Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How to use (legit) S.T.A.L.K.E.R iso instead of DVD Disk
Old
  (#1)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default How to use (legit) S.T.A.L.K.E.R iso instead of DVD Disk - 02-21-2014, 07:11 | posts: 5,543 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Sorry if the title doesnt make any sense but i didnt know how to word it any other way.

So im turning all my non-client required games into iso format, that way i can just keep them all on spare HHD and install them a whim rather than searching through all my storage for the physical copies etc and what im after is a way to change the drive that STALKER looks for when doing its disk check, so as not to need the physical disk by having the iso mounted using MagicIso (http://www.magiciso.com/tutorials/mi...c-overview.htm), as i found that some no-dvd exe's seem to either affect performance or cause other bugs (STALKER).

Example:
S.T.A.L.K.E.R looks for the disk in the D; drive, but i want to redirect it to G: drive where the iso is mounted.

Im pretty sure its done through regedit, but cant quite remember.

Thanks in advanced.

Last edited by (.)(.); 02-21-2014 at 07:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova G2
Default 02-21-2014, 07:22 | posts: 7,226 | Location: Dubai

Try changing the drive letter in computer management.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 02-21-2014, 09:29 | posts: 5,543 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Thanks lucidus, didnt work though. I think it may work with other games that dont use securom or whats it called, so will keep this in mind.

Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 02-21-2014, 09:31 | posts: 23,631 | Location: Netherlands

did you scan your registry for the stalker game ? it should have the path for the dvd there.
if that still doesnt work (securom ?) you will have to use daemon tools i think.

Last edited by WhiteLightning; 02-21-2014 at 09:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 02-21-2014, 11:22 | posts: 7,998 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Daemon Tools Lite / Gamecopyworld.com

Even if you change the drive the game is looking for to the drive the ISO is mounted, if that game needs a DVD in the drive to play, it will still fail, you need the no-dvd exe, it knows the ISO is not the original DVD

You're basically gonna have to crack your genuine games

NOTE: Not a warez site



http://search.gamecopyworld.eu/games...lear_sky.shtml

http://search.gamecopyworld.eu/games...hernobyl.shtml

http://search.gamecopyworld.eu/games..._pripyat.shtml

Last edited by Extraordinary; 02-21-2014 at 11:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 02-21-2014, 11:39 | posts: 5,543 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

Yeap, just tried the Deamon Tools one, but no luck as you said Extraordinary.

Will give these no-dvd exes a go.

Cheers for the solutions/tips, guys.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
WhiteLightning
Don Illuminati
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 02-21-2014, 11:44 | posts: 23,631 | Location: Netherlands

did you remember to check the securom and other stuff in daemon tools ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Clouseau
Master Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD6950 Twin Frozr III
Processor: Phenom II x4 940BE
Mainboard: ASUS M3A32-MVP WiFi
Memory: GSkill Pi-Black 4x2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP 1200
Default 02-21-2014, 21:50 | posts: 505

I do not know how it works since I have never used it, but Slysoft has a program that accomplishes what you are wanting. Think it's called Game Jackal or something like that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
IcE
Don Snow
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 8GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Aune T1 + CAL
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 02-22-2014, 03:51 | posts: 9,438 | Location: Toledo

Did you install the advanced emulation component for Daemon Tools Lite?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.