Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything ForceWare driver related. ForceWare (Detonator) drivers are for NVIDIA TNT, Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Question about g-sync
Old
  (#1)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default Question about g-sync - 02-20-2014, 10:06 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

Do you think the final release of g-sync monitors will be different from the ones modded with the kit?
I mean i can buy at very good price the vg248qe modded with the kit, but i dunno if a good idea or better wait for other solution from asus iteself.
thanks i advance.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti + GTX750Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 02-20-2014, 11:53 | posts: 1,927

It's like PhazeDelta said:
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhazeDelta1 View Post
Nvidia is not selling the G-Sync kits anymore. So if you can get a monitor with one already installed in it, go for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RealNC
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 780 Jetstream
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 02-20-2014, 12:47 | posts: 127

I wouldn't recommend it due to "first-gen" problems. For example a g-sync modded Asus has some minor backlight problems. It also cripples all inputs except for display port (that means you cannot connect anything through DVI or HDMI anymore; these are dead on the monitor.)

I would expect that the upcoming g-sync monitors from Ben-Q won't have these glitches since they're supposed to be finished, final consumer products. Also, the monitor specs themselves look better compared to the Asus monitor.

The g-sync mod kit was more like an experiment from nvidia. It never looked like a polished product to begin with.

Last edited by RealNC; 02-20-2014 at 12:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default 02-20-2014, 15:13 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

I really don't care about dvi and hdmi, i have only fear about "first-gen" problems.
In addition i really love the vg248qe, so if there are no problems i will buy it for, my question was for gurus that can say if they think the next monitors will have a better g-sync modules in.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-20-2014, 15:25 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoMa666 View Post
I really don't care about dvi and hdmi, i have only fear about "first-gen" problems.
In addition i really love the vg248qe, so if there are no problems i will buy it for, my question was for gurus that can say if they think the next monitors will have a better g-sync modules in.
Don't you have a VG248QE already?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
RealNC
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 780 Jetstream
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 02-20-2014, 15:40 | posts: 127

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoMa666 View Post
I really don't care about dvi and hdmi, i have only fear about "first-gen" problems.
Like backlight problems (more bleed) and color degradation when refresh is fluctuating.

If you also don't care about that, then sure. Go for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default 02-20-2014, 18:03 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
Like backlight problems (more bleed) and color degradation when refresh is fluctuating.

If you also don't care about that, then sure. Go for it.
Ouch so color degradation and backlight problems are so bad with the module?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 02-20-2014, 18:18 | posts: 3,198 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
Like backlight problems (more bleed) and color degradation when refresh is fluctuating.

If you also don't care about that, then sure. Go for it.
Alot of LED/LCD have that issue in some way it has nothing to do with gsync. Has everything to do with PANAL and how it was put together the gsync module isnt gona cause this, If the back plate/bezel and all that are put on to tight on monitor you gona have bleeding.

Last edited by tsunami231; 02-20-2014 at 18:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-20-2014, 20:10 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
Alot of LED/LCD have that issue in some way it has nothing to do with gsync. Has everything to do with PANAL and how it was put together the gsync module isnt gona cause this, If the back plate/bezel and all that are put on to tight on monitor you gona have bleeding.
That's not true. LCD displays have color shifts at different refresh rates. The reason you don't hear of it much is that barely any people have a colorimeter, few of those know how to use it extensively, and few of those actually measure the difference in color accuracy between 60Hz, 120Hz, and 144Hz.

Branded monitors are calibrated for the particular refresh rates they support, but monitors like the Qnix are not. That's partly why the Qnix so clearly has a gamma shift when it is overclocked.

With a variable refresh rate, an imperfect calibration can allow for perceptible color changes as the refresh rate changes. I can't confirm whether this is the case, though, as I've seen no one report this issue before RealNC, so it would be good if RealNC provided a source (experience, read about it, etc...?).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
swecarl
Master Guru
 
swecarl's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga 780ti Sli
Processor: 4770K Haswell @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Memory: Corsair 2400MHz 32gb
Soundcard: Realtek / Corsair
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W 80+ Gold
Default 02-20-2014, 20:58 | posts: 269 | Location: Sweden

I got the Asus G-Sync monitor and its really awesome, i dont notice any problems with it at all. Altho 24" is a little to small for me, so im gonna get the 27" rog g sync monitor when it comes out Q2.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Australis
Master Guru
 
Australis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX 760 OC
Processor: Intel Core i5 3550
Mainboard: Asrock H77 Pro4/M mATX
Memory: Kingston DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: LCD: ASUS VG248QE 144hz
PSU: Antec HCG 620M
Default 02-21-2014, 06:23 | posts: 563 | Location: Hong Kong

Why is OP asking about G-sync when you have an AMD HD7970?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 02-21-2014, 09:44 | posts: 1,371

Quote:
Originally Posted by Australis View Post
Why is OP asking about G-sync when you have an AMD HD7970?
Because he forgot to update his spec on forum, or asking for other people?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default 02-21-2014, 12:41 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

i have gtx 780 now, i will update the profile, sorry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
CalinTM
Maha Guru
 
CalinTM's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX680 Lightning
Processor: Intel® Core™ i7 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65
Memory: Geil Black Dragon 8Gb XMP
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Enermax Platimax 850W
Default 02-21-2014, 14:59 | posts: 1,084 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

If you already have a 144hz monitor and your PC can deliver solid minimum 75fps - you DON'T need G-sync.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
RealNC
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 780 Jetstream
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 02-21-2014, 15:09 | posts: 127

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalinTM View Post
If you already have a 144hz monitor and your PC can deliver solid minimum 75fps - you DON'T need G-sync.
75FPS with vsync on 144Hz still stutters. And still has input lag.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
yasamoka
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 7970CF @ Qnix 1440p 110Hz
Processor: i7 930
Mainboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominators
Soundcard: Audio-GD NFB-11.32 +DT880
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 1300
Default 02-21-2014, 15:10 | posts: 3,091 | Location: Lebanon

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalinTM View Post
If you already have a 144hz monitor and your PC can deliver solid minimum 75fps - you DON'T need G-sync.
Hmmm nope not really.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
RealNC
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 780 Jetstream
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 02-21-2014, 15:13 | posts: 127

Quote:
Originally Posted by yasamoka View Post
With a variable refresh rate, an imperfect calibration can allow for perceptible color changes as the refresh rate changes. I can't confirm whether this is the case, though, as I've seen no one report this issue before RealNC, so it would be good if RealNC provided a source (experience, read about it, etc...?).
People mentioned it here:

http://forums.blurbusters.com/viewto...start=30#p2553
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
CoMa666
Master Guru
 
CoMa666's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7970 Dual-x Boost
Processor: i7 3770
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: ddr3 8 giga corsair 1600
Soundcard: Realtek on board
PSU: corsair AX 750w
Default 02-22-2014, 01:50 | posts: 376 | Location: Italy-Bari

i have the normal version of vg248qe and when i hit 100fps it's stutter... i'm in Italy and i'm thinking if i can take problems if i take the new monitor from USA??
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.