Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
G-SYNC DIY Kits Now Available
Old
  (#1)
PhazeDelta1
Ancient Guru
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 770 Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative SB Z
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default G-SYNC DIY Kits Now Available - 01-14-2014, 05:46 | posts: 11,968 | Location: USA

Quote:
For a limited time, we are making a G-SYNC Do-It-Yourself Kit available. If you have an ASUS VG248QE monitor, you can purchase the kit and mod your monitor. Assuming you are proficient with modding, this solution might be right for you. The installation process should take approximately 30 minutes.
http://www.guru3d.com/news_story/g_s...available.html

Price is $200.

Install video is in the link.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Seref
Maha Guru
 
Seref's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 GHz Vapor-X
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68-AP-D3
Memory: PNY 8GB DDR3 @ 1600mhz
Soundcard: Uhh...
PSU: Ultra 750W
Default 01-14-2014, 06:08 | posts: 1,622 | Location: Miami, FL

For a single monitor, for 66% of the cost of the original monitor.

Wat.

Whoever figures out how to just make a box that sits between your computer and monitor that does the same thing is going to be the one that wins the day. GSync and FreeSync both rely on the monitor industry adopting a technology which is a lot harder than just selling someone a peripheral.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
asturur
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce Gtx770 4gb (2SLI)
Processor: Core i7 990x
Mainboard: asus p6t v2 deluxe
Memory: 24 GB ddr3 1866 mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: EnermaxRevolution 85+ 850
Default 01-14-2014, 08:46 | posts: 20 | Location: Rome, Italy

definitely not a good idea.

void your warranty for 200$ when probably in 6 months asus will offer a monitor with gsync enabled for 199$.
no way!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
SirDremor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX680 2Gb
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 3x2Gb
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 01-14-2014, 08:47 | posts: 268 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Ouch, 200$! A bit steep I must say!

Regardless, I think it is the future, as all new tech it just needs some time to drop in price and rise in adoption.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mannix
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte NV660Ti OC
Processor: i7-4770k + Swiftech H220
Mainboard: GA-Z87X OC
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Default 01-14-2014, 08:56 | posts: 4

That's really really far from what they promised, a real shame.
Where to buy in Europe? What's the price in Euro?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Apatch
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX780 OC DCUII
Processor: Intel i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws 8GB F3-12
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: BeQuiet BQT-EQ-700W
Default 01-14-2014, 09:39 | posts: 45

I thought that all you need to do is to add g-sync module between monitor's display and PCB, but this looks like eplacement of PCB + inverter with another one with added g-sync module.

This could justify it's high price, but for me it's too high.

And how they we'll make mods for different monitor models ? Different G-SYNC kits ? It's stupid, besides I already paid 200$ a year ago for Overlord PCB with includded backlight module which was high enough, now what ? Pay again for customized G-SYNC PCB again ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
drac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 ACX SLI
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO V3
Memory: Geil Evo Leggera 1866 16G
Soundcard: Essence STX/M-Stage/HD650
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-14-2014, 09:39 | posts: 1,315 | Location: Australia, QLD

Price is expected, not that bad.

The bad part is, "If you have an ASUS VG248QE monitor..."

I'd buy one that you can hook up to any monitor. Or at least a variety of monitors.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 01-14-2014, 09:49 | posts: 3,311 | Location: Nederland

Interesting to see the Monitor is put together using tape lol.

Typical mass produced TN garbage which isn't worth an extra $200.

Last edited by Svarog; 01-14-2014 at 09:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ClexRex
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 780 Classified / R9 290
Processor: Intel 4770k 4.9ghz 1.45v
Mainboard: MSI Mpower Max
Memory: Adata 8gb 2600
Soundcard: Creative Z
PSU: Corsair AX860 Plat.
Default 01-14-2014, 12:22 | posts: 88

Who would put this on a monitor that is basically the same price...and a TN panel???that monitor has awesome input and refresh rate but looks nastry and colors are terrible on it lol who would spend another 200$...on it wow you can almost buy a 1440p Korean panel for 300...this makes no snese and u havto void the warranty lol

does it do 120hz if not what a joke
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
NAMEk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward/GTX560/2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
Soundcard: Realtec ALC1200
PSU: Corsair HX520
Default 01-14-2014, 12:47 | posts: 300 | Location: Lithuania

They are out of their mind selling something worth less than 30$ for 200$ because of invention....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
3dPlayer
Banned
 
Videocard: Have
Processor: a
Mainboard: good
Memory: day
Soundcard: or
PSU: not
Default 01-14-2014, 12:48 | posts: 1,824

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAMEk View Post
They are out of their mind selling something worth less than 30$ for 200$ because of invention....
This.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 920 D0
Mainboard: Biostar Tpower x58
Memory: 6Gb Corsair DDR3
Soundcard: Xonar DX + Logi.X-530's
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default 01-14-2014, 12:50 | posts: 8,160 | Location: UK

Pretty big module that

Theres no way id f on like that to fit the thing, and lol at the price
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
geogan
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD7990 6GB
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator GT 6Gb
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Tagan BZ Modular 800W
Default 01-14-2014, 14:02 | posts: 99

"Whoever figures out how to just make a box that sits between your computer and monitor that does the same thing is going to be the one that wins the day"

Very difficult to do that when there is another board sitting inside the monitor controlling the display refresh rate and which doesn't allow variable rates or control by the connected GPU in computer. No magic "box" placed outside monitor is going to be able to change hardware behaviour inside monitor display board.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 01-14-2014, 14:31 | posts: 4,625 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by geogan View Post
"Whoever figures out how to just make a box that sits between your computer and monitor that does the same thing is going to be the one that wins the day"

Very difficult to do that when there is another board sitting inside the monitor controlling the display refresh rate and which doesn't allow variable rates or control by the connected GPU in computer. No magic "box" placed outside monitor is going to be able to change hardware behaviour inside monitor display board.
^This. I'll wait till the price goes down on this tech and they are using better displays like PLS 27".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Klapcos
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD
Processor: AMD
Mainboard: AMD Board
Memory: AMD Memory
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: AMD
Default 01-14-2014, 15:29 | posts: 57 | Location: Alaska

Nice video, I thought it would require soldering some stuff like wires to the PCB. This looks too easy compared other mods I did in the past. Finally something different to do now - modding my monitor

Next week can't come fast enough to start tinkering again.
   
Reply With Quote
Maybe Nvidia is on to something....
Old
  (#16)
kenoh
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVIDIA GTX 680
Processor: XEON E5 2650 8CORE
Mainboard: ASROCK EXTREAM 4 x79
Memory: KINGSTON HYPER X 2400MHz
Soundcard: PIONEER v1122+PARADIGM V7
PSU: EARTH WATTS PLATNIUM 650W
Default Maybe Nvidia is on to something.... - 01-14-2014, 15:51 | posts: 23 | Location: PA

They could add this to future 4k TVs kind of how like some TVs marketed Nvidia 3d vision?

They could sell it as a premium feature that's great for PC gaming and some android peripherals like tablets and phones. Only thing is I don't know if it would also work with Video game consoles considering the PS4 and XBOX one have AMD chips in it? But they could market it for the PS3 since it has an Nvidia GPU and would elevate a lot of the games that run choppy on it! "and there are quiet a few....."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
vazup
Member Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 760
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Chieftec
Default 01-14-2014, 17:30 | posts: 95

"But they could market it for the PS3 since it has an Nvidia GPU and would elevate a lot of the games that run choppy on it! "and there are quiet a few....." Doesnt it need at least a 660? Nesides it wouldnt make any difference @30fps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 01-14-2014, 17:57 | posts: 4,625 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazup View Post
"But they could market it for the PS3 since it has an Nvidia GPU and would elevate a lot of the games that run choppy on it! "and there are quiet a few....." Doesnt it need at least a 660? Nesides it wouldnt make any difference @30fps
A few PS3 games do run at 60FPS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 01-14-2014, 19:27 | posts: 1,513 | Location: shropshire,UK

Lot of work to void your waranty and pay 200$.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
zedundead
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: Corsair Dominator 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: CM Silent Pro 850w
Default 01-14-2014, 19:33 | posts: 15 | Location: United States

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Goose View Post
Lot of work to void your waranty and pay 200$.
It does. However I'm still debating whether or not to get it. I have the monitor already and Gsync does seem worth it.

I don't know. I can't decide.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Tarkan2467
Master Guru
 
Tarkan2467's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Processor: Intel i7-3770K @ 4.2 GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: Corsair 16G DDR31600 CAS7
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Platinum
PSU: Corsair HX850 (+12V@70A)
Default 01-14-2014, 20:12 | posts: 747 | Location: Illinois, United States

I bought it. Price higher than I expected but I decided I didn't care. Arrives tomorrow. We'll see how it goes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
NAMEk
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gainward/GTX560/2GB
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8600
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX
Soundcard: Realtec ALC1200
PSU: Corsair HX520
Default 01-14-2014, 22:00 | posts: 300 | Location: Lithuania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarkan2467 View Post
I bought it. Price higher than I expected but I decided I didn't care. Arrives tomorrow. We'll see how it goes.
If you can be so nice and post your experience, but please be impartial, i know that it's hard to be impartial when you pay 200$ for something that is really not worth the price, but since there aren't any alternatives and you have money - i understand.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
V@IO
Master Guru
 
V@IO's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti @ 1233/7400MHz
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz (Air)
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V LX2
Memory: 16GB Corsair 1600MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Corsair HX750 Gold+
Default 01-15-2014, 05:18 | posts: 477 | Location: 30.0000 S, 25.0000 E

this is a big fail at $200
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
IcE
Ancient Guru
 
IcE's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 780
Processor: i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Sniper 1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z + CAL
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 01-15-2014, 05:29 | posts: 8,463 | Location: London, Ontario

Wayyy too expensive. Maybe I'd pay that much if a Nvidia or Asus rep came to my house and installed it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
southamptonfc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI TF 780TI
Processor: 2700k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 16Gb 1866
Soundcard: SB XFI
PSU: Corsair 850W
Default 01-15-2014, 07:03 | posts: 675 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by V@IO View Post
this is a big fail at $200
I bet they sell out in no time.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.