Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Battlefield - Want to play BF4 in 5400 x 1920 ?
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default Battlefield - Want to play BF4 in 5400 x 1920 ? - 03-10-2014, 07:04 | posts: 21,306 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Want to play BF4 in 5400 x 1920? You'll need a rig as burly as Elmy's!* ...

Battlefield - Want to play BF4 in 5400 x 1920 ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 03-10-2014, 07:57 | posts: 1,420 | Location: Japan, Soka

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Want to play ‪#BF4‬ in 5400 x 1920? You'll need a rig as burly as Elmy's!* ...

Battlefield - Want to play BF4 in 5400 x 1920 ?
I'd totally hit ‪#BF4‬ in 5400 x 1920.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CyberTod
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire ATI HD5770
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5KR
Memory: 4Gb DDR2 800Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Fortron Blue Storm II
Default 03-10-2014, 08:30 | posts: 11 | Location: Bulgaria

I'm sorry but the gain of this high res can not be outweighed by the con of having these separitions of the screen, black lines and all. It is just ugly. Buy a 4k tv and use it as a monitor - that I will call awesome.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Ch0plol
Member Guru
 
Ch0plol's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 770 4GB
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 4400MHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme3
Memory: 8GB Trident X @ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: Antec BP550 Plus (550W)
Default 03-10-2014, 08:38 | posts: 125 | Location: San Diego, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberTod View Post
I'm sorry but the gain of this high res can not be outweighed by the con of having these separitions of the screen, black lines and all. It is just ugly. Buy a 4k tv and use it as a monitor - that I will call awesome.
You don't even notice the bezels when gaming.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga 780 Dual 1202/3305
Processor: I5 3570k @4.5Ghz SA SB-E
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 30nm 2x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: X1>Frost Uber>LDMKII>T90
PSU: Cosair 850watt RM850
Default 03-10-2014, 11:57 | posts: 5,433 | Location: Michigan,usa

I like how he mentions he has a Asus Xonar Xense in it yet the guy whos playing is using a USB headset.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 03-10-2014, 20:38 | posts: 7,512 | Location: GTA, Canada

I thought he said he said "Asus STX", as in the Essence STX. Either way, I wasn't paying attention, I didn't notice he was using a USB headset, lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
KissSh0t
Maha Guru
 
KissSh0t's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX AMD R9 270 DD 2GB
Processor: Phenom 955 @3.8GHz 1.380v
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 8GB 1333 CL7 Ripjaws X
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeMusic
PSU: Corsair HX650W
Default 03-10-2014, 20:42 | posts: 2,227 | Location: 0.0.0.0

It would be nice if they made a borderless monitor, that way this type of setup would be much nicer to look at.

Or perhaps mod the screen so the panels are out of the frame. and make a custom curved frame for all the panels together..


That could be rather cool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-10-2014, 22:47 | posts: 1,228 | Location: UK

what does that button on the side do? is that the button that calls his mom to pick him up?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Elmy
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2 295X2's
Processor: 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Crucial Tactical Tra
Soundcard: Asus Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 10-10-2014, 16:59 | posts: 4 | Location: Seattle

I had just put this build together right before that PDXLAN. Was kinda rushing to get it done and did not run 4 pin molex power to the sound card before the event. Its working now of course... Also I have upgraded to 2 Club3D 295X2's. Here is my latest video.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 10-10-2014, 17:16 | posts: 1,228 | Location: UK

Hate those Bezels...nice pwr though
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-11-2014, 16:24 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

Sorry but this was my first thought:


Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-11-2014 at 16:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 10-11-2014, 16:29 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Doesn't have to be that burly of a rig, I can play @ 6048x1080 on one 290 @ 60fps (mostly), stick another 290 in there, piece of cake

Last edited by Extraordinary; 10-11-2014 at 16:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Emille
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 980 1516mhz 8000mhz
Processor: 3770k 4.8ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 UD3H
Memory: 16GB 1866 G.Skill
Soundcard: 7.2, F soundcards
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 10-11-2014, 16:44 | posts: 204

I really don't get the appeal of gaming with seperate monitors side by side.

People saying 'you don't notice' is like how supporters of god aweful 3d gaming claim 'you don't notice the glasses'.

It's amazing what discomfort people will put themselves though.

It'd be like me buying 20k speakers and playing a glitched mp3 and saying 'you don't notice the buzzing', it renders having these fancy toys useless with these glaring flaws.

Surely for not much more than the cost of those monitors you could have bought a curved screen or something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 10-11-2014, 17:39 | posts: 1,549 | Location: shropshire,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Sorry but this was my first thought:

was thinking along similar lines.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 10-11-2014, 17:44 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Not sure about all those screens, but with 3 way Eyefinity you don't notice them at all because you're still focussing on the centre screen, the side ones are just for immersion from my experience

----
But to join in with the joke

Tilt your head sideways wearing these

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-11-2014, 17:59 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

My mate (who I built that i7 rig for) plays iRacing in a homebuilt sim (lol GEEK)with 3 32" screens, each has a ~1" wide bezel which I find thoroughly distracting.

They are handy because the player can see cars either side of his/her car...still not my cup of tea though - definitely not for a LAN,

Back in my short lived LAN days I had a spare, smaller more portable system (u know those boxy looking cases with a carry handle?) if a lan came up I'd that, and a 17" display.

F**k dragging around 5 screens plus a 30Kg tower....nice to look at but slightly impractical.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-11-2014 at 18:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 10-11-2014, 18:14 | posts: 3,814 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Doesn't have to be that burly of a rig, I can play @ 6048x1080 on one 290 @ 60fps (mostly), stick another 290 in there, piece of cake
Ye, works fine on Ultra Low Settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 10-11-2014, 18:18 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svarog View Post
Ye, works fine on Ultra Low Settings.
Maybe on your rig, on mine everything's maxed out thanks

Im not gonna make a post about something like that if I didn't have it maxed out lol

That's like saying I get 1000 fps on 3dmark11..... @ 640x480, lowest settings
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 10-11-2014, 18:41 | posts: 24,209 | Location: NZ

Lol, Elmy is plugging for AMD..... I figured as much.



https://twitter.com/darrenmcpheeAMD/...54467100307456

http://www.youtube.com/user/Elmnator1/videos



Quote:
Originally Posted by Elmy View Post
I had just put this build together right before that PDXLAN. Was kinda rushing to get it done and did not run 4 pin molex power to the sound card before the event. Its working now of course... Also I have upgraded to 2 Club3D 295X2's. Here is my latest video.
Please stop....we aren't a community of 12yo gaming nerds..

Last edited by Pill Monster; 10-12-2014 at 01:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.