Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Help diagnose this unexpected crash!???
Old
  (#1)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default Help diagnose this unexpected crash!??? - 01-16-2014, 22:43 | posts: 5,976 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Playing some DayZ my whole system just shut down and restarted completely.

Here is the message I got when starting windows back up.

Quote:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 2057

Additional information about the problem:
BCCode: 124
BCP1: 0000000000000000
BCP2: FFFFFA8006BCA8F8
BCP3: 0000000000000000
BCP4: 0000000000000000
OS Version: 6_1_7601
Service Pack: 1_0
Product: 256_1

Files that help describe the problem:
C:\Windows\Minidump\011614-10202-01.dmp
C:\Users\RICHARD\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-11715-0.sysdata.xml

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...8&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
My understanding is that this line...
BCCode: 124

124 means my CPU needs more vcore... is that right?

I have stressed the CPU out completely using OCCT for 2 hours in Linpack mode, all things ticked, and 90% memory usage and max temp was 71,72,68,69 across all four cores.

I think its just this game that does not like this overclock as I know DayZ is VERY CPU intensive.

So does Code 124 mean I need to through a little more Vcore on the CPU.

My overclock literally is the most simple of overclocks, just used X.M.P on my memory for 1600MHz and the correct timings and set CPU Multi to x45 and vcore to 1.2v (CPU-Z reads 1.98v). Everything else is left on auto, no thermal throttling features have been disabled either all left on auto/default position.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 01-16-2014, 23:29 | posts: 18,777 | Location: New Jersey, USA

raise cpu volts a tad and test with latest p95 blend max memory
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 01-16-2014, 23:44 | posts: 2,379 | Location: canada

FC3 proved to be my toughest stress test... if I could pass 12 hours of FC3 I knew I was good to go. That was a rough week of testing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 01-16-2014, 23:44 | posts: 8,076 | Location: Urban`Jungle

either more core or higher LLC or higher cpu current aka wattage (mine is in % and 120-130% is usually more then enugh) .
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 01-16-2014, 23:46 | posts: 7,128 | Location: 127.0.0.1

I remember back with my 965, I could pass P95 for hours, but Crysis Warhead would bluescreen me every time

I was reading that these stress tests like P95 don't stress every instruction set on the CPU (Something like that), so when you play a game that uses those ones you didn't test, you find out you're not stable, which is why real life use is the best stress test
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 01-16-2014, 23:53 | posts: 5,976 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

On this CPU is it ok to leave on

C1E, Thermal Monitor, C-State, etc...?

I have them all on default, and I just ran OCCT again with 1.2v using AVX linpack, 90% memory, and after 5 minutes I got a hard reset... strange as I tested it before and it was stable!

I tested for 30mins at 1.21v and it crashed AGAIN!

I noticed in CPUZ that the vcore was bumping up to 1.238v (obviously LLC doing its thing)

I then tested at 1.24v and nows its passed OCCT for 30mins. CPUZ showed 1.26v being used, again this is probably LLC doing its thing.

1.24v is a MASSIVE increase from what I had of 1.2v which I swear to god was stable before!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 01-16-2014, 23:54 | posts: 2,379 | Location: canada

Yeah, there is no substitute for real usage over time, stress tests are just an indication.

I wouldn't bother running Prime95 on Haswell either.

Are you running adaptive or manual voltage?

Last edited by clawhamer; 01-16-2014 at 23:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 01-17-2014, 00:14 | posts: 5,976 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by clawhamer View Post
Yeah, there is no substitute for real usage over time, stress tests are just an indication.

I wouldn't bother running Prime95 on Haswell either.

Are you running adaptive or manual voltage?
Manual voltages.

My Mobo has three options in the Vcore type.

"Override" or "Adaptive" or "Auto"

This is left on Auto.

Just disabled C-State (which also disabled C1E?) and disabled Thermal Monitor as I do that my self.

CPUZ now shows 4.5GHz @ 1.248v (1.24v set in BIOS)

Also for the life of me I can not find LLC in the BIOS at all! I think the board has its own way of applying this settings and I think its on by default.

Checked the manual and its not there either.

Right now its stable,

4.5GHz (45x100)

C1E, Speedstep, Turbo Boost, C-State, Thermal monitor, etc ALL DISABLED

Vcore = 1.24v

XMP = Enabled

Temps are fine too idleing 25,26,24,26 after 30mins in OCCT its 77,74,79,77

All this for ONE game LOL. It was completely stable at 1.2v in every game I tried and that's over 120 steam games, and 20 installed games (INCLUDING FC3 LOL).

DayZ you bitch.

Will leave this settings on now and see how things go over the next few days if it fails again I will start from scratch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 01-17-2014, 01:26 | posts: 2,983 | Location: Canada

I added Asus RealBench to my overclocking test suite.

http://www.necrosan.com/rog/RealBenc...ublic_beta.rar

It has a Stress Test, but I just use Benchmark mode and just tick H.264 Encoding and Heavy Multitasking, 20 runs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 01-17-2014, 01:30 | posts: 5,976 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
I added Asus RealBench to my overclocking test suite.

http://www.necrosan.com/rog/RealBenc...ublic_beta.rar

It has a Stress Test, but I just use Benchmark mode and just tick H.264 Encoding and Heavy Multitasking, 20 runs.
Yep I use that also, and it ran perfectly fine for 10 runs straight at 1.2v but DayZ just does not like it at all.

By the way I was playing normal DayZ and NOT DayZ standalone.

EDIT

RFLAIR how did you let it run for 20 runs? The counter only goes to 10..

Last edited by CPC_RedDawn; 01-17-2014 at 01:33.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 01-17-2014, 03:36 | posts: 2,983 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Yep I use that also, and it ran perfectly fine for 10 runs straight at 1.2v but DayZ just does not like it at all.

By the way I was playing normal DayZ and NOT DayZ standalone.

EDIT

RFLAIR how did you let it run for 20 runs? The counter only goes to 10..
Was remembering off the top of my head, but your right.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.