Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
RPCS3 Is A New PS3 Emulator, Still In Early Stage
Old
  (#1)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default RPCS3 Is A New PS3 Emulator, Still In Early Stage - 03-07-2014, 14:42 | posts: 4,784 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

RPCS3 Is A New PS3 Emulator, Still In Early Stage, Boots Commercial Game
http://www.dsogaming.com/news/rpcs3-...mmercial-game/

Videos in link.
Quote:
We know that a lot of you want to get your hands on a PS3 emulator. Well, that day may come sooner than expected, as a team of developers is currently working on a PS3 emulator that is able to boot a commercial game. In the realm of emulation land, this is huge. Yes, this is laggy and buggy but the fact that an emulator can boot a commercial PS3 game is HUGE. The name of the emulator is RPCS3 and you can view two videos from it running a commercial game below. Enjoy!
A Comment in that link above seems to be from one of the dev
Quote:

Avatar
AlexAltea 10 hours ago

I must admit that was unexpected for us as well, but I guess this is a sign that we are doing everything right so far. By the way, the graphical glitches shown in the video was fixed a few hours ago: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...
Cant wait, hopefully Sony doesnt shut them down.

Might finally get your 1080p RDR ])rStrangelove
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Xenotone
Master Guru
 
Xenotone's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti 1250mhz H2O QX2710
Processor: 4670k 4.6ghz H2O
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-OC
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 03-07-2014, 14:59 | posts: 604 | Location: Nowhereville, Boringtown

Given half the chance, Sony will shut them down immediately. Hope it succeeds though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lmimmfn
Ancient Guru
 
lmimmfn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780 Ti
Processor: i7 920@4.05Ghz/Noctua D12
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58 UD5
Memory: 9Gig XMS3 1600 C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DGX
PSU: OCZ 1250
Default 03-07-2014, 15:12 | posts: 9,580 | Location: Ireland

video in the comments of the link has been pulled, grrrr
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 03-07-2014, 15:22 | posts: 23,366 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

I dont have the patience to wait for this, it will take many many years to have a proper one out.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 03-07-2014, 15:44 | posts: 5,315 | Location: FLA,USA

This looks promising.

(.)(.) is there any news on a XBox360 emulator?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 03-07-2014, 16:01 | posts: 4,784 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

@LoopHole,
Yes, i posted something in the one of the xbone threads.

*links removed as requested.

Last edited by (.)(.); 03-08-2014 at 02:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
JulesCools
Master Guru
 
JulesCools's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 8gb DD3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 03-07-2014, 16:12 | posts: 242 | Location: Southern Cal

Guessing I'd need to install a BluRay drive?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 03-07-2014, 16:18 | posts: 6,577 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
@LoopHole,
Yes, i posted something in the one of the xbone threads. I'll try and find the link.

TheXbone threads gone, but theres this.
http://xbox360emulator.net/


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-dDrzHURqU Skip to 1:24 for GTAV running.

Multiple comments in that youtube link suggest that its alive and kicking
eg:






This is weird, would of thought the internets would have gone crazy mad once this video showed up.
NOD32 says the emulator is malware

EDIT- Yea, just the usual passworded fake rar files with links to retrieve the password etc

Don't think there are any 360 / PS3 emulators available anywhere

Last edited by Extraordinary; 03-07-2014 at 16:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
AlexAltea
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia GT 630M
Processor: i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Asus
Default 03-07-2014, 16:25 | posts: 1

Hi guys! Some bitches flagged the video claiming it was recorded from a real PS3. Here is another demo coming from my computer:
youtube. com/watch?v=_YK1WFZF790


Btw, regarding the previous messages, these are the only real, public emulators:
PS3: RPCS3, Short Waves and PS3F
Xbox360: Xenia and other one (I forgot the name, lol).

RPCS3 is the only one so far that managed to get a commercial game running and displaying stuff on the screen.


PS: I'm a noob here in this forum, that's why I had to write that "weird" link.

Last edited by AlexAltea; 03-07-2014 at 16:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 03-07-2014, 16:31 | posts: 4,784 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Welcome to guru3d

Thanks for sharing the accurate info.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 3GB Eyefinity
Processor: i7 950 @ 4.1 HT H100
Mainboard: MSI X58A-GD45
Memory: Corsair XMS3 12GB 1600
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Audio + X-540
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 03-07-2014, 16:45 | posts: 1,011 | Location: Tennessee

This is pretty good news. I remember it took years for Ps2 games to even be ran and become smooth enough to play. One can dream about Gran Turismo 5 with proper AA and downsampling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
boodikon
Maha Guru
 
boodikon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Leadtek 8800 GTS 640mb (600 core)
Processor: Amd 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.4 Ghz 2mb cache
Mainboard: Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe Nforce4
Memory: 4 x 512mb PC4000 Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Tagan 480w silent psu
Default 03-07-2014, 17:06 | posts: 2,741 | Location: England

Is there an xbox emulator, I mean the old one that actually works well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 03-07-2014, 17:06 | posts: 7,643

There are a couple, but they never got far due to a huge lack of interest.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 03-07-2014, 18:49 | posts: 10,430 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
This looks promising.

(.)(.) is there any news on a XBox360 emulator?
Everything will be emulated eventually, thats a positive fact about technology advancement, everything gets smaller and faster.

I would rather own 2000 Xbox 360 games on my hardrive rather than 2000 actual Xbox 360 physical games in the boxes. They take up space and take longer to load up. Just like the ZX Spectrum from 1982, same thing, same principle regarding emulation, in the end it WILL ALL be emulated, mark my words

Edit...I just seen Extraordinarys post, i rest my case.

Last edited by Veteran; 03-07-2014 at 18:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 03-08-2014, 01:37 | posts: 2,144 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Ugh, please remove that link and info about that fake 360 emulator. Don't allow them to give them more attention then they already get in filling peoples PC with maleware.

RPCS3 however is legit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 03-08-2014, 20:02 | posts: 869

Really neat. I can't imagine the hours it must of taken to get that far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
I dont have the patience to wait for this, it will take many many years to have a proper one out.
I think the combined man hours in Dolphin was over a hundred years or something. Even older emulators still have a lot to improve on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 03-09-2014, 20:21 | posts: 3,358 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
RPCS3 Is A New PS3 Emulator, Still In Early Stage, Boots Commercial Game
http://www.dsogaming.com/news/rpcs3-...mmercial-game/

Videos in link.


A Comment in that link above seems to be from one of the dev


Cant wait, hopefully Sony doesnt shut them down.

Might finally get your 1080p RDR ])rStrangelove
HAHAHA give how much power pcsx2 needs to run most ps2 at full speed i dont see this going no where let alone running games anywhere near fullspeed on current pc tech maybe in 4 years might have pc powerfull enough to run a ps3 emulator.

the pcsx2 dev said countless times there is no pc on the market atm that would be able to emulate and run ps3 games at anything near full speed and wont for years to come, wish them luck in proving them wrong hah
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7 @ 1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 03-09-2014, 20:43 | posts: 7,612 | Location: Urban`Jungle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
NOD32 says the emulator is malware

EDIT- Yea, just the usual passworded fake rar files with links to retrieve the password etc

Don't think there are any 360 / PS3 emulators available anywhere
Yea nod32 warned me too, but I proceed anyway and nothing like that here.
I could extract etc..



I didnt proceed with install though.



EDIT: nvm, yeah its fishy


Last edited by -Tj-; 03-09-2014 at 20:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 03-09-2014, 22:54 | posts: 10,430 | Location: United kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Yea nod32 warned me too, but I proceed anyway and nothing like that here.
NOD32 actually picked something malicious up? WoW, i remember the days when it never found anything, lost my steam account cause of that POS that was supposed to be protecting my PC. Got my account back through steam support and went totally paranoid and researched the **** out of security at the time.

Im gonna download this file and test it myself and see what gets flagged up.

This is one i would trust when it comes out and even the lead dev says lots of them are fake and full of malware.....
http://www.cinemablend.com/games/Xbo...eam-61881.html

Xenia Project does not run any-games yet according to Dev.
https://github.com/benvanik/xenia

Last edited by Veteran; 03-09-2014 at 23:00.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 03-09-2014, 22:59 | posts: 869

Ok here's the results for the XeMu360_Setup.exe
https://www.virustotal.com/latest-sc...b674bb9e70502a

Win32/DownWare.L is just a potentially unwanted application usually bundled in with installers. The fact that other AVs aren't jumping all over it too probably means its pretty harmless.

MSIL/Hoax.Agent.NAF is "riskware" http://www.virusradar.com/en/MSIL_Ho...AL/description

But honestly, I wouldn't run any emulator less it's openly discussed on http://ngemu.com/

Last edited by Veeshush; 03-09-2014 at 23:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 03-09-2014, 23:11 | posts: 10,430 | Location: United kingdom

Bitdefender and malwarebytes didnt pick anything up on the emulator.
I downloaded a separate file which was the Xbox 360 bios files and they did contain a Trojan which was quarantined.

The file that it asks you to download for the xbox360 bios files are not the full set, its just 1 .bin file which is **** all compared to the full set of bios roms.

Once i put the bios files (from a completely different download link) in the bios folder it worked ok but it said to unlock the emulator you need to complete a survey......Uninstalled!

Last edited by Veteran; 03-09-2014 at 23:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Veeshush
Maha Guru
 
Veeshush's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Phenom II X6 1100T @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-MA790X-UD4P
Memory: CorsairDominator 4GB DDR2
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: ENERMAX REVOLUTION85+
Default 03-09-2014, 23:21 | posts: 869

Upload the bios trojan to Virustotal. I ain't liking that **** on the Facebook.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
but it said to unlock the emulator you need to complete a survey......Uninstalled!
On the page it says:
Quote:
XeMu360 2.0.1.3 Beta Released!

News flash: GTA 5 Reported working with XeMu360!
SOUNDS LEGIT
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Cyberdyne
Maha Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX760 ACX 1241/3139
Processor: i7 4770K @4.4GHz CLW0222
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: Vengeance 2x8GB @1600
Soundcard: Logitech G430 + FiiO E6
PSU: CORSAIR tx750w
Default 03-10-2014, 00:58 | posts: 2,144 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

It's not even a question. Hell, we don't even have an original Xbox emulator that can do more then access the bios and launch 3 games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
UnrealGaming
Maha Guru
 
UnrealGaming's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD HD 7870 2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Mainboard: MSI P45 Platinum
Memory: Kingston HyperX DDR2 4GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC888/888T
PSU: Chieftec 650W
Default 03-10-2014, 02:22 | posts: 2,453 | Location: Serbia

You can find latest builds of rpcs3 here http://www.emucr.com/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Fender178
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire r9 290 tri-x 4gb
Processor: i7 4790k @ 4.7ghz @1.26V
Mainboard: Asus Z97 Pro
Memory: Gskill Ares 16gb 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
Default 03-10-2014, 14:29 | posts: 1,436 | Location: Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
It's not even a question. Hell, we don't even have an original Xbox emulator that can do more then access the bios and launch 3 games.
Yeah even with a modded Xbox and a big hard drive you can install original xbox games to the hard drive and play them that way. Which is kind of like having an emulator but using the actual hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by (.)(.) View Post
RPCS3 Is A New PS3 Emulator, Still In Early Stage, Boots Commercial Game
http://www.dsogaming.com/news/rpcs3-...mmercial-game/

Videos in link.


A Comment in that link above seems to be from one of the dev


Cant wait, hopefully Sony doesnt shut them down.

Might finally get your 1080p RDR ])rStrangelove
Very interesting. I was wondering if a developer was making or attempting to make a PS3 emulator. But This has a ways to go before near perfect emulation if the developer can achieve that.

I have yet to tryout PS2 emulation but from what I have tested it seems smooth enough based on my hardware but that is from only a few seconds of testing.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.