Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mantle: Clean install!
Old
  (#1)
JulesCools
Master Guru
 
JulesCools's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 8gb DD3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 750w
Thumbs up Mantle: Clean install! - 02-02-2014, 10:53 | posts: 246 | Location: Southern Cal

If I can help even a few folks out there from making the mistake I did, uninstall Catalyst before installing the Mantle update!

A friend messaged me that Mantle drivers were released. I downloaded the drivers and installed them right away, and I know lots of other people will do what I did there If you bother to actually read the instructions, which is something that patient people would do, you MUST uninstall Catalyst before this update. Since I got my r9 290 card like 2 months ago, I've just installed each beta update straight up, and have had zero driver issues. But this one is a must, man did I experience some weird **** trying to load Battlefield and even normal DX11 games... everything crashed.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 02-02-2014, 18:01 | posts: 1,319 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

I was going to say it is in the instructions but ha were men!We don't need no stinking instructions!I've been guilty of this many times over the years.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6GB Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX - Logi. X-530s
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 02-02-2014, 18:36 | posts: 9,427 | Location: UK

I always uninstall previous drivers first, Programs & Features > Catalyst Install Manager > Express Uninstall All, never had a prob.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
gerardfraser
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-02-2014, 18:44 | posts: 1,466 | Location: Canada

Did not uninstall.Installed mantle on top of 13.12.
Everything for me is fine and great FPS in BF4.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.8GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2134 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 02-02-2014, 18:48 | posts: 11,415 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardfraser View Post
did not uninstall.installed mantle on top of 13.12.
Everything for me is fine and great fps in bf4.
680 sli? :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DM789
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ???
Processor: ???
Mainboard: ???
Memory: ???
Soundcard: Realtek, Altec Lansing
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 02-02-2014, 19:34 | posts: 371

Quote:
Originally Posted by hallryu View Post
680 sli? :p
maybe he hacked mantle, to be able to run on his 680 sli

Nvidia should hire him, because then Nvidia can just use his hack
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
gerardfraser
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 02-02-2014, 22:31 | posts: 1,466 | Location: Canada

Nvidia got back to me today,but not paying as much as my job now.
Computer I am on is running 290+680 for Physx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 TF 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80V2
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: Rosewill RG630-S12 630W
Default 02-02-2014, 23:52 | posts: 1,382 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Guy View Post
I always uninstall previous drivers first, Programs & Features > Catalyst Install Manager > Express Uninstall All, never had a prob.
I used to only do this in the past, but it caused issues on my dual graphics laptop one time (was missing switchable graphics config). Using CIM's express uninstall + DDU + CCleaner though I find is a pretty thorough cleanup and not too lengthy to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengence Pro 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titianum HD
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 02-02-2014, 23:57 | posts: 2,521 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardfraser View Post
Nvidia got back to me today,but not paying as much as my job now.
Computer I am on is running 290+680 for Physx
680 is awful expensive just for physx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 02-03-2014, 00:00 | posts: 3,037 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerardfraser View Post
Nvidia got back to me today,but not paying as much as my job now.
Computer I am on is running 290+680 for Physx
Nice combo.

But ya clean install, I used DDU in safe mode.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Sasquatch
Master Guru
 
Sasquatch's Avatar
 
Videocard: Msi R9 270x
Processor: FX 6300 Vishera @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 R2.0
Memory: GSKILL Ripjaws 4x8Gb 1866
Soundcard: Onboard & JVC HA-RX700
PSU: Corsair TX650
Default 02-03-2014, 06:43 | posts: 372 | Location: Montana

I'm doing some upgrading & rebuilding in about a week, so I didn't bother to uninstall for a simple driver update.
All I've run so far is the Swarm benchmark & that gave me about 10-15FPS boost with the Mantle drivers vs. D3D.
Everything else running D3D seems fine. Lucky me?
Just FYI.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
velocityx
Master Guru
 
velocityx's Avatar
 
Videocard: CF R9 290
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus 7 Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16gb
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus+AKG K550
PSU: XFX 850 Gold+
Default 02-03-2014, 08:17 | posts: 213 | Location: Szczecin

I did a program and features uninstall, then ddu in safe mode, installed these. and i'm getting ultra crappy performance. its down both in direct x and mantle is like 22fps. cant even go into fullscreen (alt + enter doesnt work).

donno whats up. gonna try again wednesday when I get off from work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
win8-64
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290 Gaming twin frozr 4GB
Processor: I7-3770k
Mainboard: G1 Sniper M3 Gigabyte
Memory: 8gb Corsair 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-850 850W
Default 02-03-2014, 15:26 | posts: 32

Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityx View Post
I did a program and features uninstall, then ddu in safe mode, installed these. and i'm getting ultra crappy performance. its down both in direct x and mantle is like 22fps. cant even go into fullscreen (alt + enter doesnt work).

donno whats up. gonna try again wednesday when I get off from work
I wonder is this the same problem I have which is solved if I reboot. It only happens with these drivers where I start my PC from a turned off state and boot into windows. 13.12 does not do this. Reboot PC and all is fine until I start from turned off state again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
DM789
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ???
Processor: ???
Mainboard: ???
Memory: ???
Soundcard: Realtek, Altec Lansing
PSU: Corsair TX750M
Default 02-03-2014, 15:47 | posts: 371

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
680 is awful expensive just for physx.
+1

660 TI or 560 is enough for physx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Deathchild
Maha Guru
 
Deathchild's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950CFX+Qnix2710
Processor: 3770K@4.8GHz delid
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77X D3H 1.1
Memory: C Vengeance 8GB 1866
Soundcard: VIA VT2021
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760W
Default 02-03-2014, 15:57 | posts: 2,104 | Location: Estonia

People you need to do a clean driver install with every release. It's a must.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JulesCools
Master Guru
 
JulesCools's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Sapphire R9 290 4GB
Processor: AMD 8350 4.8ghz
Mainboard: MSi 990fxa
Memory: 8gb DD3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Sony usb wireless headset
PSU: Corsair 750w
Default 02-03-2014, 20:53 | posts: 246 | Location: Southern Cal

I'll be doing clean installs from now on, it was to the point that I had screen distortion and not a single game could load. After a clean install, Mantle was working perfectly
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
velocityx
Master Guru
 
velocityx's Avatar
 
Videocard: CF R9 290
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Maximus 7 Hero
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16gb
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus+AKG K550
PSU: XFX 850 Gold+
Default 02-04-2014, 00:04 | posts: 213 | Location: Szczecin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathchild View Post
People you need to do a clean driver install with every release. It's a must.
and what did I say I did? u donno what a DDU is?

my case is weird as I feel i'm a victim of a bug. I did two clean installs and getting the same issue every time.

it looks like that

- crossfire is disabled.
- mantle enabled.

second gpu 100% usage and full 3d clocks.
main gpu zero to 50 load and jumping, low clocks, full throttle and zero load.

performance is visible in graph and fps counter. makes me wanna cry...

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.