Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Demonstrates 'FreeSync' @ CES
Old
  (#1)
Rich_Guy
Ancient Guru
 
Rich_Guy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi Gaming 290X 1080/1250
Processor: i7 5930K
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair AX860w
Default AMD Demonstrates 'FreeSync' @ CES - 01-07-2014, 00:27 | posts: 9,604 | Location: UK

Quote:
AMD has been relatively silent on the topic of NVIDIA’s variable refresh rate G-Sync technology since its announcement last year. At this year’s CES however, AMD gave me a short demo of its version of the technology.

Using two Toshiba Satellite Click notebooks purchased at retail, without any hardware modifications, AMD demonstrated variable refresh rate technology. According to AMD, there’s been a push to bring variable refresh rate display panels to mobile for a while now in hopes of reducing power consumption (refreshing a display before new content is available wastes power, sort of the same reason we have panel self refresh displays). There’s apparently already a VESA standard for controlling VBLANK intervals. The GPU’s display engine needs to support it, as do the panel and display hardware itself. If all of the components support this spec however, then you can get what appears to be the equivalent of G-Sync without any extra hardware.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7641/amd-demonstrates-freesync-free-gsync-alternative-at-ces-2014
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
sounar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GIGABYTE 780-WINDFORCE_X3
Processor: 2500K@4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Memory: Gskil 8gig @2133mhz
Soundcard: SB ZX / M-AUDIO BX5-D2
PSU: Ultra 750w
Default 01-07-2014, 00:33 | posts: 637

Competition is a good thing =D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970 CF @ 1050/1500
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 1910 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 01-07-2014, 01:02 | posts: 4,975 | Location: London

Epic, go AMD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 01-07-2014, 01:02 | posts: 16,940 | Location: US East Coast

So, what monitors actually have full VESA support? What GPUs?


   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 01-07-2014, 01:06 | posts: 3,654 | Location: USA

Love Nvidia but make gsync propriety was bad idea, and amd might capitalize on this. Either way I love the fact there is updated versions of vsync now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:14 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
So, what monitors actually have full VESA support? What GPUs?
like... all of them?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:18 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

lol at the naming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX780 OC AmpFan
Processor: i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz @1.28v
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe
Memory: Crucial BLE 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: Chieftec NTRO88+ 650W
Default 01-07-2014, 01:21 | posts: 8,483 | Location: Urban`Jungle

I saw AMD already patented it sometime ago so its not something new, guess they waited for NV to make the first steep lol

http://www.google.com/patents/US20080055318




so this should be possible on any newer LCD that supports VBLANK, but bound to AMD gpu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 01-07-2014, 01:24 | posts: 16,940 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
like... all of them?
proof? There's no requirement of full VESA compliance so it's quite possible that there are monitors on the market that don't support this.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:32 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
proof? There's no requirement of full VESA compliance so it's quite possible that there are monitors on the market that don't support this.
VESA standards a really basic and broad afaik, I don't see many monitors not supporting this. I'm just reading up on vblank interval think for gpus atm, but reading various forums, it seems like pretty much anyone will be able to run this. oh dear.

EDIT: horizontal and vertical blanking intervals have been a standard by VESA for years

Last edited by eclap; 01-07-2014 at 01:37.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1,G-Sync
Processor: i7
Mainboard: ASRock
Memory: ADATA
Soundcard: Asus + Logitech
PSU: CoolerMaster v850
Default 01-07-2014, 01:33 | posts: 516

It`s been around since Atari but they only announced this now,why?Beside money!
Also all monitors today support VESA Standards.
So if everybody can run this "freesync" ,for free, why did nVidia made G-Sync?Doesn`t make any sense!

Last edited by pbvider; 01-07-2014 at 01:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:36 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbvider View Post
It`s been around since Atari but they only announced this now,why?Beside money!
Also all monitors today support VESA Standards.
well, I'm pretty sure they all do, hence me saying they all do, above. It's just that now I'm in doubt, but I've always thought (since the 90s) that VESA standards are like bread and butter of every monitor out there?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova G2
Default 01-07-2014, 01:39 | posts: 7,204 | Location: Dubai

GG Gsync lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:40 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
GG Gsync lol.
thing is, nvidia could have used this too. unless they can't do it from the gpu side of things.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 01-07-2014, 01:42 | posts: 7,880

AMD has been sat on this for some time tbh. I found the entire G-Sync thing suspect from the get go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: 780
Processor: i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 850w Supernova G2
Default 01-07-2014, 01:46 | posts: 7,204 | Location: Dubai

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
thing is, nvidia could have used this too. unless they can't do it from the gpu side of things.
They're just after the licensing money and selling more of their GPUs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
pbvider
Master Guru
 
pbvider's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 G1,G-Sync
Processor: i7
Mainboard: ASRock
Memory: ADATA
Soundcard: Asus + Logitech
PSU: CoolerMaster v850
Default 01-07-2014, 01:47 | posts: 516

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
thing is, nvidia could have used this too. unless they can't do it from the gpu side of things.
VBLANK also work on nvidia GPU side,it`s been since "ages" in their drivers.
If Mantle + "Freesync" works,then I see some rainy days on nVidia HQ.

Last edited by pbvider; 01-07-2014 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 01-07-2014, 01:49 | posts: 5,719 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by eclap View Post
well, I'm pretty sure they all do, hence me saying they all do, above. It's just that now I'm in doubt, but I've always thought (since the 90s) that VESA standards are like bread and butter of every monitor out there?
The question is for variable, not all manufacturers enable the possibility to get it variable. i think. ( i can be wrong ). But VBlank is in all monitors since CRT..
VBlank is still used i think for movies processing on standard gpu for the most and maybe in some case, it is enabled by developpers for reduce screen tearing. The question is how the " variable " is enabled or not and you need ofc driver / software for take that in charge.

I dont think this Toshiba Satellite laptop have anything special anyway as Panel.

The point is it cost maybe nothing to monitors / TV manufacturers to enable it. No need to buy an card and licence to Nvidia..

Last edited by Lane; 01-07-2014 at 01:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 01:52 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

well if that's the case than nvidia just wanted to make a quick buck. oh well, didn't see that one coming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Yxskaft
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 5770
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 01-07-2014, 01:59 | posts: 658

I hope it's true, and that Nvidia's latest series are capable of supporting it. It's possible Gsync is better, but it's nice if one doesn't need to buy a Gsync compatible monitor.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 01-07-2014, 02:05 | posts: 16,940 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
They're just after the licensing money and selling more of their GPUs.
For nVidia, it's just a matter of greed. Why use an industry "standard" when they can develop a piece of proprietary hardware and charge a preimum for it? I'm not saying AMD or Intel are beyond doing this but at least they try to adopt industry standards where they already exist and are viable.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Darkest
Ancient Guru
 
Darkest's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD7950
Processor: i5 3570k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 D3H
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 8gb 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1 + HD650/DT990 Pro
PSU: OCZ ZS 550w
Default 01-07-2014, 02:16 | posts: 7,880

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
For nVidia, it's just a matter of greed. Why use an industry "standard" when they can develop a piece of proprietary hardware and charge a preimum for it? I'm not saying AMD or Intel are beyond doing this but at least they try to adopt industry standards where they already exist and are viable.
That's the main issue I have with Nv. It seems to happen more often than not sadly. All companies do questionable things, but Nv seem to go above and beyond at times when it comes to their paticular industry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 01-07-2014, 03:03 | posts: 16,940 | Location: US East Coast

nVidia wants to milk every customer for every penny......


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 01-07-2014, 03:28 | posts: 26,884 | Location: Hampshire, UK

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iYWzMvlj2RQ
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
(.)(.)
Ancient Guru
 
(.)(.)'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 580sli (water)
Processor: 2600k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus M4E
Memory: Corsair Vengence
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Enermax Rev 1250w
Default 01-07-2014, 04:54 | posts: 5,510 | Location: Logd n jst 2 change avatar

New tech is great, but as time goes on, it seems as though now more than ever, that industry really is just milking it.

Explanation for my sourness.. Please hold....Please hold...Ples.. You have been connected:
Why spend more money on brand new architecture for better performance, when you can revive a well kept 'secret' and say call it a brand new feature for current gpus.

Sure, we gamers are getting better performance out of this, but i've always felt that things are made more complicated than really necessary or purposely gimped to milk us.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.