Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PNY GeForce GTX 780 Ti XLR8 Overclocked
Old
  (#1)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 4770K
Mainboard: Z77
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default PNY GeForce GTX 780 Ti XLR8 Overclocked - 12-20-2013, 16:44 | posts: 20,799 | Location: Guru3D testlab

PNY today released information on theirĀ*GeForce GTX 780 Ti Overclocked edition. the card comes with a massibe 3-slot / 3 fan cooler. The board has a GK110 GPU holdingĀ*2880 active shader cores and a ...

PNY GeForce GTX 780 Ti XLR8 Overclocked
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 12-20-2013, 21:36 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Hmm I swear I saw that cooler before... I can't put my mind to where tho...

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by Koniakki; 12-20-2013 at 21:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-20-2013, 21:39 | posts: 5,227 | Location: FLA,USA

Is PNY the same as PALiT?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 12-20-2013, 21:45 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
Is PNY the same as PALiT?
Gainward and PNY are owned by Palit among others...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-20-2013, 21:49 | posts: 5,227 | Location: FLA,USA

That makes sense we don't have Gainward or PALiT here in the states. But we have PNY and Galaxy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 12-21-2013, 00:49 | posts: 3,273 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
Gainward and PNY are owned by Palit among others...
Never new this. kind makes sense now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kill007
Maha Guru
 
kill007's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 1Ghz Windfo
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte x38
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 800W
Default 12-21-2013, 01:09 | posts: 1,031 | Location: Australia, Sydney

not sure how they can justify that price tag. It might be a bit faster than the 290x, but with the 290x custom coolers with its low temps/noise...it makes no sense to pay for the 780ti, especially since it has only 3gb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 12-21-2013, 01:59 | posts: 2,003

Because it's faster and overclocks like a beast with power balance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kill007
Maha Guru
 
kill007's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 1Ghz Windfo
Processor: Intel i7 2600k
Mainboard: Gigabyte x38
Memory: 8GB Corsair
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair 800W
Default 12-21-2013, 02:22 | posts: 1,031 | Location: Australia, Sydney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spets View Post
Because it's faster and overclocks like a beast with power balance.
but its $200-$250 more..if only it had more VRAM...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 920 CNPS10X Quiet
Mainboard: Evga x58 SLI LE
Memory: 3x2gb Dominator@1600 6Gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec Truepower 750
Default 12-21-2013, 06:13 | posts: 3,273 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kill007 View Post
but its $200-$250 more..if only it had more VRAM...
None of that mater the nvida lover/ people with money to burn will buyit one way or another.

Build it and they will come
Make and they buy it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 12-21-2013, 12:06 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by kill007 View Post
but its - more..if only it had more VRAM...
Might be true in the US but here in the EU they are similarly priced. If not cheaper for the custom 780Ti.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-21-2013, 12:41 | posts: 5,227 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koniakki View Post
Might be true in the US but here in the EU they are similarly priced. If not cheaper for the custom 780Ti.
No In the US, the price difference between a reference 290x and a custom 780Ti is $60.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kill007 View Post
but its $200-$250 more..if only it had more VRAM...


Please tell me why 3GB is not enough. Just before AMD released a 4 GB card as standard everyone was saying 3GB is perfect. Now it's 4GB give me a break people like you would not by the nvidia card if it were clearly the winner..... oh wait.

Last edited by Loophole35; 12-21-2013 at 12:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-21-2013, 14:05 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

^^2gig was not enough for 1080 on a 680/670/770 and 3 was the sweet spot ie 7970/50/280x . now 3 gig is not enough for higher resolutions and 4gb is the sweet spot yet again. see the pattern there based on brand name?
Generally speaking of course.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 12-21-2013, 15:24 | posts: 1,689 | Location: Boston

How about with real anti-aliasing and not blurry FXAA? when vram is actually needed?

Either way any brand is going to give you enough power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 12-21-2013, 17:30 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
No In the US, the price difference between a reference 290x and a custom 780Ti is....
I was specifically talking about custom ASUS R9-290X DC2 vs custom 780Ti. Just clearing it up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post


Please tell me why 3GB is not enough. Just before AMD released a 4 GB card as standard everyone was saying 3GB is perfect. Now it's 4GB give me a break people like you would not by the nvidia card if it were clearly the winner..... oh wait.
+1. We have beaten this to the death but here it is again.

Besides those 10-20 people that own a 4K monitor, NO card is enough for 4K gaming(besides light or older games). 780/780SLi or 290/X CF is necessary for smooth framerates. Or 4GB 6xx/770/760 tri-SLi or 7970/280x TRI-fire.

I run Far Cry 3 4K no AA Ultra/High mix settings and I average 50FPS and iirc I was using 1,5-2GB vram. Now of course someone has SLI and enables 2xMSAA and all on ULTRA will use more vram.

And if enable 4/8xMSAA they will probably use all of the 3GB but really? Enabling 4x or 8x MSAA. Besides that is not need at that high reso, what gaming experience would that provide? Thats not gaming, thats complaining.

And even then the 3GB again with a couple exceptions is MORE than enough if people dont go crazy with AA. But the funny thing is when they do go crazy with AA etc just to say they used that framebuffer, it drops their performance either in the 20's or 30's, ergo unplayable.

They just use that vram with unplayable performance just to say, hey its not enough...

Of course more vram is always or atleast usually better but I hope people understand that by saying its not enough its not entirely true.

Imho 3GB is enough but doesnt mean one cannot fully utilize it. For those who do utilize it fully and need more, then they can wait for a 6GB variant of the 780/780Ti or get a Titan or 290290X.

I'm playing FC3, C3, BF4, ACIV@144p maxxed out(if not couple settings to high and maxxed out doesnt mean 8xMSAA in my case) with AA at SMAA/2xSMAA/2xMSAA and I barely used anything over 1,5-2,2GB vram depending on the game.

All NVCP(though inspector) settings are set to highest/Quality etc. Card @1241-1254/1825.

I only imagine the performance when my Palit 780Ti arrives, and I run those games at similar if not higher clocks.


Edit: I have discussed this before but lazy to find my post.

All I can say is go please enable those 4/8xMSAA/TXAA/SSAA so you can use that 3GB and keep playing the game with 15-20FPS or Maybe 35-45FPS for SLI/CF.

Guru3D article with a Titan on VRAM Usage at 4K

Guru3D article with a Titan on 4K performance with different AA used

Even 780Ti SLi is barely enough. Also take a look at the previous page(22) in the below. And I know you will probably OC them at over 1202Mhz but even then.. Barely enough.

Guru3D 780Ti SLI review with 4K performance

Edit 2: I see.. If the reason people are complaing 3GB is not enough so nVidia can hear them so it releases 4-6GB card as standard, keep it up then.. You doing great.

Last edited by Koniakki; 12-21-2013 at 17:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 690@1372-Vmod on H20-24/7
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz-1.29v-H20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-H20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 12-21-2013, 17:58 | posts: 10,040 | Location: United kingdom

Ill take a 2560*1440 120hz over a 60hz 4k monitor anytime. Let me know when 4k are 120hz and i might be interested.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
SLI-756
Ancient Guru
 
SLI-756's Avatar
 
Videocard: 760 SLI ftw bios
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.9
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2450
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: xfx 850
Default 12-21-2013, 18:08 | posts: 6,828 | Location: Sunny Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by kill007 View Post
not sure how they can justify that price tag. It might be a bit faster than the 290x, but with the 290x custom coolers with its low temps/noise...it makes no sense to pay for the 780ti, especially since it has only 3gb.
many folks out to buy a nice NVidia card will be comparing it to other NVidia CARDS not to amd's offerings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Jod
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti Gaming
Processor: 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: 4x4GB Sammy UDIMMS!!!
Soundcard: Xonar DX, Swan M50w
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 12-21-2013, 18:12 | posts: 137 | Location: Aruba

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
None of that mater the nvida lover/ people with money to burn will buyit one way or another.

Build it and they will come
Make and they buy it.
They can have all of my money cause 2D Light boost @ 120hz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Koniakki
Maha Guru
 
Koniakki's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 780Ti JS@1280/7500
Processor: Intel 3770k@4.6G's
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 OC Formula
Memory: Kingston P-X 16GB@2400Mhz
Soundcard: Asrock SPDIF-OUT
PSU: XFX BLACK PRO 750W GOLD
Default 12-21-2013, 18:18 | posts: 1,383 | Location: Inside My Thoughts..

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLI-756 View Post
many folks out to buy a nice NVidia card will be comparing it to other NVidia CARDS not to amd's offerings.
+1 True. Most people think its a constant battle between team RED and GREEN.

The truth is besides some benchmarks and sometimes a couple games, each side keeps to itself and compare each card within the same team(AMD/NV).

E.g I will compare my 780Ti versus my previous 780 Jetstream and current 780 WF3. I will also compare it against other people owning 780/780Ti just to see how it fares against the competition.

I rarely compare my cards against the other team unless there's some benching "competition" in some joined benchmark thread going on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Loophole35
Ancient Guru
 
Loophole35's Avatar
 
Videocard: 670 FTW Sli H2O/780 TFIV
Processor: 2600k@4.8 H2O/2500k@4.5
Mainboard: P8Z68-V PRO/P8Z77-V
Memory: corsair ddr3 8GB@1866
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus/onboard
PSU: Corsair HX850w/TX850w
Default 12-21-2013, 18:33 | posts: 5,227 | Location: FLA,USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Postman View Post
How about with real anti-aliasing and not blurry FXAA? when vram is actually needed?

Either way any brand is going to give you enough power.
The FXAA in Tomb Raider was actually the best I've seen FXAA look and without a huge hit to performance so talk all the crap you want about it. Two 290x's or 780Ti's could not hold a constant 60FPS in TR on ultimate and x4 SSAA @ 4k. We do not have card powerful enough yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Jod
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti Gaming
Processor: 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: 4x4GB Sammy UDIMMS!!!
Soundcard: Xonar DX, Swan M50w
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 12-21-2013, 20:19 | posts: 137 | Location: Aruba

FXAA in Tomb Raider was AMAZEBALLS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
The Postman
Maha Guru
 
The Postman's Avatar
 
Videocard: 290x CF EK H2O
Processor: I7 4770k 4.6ghz
Mainboard: Z87X-UD5H
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 12-21-2013, 21:19 | posts: 1,689 | Location: Boston

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loophole35 View Post
The FXAA in Tomb Raider was actually the best I've seen FXAA look and without a huge hit to performance so talk all the crap you want about it. Two 290x's or 780Ti's could not hold a constant 60FPS in TR on ultimate and x4 SSAA @ 4k. We do not have card powerful enough yet.
Can you point to what crap? Since when FXAA is going to use a lot of vram? That s the point. Besides I think only 5 people care about 4k atm.

I dont think any game use more than 3gb at 1080p or 1400p unless you go crazy with textures or AA.

Let me quote myself please "Either way any brand is going to give you enough power."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 12-21-2013, 22:07 | posts: 3,702 | Location: Nederland

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Postman View Post
How about with real anti-aliasing and not blurry FXAA? when vram is actually needed?

Either way any brand is going to give you enough power.
Well i bet on that resolution FXAA is enough to smooth out the jaggies.

But i agree, do a proper test.

-----------------------------------

And what happend to TXAA died a slow death?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Spets
Maha Guru
 
Spets's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX780Ti+GTX750Ti+G-Sync
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5
Mainboard: GA-Z68X-UD7-B3
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws 16gb 2133
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA
Default 12-21-2013, 22:20 | posts: 2,003

TXAA is my favourite AA method, pixel crawling is disgusting.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SLI/Qnix 2710 100Hz
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 12-21-2013, 22:35 | posts: 18,065 | Location: New Jersey, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svarog View Post
Well i bet on that resolution FXAA is enough to smooth out the jaggies.

But i agree, do a proper test.

-----------------------------------

And what happend to TXAA died a slow death?
who said txaa died a slow death?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.