Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Windows 7 SSD install problems
Old
  (#1)
ARieger54
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Intel 980X
Mainboard: RoG Rampage III Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default Windows 7 SSD install problems - 03-16-2014, 22:03 | posts: 118

I just bought a new OCZ Vertex 460 120GB SSD to use as my primary drive with windows on it. I've tried installing Windows 7 Pro multiple times and every time I have had issues. I've formatted the the SSD as NTFS in Windows to see if that would help which did not work. It would freeze halfway through the installation process I've booted the installation disk and used CMD and diskpart to format the SSD that way which allows windows to complete the installation from the disk but after the installation when it tries to boot into windows to complete the setup process it hangs on the "starting windows" screen. It is not frozen because the windows logo continues to fade in and out but after two hours it does not proceed.

I have the SSD hooked up through the SATA III port and in my BIOS SATA is set in ACHI mode. Any help on this problem would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 03-16-2014, 22:31 | posts: 1,537 | Location: Moscow, Russia

You can try download so called F6 drivers of SATA controller from Intel site, place them to USB stick, launch installation and press F6 during first (or next) screen to load driver before installation begins. And I would partitioned disk within installation itself.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Det...adType=Drivers

See "f6flpy-" bundles.

And generic advices like change either SATA port or SATA cable.
Are you sure there is no additional SATA controller from 3rd party company and you are not connecting disk to it?

Last edited by mbk1969; 03-16-2014 at 22:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ARieger54
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Intel 980X
Mainboard: RoG Rampage III Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-16-2014, 23:58 | posts: 118

I'll definitely give that a try. I've changed SATA ports and cables so both of those are good. I've just been struggling to get windows installed and working. I used the diskpart utility in CMD because it would freeze during installation when i let the installer do the formatting but ill give it another shot with the drivers and such
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 03-17-2014, 01:20 | posts: 2,183 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ARieger54 View Post
I just bought a new OCZ Vertex 460 120GB SSD to use as my primary drive with windows on it. I've tried installing Windows 7 Pro multiple times and every time I have had issues. I've formatted the the SSD as NTFS in Windows to see if that would help which did not work. It would freeze halfway through the installation process I've booted the installation disk and used CMD and diskpart to format the SSD that way which allows windows to complete the installation from the disk but after the installation when it tries to boot into windows to complete the setup process it hangs on the "starting windows" screen. It is not frozen because the windows logo continues to fade in and out but after two hours it does not proceed.

I have the SSD hooked up through the SATA III port and in my BIOS SATA is set in ACHI mode. Any help on this problem would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
I wouldn't worry about ACHI since you can always turn it on later through a registry setting change.Try using standard hard drive settings in bios.

You may also want to verify that your bios is not set to install only an OS that uses the secure boot like Windows 8 does. Not sure if that option is available in your bios or not but you may want to check.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ARieger54
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Intel 980X
Mainboard: RoG Rampage III Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-17-2014, 02:18 | posts: 118

When I tried loading the "f6flpy" drivers and went to install Windows it gave me the error 0x80300001 saying it could not install on the selected partition. I tried downloading the drivers off the Asus website and it gave me error 0x80070057 saying it could not install on the partition as well. The only way I have been able to complete the installation is by formatting and partitioning using diskpart through CMD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 03-17-2014, 02:49 | posts: 2,183 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ARieger54 View Post
When I tried loading the "f6flpy" drivers and went to install Windows it gave me the error 0x80300001 saying it could not install on the selected partition. I tried downloading the drivers off the Asus website and it gave me error 0x80070057 saying it could not install on the partition as well. The only way I have been able to complete the installation is by formatting and partitioning using diskpart through CMD
Windows 7 is installed and working?

You may want to verify that the SSD sectors are in alignment.
Use this tool or information to verify it.

Quote:
Disk Alignment Test is a freeware that checks the volume alignment.
Up-to-date disks built with Advanced Format technology requires the right alignment to achieve the best performance. Disk Alignment Test will check your disks for seconds and give advice for optimization in case of need
http://diskat.net/background-en.html

http://diskat.net/home-en.html

More information can be found here:

http://www.paragon-software.com/home...ion-alignment/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
ARieger54
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Intel 980X
Mainboard: RoG Rampage III Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 03-17-2014, 02:51 | posts: 118

I've not been able to get a working installation onto the SSD. I've tried running two different installation CD's and an installation from a USB drive which i downloaded from the microsoft website. I can get as far as the starting windows screen after installation but it hangs and eventually blue screens but I've not been able to see the error code on the blue screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 6850 OC CYCLONE 1 GB
Processor: Phenom IIX6 1090T@4.1ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 03-17-2014, 03:50 | posts: 2,183 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by ARieger54 View Post
I've not been able to get a working installation onto the SSD. I've tried running two different installation CD's and an installation from a USB drive which i downloaded from the microsoft website. I can get as far as the starting windows screen after installation but it hangs and eventually blue screens but I've not been able to see the error code on the blue screen.
Items to try:

1) Default your bios.
2) Remove any other connections to other hard drives. The only connections should be the SSD and the DVD for the Windows 7 installation disk.
3) Remove any and all USB devices connected to the computer besides the keyboard and mouse.
4) Remove any and all expansion boards. If your motherboard has video on it you may even want to install windows using the onboard video.
5) Defaulting your bios should remove any overclock that you may have but verify that all values are set to default.

Go from there. Lets us know.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
mbk1969
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GeForce 780 GTX
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 03-17-2014, 11:26 | posts: 1,537 | Location: Moscow, Russia

The problem can be in layout of drives specified in BIOS. I.e. which one is primary, the load order e.t.c.

Edit:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...1-f5d53abf6c8d

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...w7itproinstall

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2476568

Last edited by mbk1969; 03-17-2014 at 11:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ARieger54
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Intel 980X
Mainboard: RoG Rampage III Formula
Memory: Corsair Dominator 12GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-11-2014, 04:17 | posts: 118

I have tried rearranging the drives in the Bios to no avail. I ended up installing windows with the drive on a normal sata port which worked fine. When I did the registry edit and enabled Ahci I still have had no luck booting into Windows.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.