Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > SSD and HDD storage
SSD and HDD storage This section covers storage hardware like SSDs HDDs, RAID chatter and everything related


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Motheboard upgrade -> HD no longer recognised
Old
  (#1)
Craigfanman
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD6870
Processor: Q9550 @3.4ghz
Mainboard: MSI P43
Memory: 4gb OCZ
Soundcard:
PSU: Arctic 700W
Default Motheboard upgrade -> HD no longer recognised - 12-21-2013, 12:08 | posts: 45 | Location: England

Hi. I just upgraded my PC with a new motherboard, cpu, gfx card and an SSD. All the new components booted up fine, but when I try and attach my old HD (standard sata 1tb) it is not recognised and makes a horrible clicking noise. I thought the drive was dead but I put it in another PC and it loads up fine all the files are there and readable. So worst case scenario I can use that to retrieve all the data from it, but I wonder why it does not work in my new PC setup? If anyone's got any ideas that would be appreciated thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classy 1228MHz
Processor: i7 4770K 4.4GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 12-21-2013, 15:26 | posts: 2,375 | Location: canada

Check your bios to see it is being detected during post, if it isn't, ensure your sata port that it's connected to is enabled.

Could also try a different sata port, sata and power cable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R9 295X2 8GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 12-21-2013, 15:35 | posts: 6,997 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Same thing happened with my Brothers HDD after new X87 mobo upgrade, wasn't even recognised in the BIOS

Had to put the HDD into an older machine where it worked and update the HDD firmware

After that it worked fine with the new board
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.