4000+hd7730m
Processor: i7-3612qm
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 90w laptop
Default 03-18-2014, 10:15 | posts: 216

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
What's bad? ULPS doesn't benefit you anyways. (If it does, then I apologize).



What do you mean no improvements? What's the problem?

What's the problem with you who say mantle doesn't work? Multi gpu users are understandable but single gpu should work.
my notebook not crosfire but discrate gpu idle/power off method implemented by crossfire.

its mean i cant use driver without disable ulps. its mean 1 hour low battery life. empty card working on desktop mode. enduro totaly useless...

but im not tried driver but i know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Ltmatt
Member Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Ice-Q 7950 Crossfire
Processor: 2700k@4.9ghz
Mainboard: P8P667 Deluxe
Memory: 16gb Sammy Green 2133mhz
Soundcard: G35
PSU: 750 xfx
Default 03-18-2014, 10:26 | posts: 118 | Location: Norwich

My findings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LtMatt View Post
Ok well with ULPS enabled the cards are clocking down as they should as far as i can see. Just had a quick sample of Mantle and all seemed well. Clocks returned to idle states afterwards. GPU's stock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtMatt View Post
ULPS disabled gpu's definitely clocked down. So not sure what that bug refers to. Can't see a problem there.

Audio stutter when using vsync is fixed, but theres still a performance issue there. Look at the performance overlay. Microstutter. Lucky for me i don't use vsync in BF4. I've yet to test other games, but i suspect this issue affects every game as it has done in previous drivers from 13.11 beta 9.2 onwards. Crossfire issue only!! Something to do with XDMA and pci-e lanes is my bet.


 Click to show spoiler
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
crz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2 x R9 290 Gigabyte WF3
Processor: Intel i7 4770
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: 2 x 8 GB DDR3 1600 GEIL
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair TX750 V2
Default 03-18-2014, 10:27 | posts: 60 | Location: Bucharest

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogeyx View Post
Always or sometimes? Can someone confimre this?
Yes I can, the Gigabyte WF3 cards have a green LED on their back that lights up when the card enters stand-by and it is off all the time with this driver set.


In the limited time I had I did a quick check in Thief and another in Shadow Warrior. Thief still seems to have some stuttering but reduced while Shadow Warrior no longer stutters. I am curios to see how Thief performs with Mantle but I am more excited about TrueAudio since Mantle is single-GPU in Thief anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.