Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Battlefield 4 (part 4)
Old
  (#1)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default Battlefield 4 (part 4) - 03-01-2014, 22:19 | posts: 11,378 | Location: England

Part 3: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=385057

Quote:
I am very honored to create a new thread for Battlefield 4. Part 1 reached 100 pages, lets continue here.


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-01-2014, 22:29 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

getting into matches a lot easier now, but still crashing outta games just as frequent.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 03-01-2014, 22:39 | posts: 13,594 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElFishoIII View Post
Not going to get into it with you about 60hz vs 120hz BUT I was wondering what happens to that smoothness when the framerate drops below 120? I'm looking at getting a new monitor later this year and there are some nice 120hz in my price range but I'm more interested in a low response time. I went from a 2ms back in the day to a 5ms and I've missed the 2ms ever since. I'm just wondering what sort of difference I'd see going from 60hz to 120hz when playing on sub 120 frames per second.
Save up for a G-Sync monitor. It'll be the best investment you'll make this year.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xSLI MSI GTX680Lightning
Processor: i7 3770K| Corsair H100 pp
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: 2x4GB Kingston Black 2133
Soundcard: Realtek ALC898| Z-5500
PSU: Nexus RX-1.1K GOLD@1100W
Default 03-01-2014, 23:04 | posts: 4,493 | Location: Romania

Well, for a game that has attracted quite a lot of hate, it does good when it comes to number of threads.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 + 750Ti physx
Processor: Intel
Mainboard: ---
Memory: ---
Soundcard: ---
PSU: ---
Default 03-01-2014, 23:11 | posts: 449

BF4 Campaign QA team.


Just like a dude on reddit said: "Could DICE please add all our names to the credits? We are the real QA testers."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
Well, for a game that has attracted quite a lot of hate, it does good when it comes to number of threads.
Maybe because we don`t have any other FPS right now!?
I don`t even know if is ok to say that BF4 is a FPS...

Last edited by pbvider; 03-01-2014 at 23:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-01-2014, 23:15 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

I'm surprised they even bothered to do any QA at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 03-01-2014, 23:45 | posts: 3,101 | Location: Germany

Looks funny though A single guy doing the testing, three guys to analyze his testing and one guy to make sure they're working.
If that's all there were they did a very good job. It does show EA's understanding of "customer appreciation" though...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 03-02-2014, 00:04 | posts: 3,039 | Location: UK

Right but that's just for the campaign which as far as I'm aware has zero problems at least on pc (i've played though it twice just to get every collectable) so that one guy did a pretty good job to be fair.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ElFishoIII
Maha Guru
 
ElFishoIII's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770Classi/BenQ XL2720z
Processor: i7 4970k 4.6ghz 1.24/h80i
Mainboard: ASRock z87 Extreme6
Memory: 16G GSkill 1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Ch
PSU: Silverstone OP-1000
Default 03-02-2014, 02:09 | posts: 840 | Location: Brighton, MI USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Save up for a G-Sync monitor. It'll be the best investment you'll make this year.
Yeah that's another option too but I wonder how pricey they'll be. Also, have they listed any manufacturers yet? After doing so much reading there's only a few brands I'd be willing to try.

Also, by earlier question still remains unanswered...

(from part 3)
Quote:
Not going to get into it with you about 60hz vs 120hz BUT I was wondering what happens to that smoothness when the framerate drops below 120? I'm looking at getting a new monitor later this year and there are some nice 120hz in my price range but I'm more interested in a low response time. I went from a 2ms back in the day to a 5ms and I've missed the 2ms ever since. I'm just wondering what sort of difference I'd see going from 60hz to 120hz when playing on sub 120 frames per second.
I'm really curious as to how choppy it would look on a 120 if my frames were at, say... 80 or 100. I wish there was somewhere I could just try some out to see. I really am leaning towards a 60hz low response time though. It was so smooth back in the day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ElFishoIII
Maha Guru
 
ElFishoIII's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX770Classi/BenQ XL2720z
Processor: i7 4970k 4.6ghz 1.24/h80i
Mainboard: ASRock z87 Extreme6
Memory: 16G GSkill 1866
Soundcard: X-Fi Platinum Fatal1ty Ch
PSU: Silverstone OP-1000
Default 03-02-2014, 02:37 | posts: 840 | Location: Brighton, MI USA

Sorry for the double post but I looked into gsync a little bit and right now the only way to do it is to buy a modded 24 inch asus for 500$ or get a DIY kit for $300. Not worth it atm especially since the main reason I want to upgrade is to go to 27 inches.

Anyway, not really feeling BF4 anymore after putting in about 200 hours. The new maps aren't that great imho and the old ones are well, old. I'm also getting tired of DMR jockeys who think they're good, people wasting choppers to get on top of buildings, constant bitching about netcode, ****ty or non existent admins, baseraping/camping/mining... etc etc etc. I really miss being in a clan and I've been trying different servers but I swear they're all run by kids these days. Anyway, I still love the game itself, just not the players who play it. I'm thinking about taking a nice long Titanfall break and coming back with a fresh perspective.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Straykatt
Maha Guru
 
Straykatt's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 660 SC SLI 1150/6000
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8 w/CoolerM V8
Mainboard: x58 Classified w/ Win 8.1
Memory: 12 gig Dominator @ 1600
Soundcard: Denon 1913 / 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster SP 1000w
Default 03-02-2014, 05:36 | posts: 1,185 | Location: Orange County, CA

Thanks for the heads up solfour!

Ghostly, how do I join the platoon?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 03-02-2014, 08:22 | posts: 3,101 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesGaizu View Post
Right but that's just for the campaign which as far as I'm aware has zero problems at least on pc (i've played though it twice just to get every collectable) so that one guy did a pretty good job to be fair.
Maybe now, yes, but when I played through it it still had several bugs. Not half as bad as MoH Warfighter but I did have to restart a mission here and there to trigger something.
For example the mission where you were supposed to get back to a ship at the end. Well, the ship simply wasn't there Restarted it and everything was fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980 G1 + 750Ti physx
Processor: Intel
Mainboard: ---
Memory: ---
Soundcard: ---
PSU: ---
Default 03-02-2014, 11:36 | posts: 449

The BIG Questions - A Battlefield 4 discussion

Last edited by pbvider; 03-02-2014 at 11:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
remicius
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Titan Black 6GB SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 990X 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme III
Memory: 12gb Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Titanium
PSU: AX1200i Corsair
Default 03-02-2014, 11:48 | posts: 188

Flawless Widescreen FOV fix for the single player not working anymore,keep saying that searching for b4 process.i starting the program as admin,so i dont know what happend.is someone have a fix for this problem?thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-02-2014, 12:21 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straykatt View Post
Thanks for the heads up solfour!

Ghostly, how do I join the platoon?
Add me on Origin (G05tY) and you should be able to join. Could do with a Guru3d logo too, if anyone is good at making them.

Last edited by Ghosty; 03-02-2014 at 12:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.2ghz-1.05v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 03-02-2014, 19:40 | posts: 10,610 | Location: United kingdom

Does this game still suffer from the Netcode problems or has it been fixed now?
Has there been any improvements too it or is it the same as it was 3 months ago?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-02-2014, 19:48 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

there's still some bugs like those that'll kick you early but the actual gameplay is loads of fun and feels just about right. gunplay is much improved since you last played. I've started using the red flares, they're very pretty
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-02-2014, 19:52 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Does this game still suffer from the Netcode problems or has it been fixed now?
Has there been any improvements too it or is it the same as it was 3 months ago?
I've not seen any bugs so far since the Second Assault Expansion. The BF3 maps are very well remade and are a joy to play. This is the first time I can remember where I am having real fun. But that's mainly due to the BF3 maps. I don't touch any of maps at the moment.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Loobyluggs
Maha Guru
 
Loobyluggs's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW
Processor: Intel 3770k
Mainboard: Asus P8z77-v pro
Memory: DDR3 16GB Corsair
Soundcard: Creative Labs Recon 3D
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-02-2014, 20:01 | posts: 1,252 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
I've not seen any bugs so far since the Second Assault Expansion. The BF3 maps are very well remade and are a joy to play. This is the first time I can remember where I am having real fun. But that's mainly due to the BF3 maps. I don't touch any of maps at the moment.
Caspian border sniping is fun; Being sniped from the MAA on the hill at your spawn, is not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-02-2014, 20:08 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loobyluggs View Post
Caspian border sniping is fun; Being sniped from the MAA on the hill at your spawn, is not.
Ahh, yes. I used to do that in BF3 too. If you have a couple of good aircraft pilots on the other team, they can make short work of a MAA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 03-02-2014, 20:28 | posts: 3,039 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Does this game still suffer from the Netcode problems or has it been fixed now?
Has there been any improvements too it or is it the same as it was 3 months ago?
It's A LOT better than it was at release or even a month after release if were gonna be honest.

Servers are stable, the game is 100% stable for me and the people I play with (a mix of dx11, 11.1 and mantle users) they added a bunch of decent game mechanics in a big patch not long ago and hit reg has improved quite a lot too although it's still not perfect they are still working on it though and using test servers people can freely join.

Something I'm personally waiting for is the big balancing patch they promised at the beginning of February (nerfs to the mobile AA which is ****ing silly at the moment and some guns changes that all seems like really good changes)

Hopefully they will get it out soon as I'm really excited for the return of titan mode coming in the new dlc this month.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Ghosty
Ancient Guru
 
Ghosty's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 03-02-2014, 20:35 | posts: 3,468 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesGaizu View Post
It's A LOT better than it was at release or even a month after release if were gonna be honest.

Servers are stable, the game is 100% stable for me and the people I play with (a mix of dx11, 11.1 and mantle users) they added a bunch of decent game mechanics in a big patch not long ago and hit reg has improved quite a lot too although it's still not perfect they are still working on it though and using test servers people can freely join.

Something I'm personally waiting for is the big balancing patch they promised at the beginning of February (nerfs to the mobile AA which is ****ing silly at the moment and some guns changes that all seems like really good changes)

Hopefully they will get it out soon as I'm really excited for the return of titan mode coming in the new dlc this month.
The MAA has already been nurfed. The missles do far less damage now at range. Taking at least 4 missiles to take down a plane or heli.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
DesGaizu
Ancient Guru
 
DesGaizu's Avatar
 
Videocard: TWIN FROZR IV R9 290
Processor: i5-2500K 4.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 16GB DDR3 2133MHz
Soundcard: D1+A2+/990pro
PSU: Seasonic X-850 Gold
Default 03-02-2014, 20:58 | posts: 3,039 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosty View Post
The MAA has already been nurfed. The missles do far less damage now at range. Taking at least 4 missiles to take down a plane or heli.
It hasn't all it had done was instead of 6 missiles it has 4 the range is the same you can go ask one of the dev the damage hasn't changed at all neither has it's range.

I sat on caspein's hill with a friend in a tank next to me NOTHING could touch use, it was dumb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
SLI-756
Yellow Card (timeout)
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 7000
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 03-02-2014, 21:14 | posts: 7,534 | Location: Sunny Scotland

if you position the mobile aa in Paracel in the right place you can troll hard the heli pilots on the team that spawn from the island, the rockets have massive reach.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Radical_53
Ancient Guru
 
Radical_53's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Intel i7-2600k
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-G45 Gaming
Memory: 16GB G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster ZXR
PSU: Seasonic X-460 Fanless
Default 03-02-2014, 21:24 | posts: 3,101 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veteran View Post
Does this game still suffer from the Netcode problems or has it been fixed now?
Has there been any improvements too it or is it the same as it was 3 months ago?
The game itself improved, yes. I can't see a huge change or improvement to the net code though. Still feels very random. The odd delay is still there, too.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.