Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MSI R9 290 arriving today...
Old
  (#1)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default MSI R9 290 arriving today... - 02-12-2014, 12:31 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Any tips for a "back to ATI/AMD" user?

Last Radeon was a HD5670... Are the drivers still tricky to install, or now can I just install them over and it's all finished? Has AMD added an option like a "clean install" to them?

Anything else you want to comment?


Anyway, I'm glad I got the best performance/cost card we've got today...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 02-12-2014, 12:44 | posts: 7,522 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Tip 1: Use DDU in safemode to remove old drivers > reboot > install new drivers
http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 12:50 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Tip 1: Use DDU in safemode to remove old drivers > reboot > install new drivers
http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/
Great! Thanks man! D'loading it now!

I will also use it to remove the Nvidia drivers from my PC!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Elite3540
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4G
Processor: i5-4690K @ 4.0GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: HyperX Beast 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Logitech Speakers Z313
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 02-12-2014, 13:30 | posts: 578 | Location: Belgium

Yes, what Extraordinary said and ALWAYS do a 'clean install' so don't you forget!

The drivers are better now than they last were imo.

Too bad the prices of the MSI R9 290 are really high, so I'm glad you found a card for a nice price.

Last of all, have fun!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Fox2232
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Acc7970 XL2420T @120Hz
Processor: i5-2500k@4.5GHz NH-D14
Mainboard: MSI Z68A-GD80[g3]
Memory: 4x4GB 1600MHz 9,9,9,24
Soundcard: Essence ST / AKG K-701
PSU: FSP Gold series 750W
Default 02-12-2014, 13:50 | posts: 1,609 | Location: EU, CZ, Brno

I have not uninstalled AMD drivers before installing new ones in last 5 years. CIM does its work properly.

And on Win8.1 I had no problem to get 14.1beta installed over 13.30 which was 1st driver I used on that OS installation.

As for advice:
- play with OC settings a bit, monitor temperatures in games or benches if you do those (play it safe)
- have fun playing games

Maybe look through thread about having your nV card as PhysX accelerator.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-12-2014, 16:13 | posts: 9,428 | Location: UK

Its recommended to remove previous drivers before installing the 14.1s though.

Cracking cards the MSI's, you'll love it, enjoy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Tip 1: Use DDU in safemode to remove old drivers > reboot > install new drivers
http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/
This.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 02-12-2014, 16:22 | posts: 11,083 | Location: Finland

I should be getting mine tomorrow if Itella doesn't **** up. I wonder how high performance drop I will see... I'm hoping that it comes with Hynix ram and overclocks to 1,1 GHz without bumping voltage too much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-12-2014, 17:20 | posts: 9,428 | Location: UK

All the MSI's are Hynix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 02-12-2014, 17:27 | posts: 11,083 | Location: Finland

So far. You never know if they plan to put something else in it because of supply issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
NAZ2222
Master Guru
 
NAZ2222's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 270X HAWK 2GB
Processor: Intel i5-3470@4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-LX
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GBDDR3
Soundcard: SB Z + Sennheiser HD558
PSU: XFX 750W Black Edition
Default 02-12-2014, 18:19 | posts: 338 | Location: Portugal

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
All the MSI's are Hynix.
All R9 290 right? Because my MSI 270x Hawk has Elpida.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
JulesCools
Master Guru
 
JulesCools's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 8gb DD3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 02-12-2014, 19:05 | posts: 246 | Location: Southern Cal

the 290 has a 512-bit bus, it is NOT bandwidth starved when it comes to video memory. Meaning that overclocking the memory will not yield the benefits you'd get from say a GTX 680. The elpidia / hynix thing isn't as important as people seem to think it is, and the brand name will not guarantee high overclocking potential.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-12-2014, 19:50 | posts: 9,428 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZ2222 View Post
All R9 290 right? Because my MSI 270x Hawk has Elpida.
Yeah the 290 Gamings, as far as i know, they are all Hynix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2014, 20:18 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulesCools View Post
the 290 has a 512-bit bus, it is NOT bandwidth starved when it comes to video memory. Meaning that overclocking the memory will not yield the benefits you'd get from say a GTX 680. The elpidia / hynix thing isn't as important as people seem to think it is, and the brand name will not guarantee high overclocking potential.
Well Hynix are traditionally very good overclockers, same can't be said for Elpida....

You're right about overclocking though it's hardly necessary on these cards due to the enormous amount of bandwidth.

Best to check with MSI on which chips they use.....prob find nothing is guaranteed and depends on revision of card.

Sapphire pulled a sly one when they switched from Elpida to Hynix with Tahiti refresh then back to Elpida as 7 series was nearing EOL.

Bastards.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-12-2014 at 20:31.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 02-12-2014, 20:36 | posts: 11,083 | Location: Finland

Elpida cards seem to have more issues and they are lower quality chips soo... yeah, I'd definitely have a card with Samsung or Hynix in it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2014, 22:20 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
Elpida cards seem to have more issues and they are lower quality chips soo... yeah, I'd definitely have a card with Samsung or Hynix in it.
Yeah even when Elpida were making DDR they had nothing on Hynix. Hynix D43 sticks could do 500mhz without a sweat.....some things never change I guess. lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 22:44 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
Its recommended to remove previous drivers before installing the 14.1s though.

Cracking cards the MSI's, you'll love it, enjoy!



This.
Just did, and played some Battlefield 4 and Skyrim, all using DDD (3D monitor), both MAXED OUT @1080p and BUTTER SMOOTH....

Loving it, MSi cards are very well built, and have great attention to detail (every connector is covered with dust caps, etc..)

Using Cat 14.1 now, and very satisfied, even with my old Phenom II X4, the card shows that it's so powerful!

Quote:
I have not uninstalled AMD drivers before installing new ones in last 5 years. CIM does its work properly.

And on Win8.1 I had no problem to get 14.1beta installed over 13.30 which was 1st driver I used on that OS installation.

As for advice:
- play with OC settings a bit, monitor temperatures in games or benches if you do those (play it safe)
- have fun playing games

Maybe look through thread about having your nV card as PhysX accelerator.
I deleted nvidia stuff using DDU and installed the latest Cats, no hassles!

I won't overclock the card, just because my CPU is the bottleneck here... Of course, the CPU is quite overclocked, and I'll try to push it even further later...

Last edited by sapo_joe; 02-12-2014 at 22:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 22:52 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elite3540 View Post
Yes, what Extraordinary said and ALWAYS do a 'clean install' so don't you forget!

The drivers are better now than they last were imo.

Too bad the prices of the MSI R9 290 are really high, so I'm glad you found a card for a nice price.

Last of all, have fun!
I was able to manage getting the 290 a little cheaper than a 4gb 770 here in Brazil (perhaps it's from an older stock), and imagine that, it performs like the 780!! LOL

Prices here are all high, but I had a great discount!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2014, 22:56 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

^don't forget to bump up the NB on ur Phenom II. It'll do 2400mhz without a voltage increase.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 23:15 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
^don't forget to bump up the NB on ur Phenom II. It'll do 2400mhz without a voltage increase.
Will that give me a good increase on performance without sacrificing stability?

My Phenom didn't quite go past 3.7GHz... It runs, but crashes often...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-12-2014, 23:17 | posts: 18,921 | Location: New Jersey, USA

that mb is not vishera ready im guessing? maybe you can pick up a 6 core thuban used and get past 4ghz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2014, 23:20 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

^Nah it's only AM2+ (AM3 "ready") Vishera would kill it anyway.

I had the same board but in Nforce flavour. Now it's dead. Has 4+1 phase vrm's with no cooling, running my 955 @4.3 fried them. .....not even any timing options in the BIOS. Not ASUS's best effort.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapo_joe View Post
Will that give me a good increase on performance without sacrificing stability?
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapo_joe View Post
My Phenom didn't quite go past 3.7GHz... It runs, but crashes often...
Might just need some fine tuning, 4Ghz is not an unreasonable target..

Or you could pick up a 1090T like TK suggested.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-12-2014 at 23:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 23:26 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Yep.

Might just need some fine tuning, 4Ghz is not an unreasonable target..
Thanks for the tips....

I'm trying that later...

I need a better than stock cooler to start going mad with this Phenon... Great it's BE, so I can manage to push it some more without messing with FSB speeds!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
sapo_joe
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX2.0
Processor: AMD PhenomII X6 1090T
Mainboard: Asus M4A78 Pro
Memory: 8GB DDRII 667Mhz Dual
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Titanium
PSU: 620W Antec Gamer
Default 02-12-2014, 23:30 | posts: 432 | Location: Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
that mb is not vishera ready im guessing? maybe you can pick up a 6 core thuban used and get past 4ghz
I don't think it'll be a big difference between my X4 and a X6 Phenon, will it?

Is it worth it?

My Mobo only goes up to the 1090T Phenon X6.

edit:

Sorry I'm being too lazy to multi-quote... :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-12-2014, 23:41 | posts: 24,426 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapo_joe View Post
I don't think it'll be a big difference between my X4 and a X6 Phenon, will it?

Is it worth it?
Prob not for BF4 since it uses Mantle.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-12-2014, 23:45 | posts: 18,921 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapo_joe View Post
I don't think it'll be a big difference between my X4 and a X6 Phenon, will it?

Is it worth it?

My Mobo only goes up to the 1090T Phenon X6.

edit:

Sorry I'm being too lazy to multi-quote... :p
depends if your stuck on 3.6ghz, get an aftermarket cooler for that cpu and you should go higher that 3.6
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.