Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Not sure if my GPU is preforming correctly?
Old
  (#1)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default Not sure if my GPU is preforming correctly? - 01-24-2014, 04:01 | posts: 11

Hello everyone! For awhile now I've had a Visiontek 7970, and it always seems like it's under-preforming. I don't exactly know how it should be preforming but on Arma 3 I get about 12 FPS multi-player 19 in SP. I'd average about 40 on BF3 on ultra. Now I know that may be correct but I'm not sure if something I own is bottlenecking it. My PSU also clicks when under a heavy load so I'm wondering if that plays into it. Either way sorry for the wall of text. Here are my specs. I really appreciate any help or advice offered.

Windows Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition

Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core Processor

Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series

Ram: Hyper X Red 16GB (four each)

Mobo: MSI 970A-G46
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-24-2014, 04:15 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

Well the CPU might be struggling a bit......but tbh ARMA III would run poorly on a NASA supercomputer. That's how BIS roll.

Even so...12fps is pretty bad. What make/model PSU have you got? Whatever the brand I'm guessing it was cheap lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-24-2014, 04:24 | posts: 11

APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W ATX12V / EPS12V

I just had to look because it was given to me by a friend after I was dumb enough to buy an OCS SSD that malfunctioned and fried everything almost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Lowki
Master Guru
 
Lowki's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970/7950 crossfirex
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: msi z77a-ga45
Memory: corsair vengence 8gb
Soundcard: sound blaster z
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-24-2014, 12:13 | posts: 502 | Location: miami

Do you have any kind of oc on the card or cpu?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-24-2014, 13:03 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logavian View Post
APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W ATX12V / EPS12V

I just had to look because it was given to me by a friend after I was dumb enough to buy an OCS SSD that malfunctioned and fried everything almost.
Apevia PSU's are junk, replacing that unit with something decent should improve things.

Have you run any games other than BF3 or ArmA III?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 01-24-2014 at 13:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
bryonhowley
Member Guru
 
bryonhowley's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 670 SLI
Processor: i5 3570K Ivy Bridge
Mainboard: Asus Z77 Sabertooth
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws 16gig
Soundcard: Realtek 892/Logitech 5.1
PSU: Rosewell Lightning 800w
Default 01-25-2014, 01:46 | posts: 103 | Location: Topeka

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Apevia PSU's are junk, replacing that unit with something decent should improve things.

Have you run any games other than BF3 or ArmA III?
Could not agree with that more I would replace it before it blows up or burns up!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-25-2014, 02:44 | posts: 24,306 | Location: Hampshire UK

that psu is crap. you're most likely getting bad performance in bf3 because of that fx 4300. Your rig is terribly unbalanced. 4300 paired with a crap psu, a visiontech gpu and then 16gb ram. what a recipe for a disaster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-27-2014, 00:16 | posts: 11

Any recommendations to improve my rig? It was my first build. And I won the 7970 and originally had a 650Ti. I'll admit my knowledge is seriously lacking at what makes a good build so I'd really appreciate any help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 01-27-2014, 00:40 | posts: 10,508 | Location: Finland

Getting rid of that bomb (PSU) would be something I would do. At least that way you will not end up destroying your whole rig when it goes boom. After that I'd buy new CPU: AMD FX-8320 (if you overclock) or AMD FX-8350 (if you don't overclock) and then I'd also get some decent CPU cooler. Another pricier option is to get new mobo and intel CPU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-27-2014, 04:55 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

I'm not so sure that board will be OK for overclocking or even stock 8 core FX CPU's due to vrms.....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7850
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-27-2014, 05:15 | posts: 1,410 | Location: Japan, Soka

Don't throw away money before realizing what problem is.
PSU might be not branded but it doesn't mean it will blow your system.
People are too sensitive with PSUs these days.

1) You mentioned you have Nvidia card before. There could be problem with drivers. I'd strongly recommend to perform fresh system install and install latest AMD drivers for videocard.

2) High temperature causes CPU and GPU to downclock. Make sure to check your CPU and GPU temperature when they underload.

To check CPU temperature, run prime95 for stress and core Temp to check temperature.
To check GPU temperature, run furmark for stress and GPU-Z to check temperature and clock speed.

If temperatures rises above 90 degrees(C), there might be problem with cooling, which causing hardware to downclock.

Again, don't hurry with spending moneys.



Last edited by sverek; 01-27-2014 at 05:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
chilly willy
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Vapor-X R9-270X
Processor: AMD FX 8350 4.4ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97 AM3+
Memory: 16gb ddr3 1866
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair tx650
Default 01-27-2014, 11:39 | posts: 483 | Location: chicago area

What I always tell people is to confirm all the clock speeds are correct under load. just as an example years back when i upgraded from a 4870 to a 6870 the 6870 by default was running under the 4870 clocks. so all i had to do was go into CCC and set the clocks where they were supposed to be and hit apply then I never had to touch it after that.

Also sometimes there can be problems when switching gpu camps. nvidia to amd and vice versa. So if possible I always just say F it and do a fresh OS install if i decide to switch camps. There are times when driversweeper or whatever its called and whatnot just don't get everything.

One of the upsides of having the OS and your data on separate drives. Getting back up and moving is so much faster and easier.

Also a **** psu will only really be a problem when overclocking. A ****ty power supply should still pump out the wattage it claims and run your system fine. But overclocking can introduce some wrinkles I had a spare computer with a 8800gt in it and some pos cheap no name thing i had in there and everythign ran great til i tried to overclock and no matter what oc i tried on cpu, ram, gpu didn't work instant crash. but everything stock it was fine. tested power draw from the wall at 100% load. furmark/prime95 at the same time and AIDA64 stress test by itself for every component **** was fine stock. when i got a new psu special for it i tried overclocking and i was able to overclock everything by large amounts and it was all 100% stable. Big thing to rmemeber is go single +12v rail. some people get multi rail psus and then dont run their gpus on the correct rails and **** suffers. go single just for the not having to worry about it factor.

sorry for the novel
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 01-27-2014, 13:22 | posts: 10,508 | Location: Finland

The thing is that ****ty psu usually can't give the rated max power and if it can, ripple might get out of spec (not necessarily even in full load) and you end up risking your hardware. Performance issues are unlikely, I would not risk it with piece of junk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
I'm not so sure that board will be OK for overclocking or even stock 8 core FX CPU's due to vrms.....
It does have bios support but yeah. Vrms might not handle the power too well on it.

Last edited by Anarion; 01-27-2014 at 13:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
nz3777
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Dual Radeon 6970s- So far
Processor: Fx 6100- i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Extreme V
Memory: 12 gb-1600 mhz
Soundcard: Creative sound Blaster
PSU: Cm 750 Bronze
Default 01-27-2014, 15:41 | posts: 65 | Location: Chicago

I would either replace your Motherboard from a 970 chipset you currently own to a 990fx either a crosshair formula-z , Gigabyte 990 fx ud3 is a wise choise as well! But that cpu you are using is your major bottleneck if you ask me, you can either upgrade the cpu and BTW the Fx 8320 schould be going on sale this week at Micro center ( I work there ) for $99 dollars!!! Thats one hell of a deal if you ask me, grab a 8320 and try to get yourself a Bundle deal with a new Motherboard, and try to replace that Psu as soon as you can! You really are risking frying all your stuff with a cheep psu, is it worth it? ....... The 7970 you have on the other hand is a good card, you can even add another one down the line for crossfire! Either overclock the hell out of your cpu or replace it if you want my opinion. Good luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
nz3777
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Dual Radeon 6970s- So far
Processor: Fx 6100- i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Extreme V
Memory: 12 gb-1600 mhz
Soundcard: Creative sound Blaster
PSU: Cm 750 Bronze
Default 01-27-2014, 15:48 | posts: 65 | Location: Chicago

Remember-Arma any of the seires is VERY CPU bound! Meaning if you have a weaker cpu like urs and a strong Gpu ( like urs ) you will experience smaller Fps in game. I schould know i also have a Fx 6100 not much better then your cpu. Try running Arma on an Intel i7 3770 k with a Radeon 7970 and see what happens then. But also my 2nd rig is a i5 3570k with a Asus Maximus Extreme motherboard 12-phase power on this bad-boy, yeah it dosent get any better then this as far as motherboards go, I might just pick-up a 3770 k just to see if it makes any diffrence, but they are almost tied in gaming the i5 vs the i7!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-28-2014, 04:14 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by nz3777 View Post
I would either replace your Motherboard from a 970 chipset you currently own to a 990fx either a crosshair formula-z , Gigabyte 990 fx ud3 is a wise choise as well! But that cpu you are using is your major bottleneck if you ask me, you can either upgrade the cpu and BTW the Fx 8320 schould be going on sale this week at Micro center ( I work there ) for $99 dollars!!! Thats one hell of a deal if you ask me, grab a 8320 and try to get yourself a Bundle deal with a new Motherboard, and try to replace that Psu as soon as you can! You really are risking frying all your stuff with a cheep psu, is it worth it? ....... The 7970 you have on the other hand is a good card, you can even add another one down the line for crossfire! Either overclock the hell out of your cpu or replace it if you want my opinion. Good luck
Looking up about the 8320 it says it's a very very small fps increase on games. Is that true?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-28-2014, 04:39 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logavian View Post
Looking up about the 8320 it says it's a very very small fps increase on games. Is that true?
That depends on how multi-threaded the game is. Less threads less fps increase, more threads more fps increase.

The 8320 overclocks very well btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-28-2014, 04:42 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
That depends on how multi-threaded the game is. Less threads less fps increase, more threads more fps increase.

The 8320 overclocks very well btw.
Is it worth it while on sale for $100 though? I want to get the best I can out of my GPU and if this really will give a pretty decent boost I'm willing to upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-28-2014, 04:47 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logavian View Post
Is it worth it while on sale for $100 though? I want to get the best I can out of my GPU and if this really will give a pretty decent boost I'm willing to upgrade.
$100 that's a good deal, but the thing is your motherboard may not be able to handle it.....

You could get a ASUS M5A97- EVO R2 and sell your MSI board and 4300 to offset the cost. The EVO is the same chipset you have now but power-wise more suited to the 8 core FX.

Or the M5A99X which has even better VRM cooling.

What is your CPU load for each core while playing ARMA III?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 01-28-2014 at 04:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-28-2014, 04:56 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
$100 that's a good deal, but the thing is your motherboard may not be able to handle it.....

You could get a ASUS M5A97- EVO R2 and sell your MSI board and 4300 to offset the cost. The EVO is the same chipset you have now but power-wise more suited to the 8 core FX.

Or the M5A99X which has even better VRM cooling.

What is your CPU load for each core while playing ARMA III?
Is there a way to check mid-game? Also would it be better to save up and get Intel? Or is the price difference really not worth the increase? Either way I really appreciate the help from everyone.

Sorry for my lack of knowledge. I have only been PC gaming for about a year.

Last edited by Logavian; 01-28-2014 at 05:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-28-2014, 05:08 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

Arghhh that's the 64 million dollar question.

Well in NZ the price difference isn't worth it in my opinion, with games using more threads the 83xx is starting to compare with the i7 (this is for heavily threaded games), the cheapest K series i7 in NZ is a 4770 @$440, compared with an equally overclockable 8320 which is $220.

Now you could get an i5 4670K with 4 threads and that will cost $320 here but the FX will be at least on par in multithreading. Where Intel has a clear advantage of course is in older games or games using less threads........

Have I confused you enough yet? lol

To check core load open task manager then minimize it while gaming then check it after 5 mins or so to see what the load is like. If any or all cores are hitting near 100% then a CPU upgrade is needed....



I'll see if I can find some ARMA CPU comparisons.....

Last edited by Pill Monster; 01-28-2014 at 05:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-28-2014, 05:17 | posts: 11

No I get what you mean I think. I'm taking that you're saying more and more games are using multiple cores instead of the standard they used to be able to use. And I live in the US. But an i5 quad core is about 230. The 8320 is on sale for 100.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Logavian
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core
Mainboard: MSI 970A-G46
Memory: Hyper X red 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APEVIA ATX-CB700W 700W
Default 01-28-2014, 05:50 | posts: 11

It seems like when I'd exit out it was around 80% and that's not during multiplayer and just a simple racing track, which is when it does run smooth. Multiplayer though is a different story all together.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 01-28-2014, 10:01 | posts: 23,461 | Location: NZ

$100 I say go for it.... but do u mind upgrading mobo as well? Prob still cheaper than Intel board.......

Be back with some benches.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 01-28-2014 at 10:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950 CFX + Qnix QX2710
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: SB Z/Aune T1/AD700/DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-28-2014, 11:02 | posts: 24,306 | Location: Hampshire UK

I would do it for that price.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
7970, amd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.